×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hell and Gone
     

Hell and Gone

4.7 4
by Henry Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

This rag-tag gang of has-beens has never worked together before, but Dwight "Rocco" Cavarra has less than a week to train them and lead them on the hairiest operation of their lives. It's not bad enough that they have to plow through an African civil war, infiltrate a fortified terrorist encampment and steal a black market tactical nuke from a mob of fanatic

Overview

This rag-tag gang of has-beens has never worked together before, but Dwight "Rocco" Cavarra has less than a week to train them and lead them on the hairiest operation of their lives. It's not bad enough that they have to plow through an African civil war, infiltrate a fortified terrorist encampment and steal a black market tactical nuke from a mob of fanatic sociopaths - there are Israeli wild cards in play: two death-dealing Mossad agents who don't necessarily share Cavarra's agenda. When the mission is compromised before it has even started, Rocco and his Retreads are caught between bloodthirsty local warlords and the genocidal government in a fight to the death. And this battle might be just the first in the next world war.

Hell and Gone is an exciting action and adventure novel, highly recommended. - Midwest Book Review

If you're a fan of W.E.B. Griffin, Wilbur Smith or Alistair MacLean, this book is for you!

Hell and Gone by Henry Brown is a top-notch military thriller. The author takes great care to create characters that are believable and unique... Great writing creates scenes so well crafted that I felt like I was in a strange land in the middle of the action. ...I am very pleased to recommend this book to anyone that enjoys thrillers. -BookVisions

When's the last time a book made you want to parachute into a mob of AK47-wielding killers and bust some heads?

...An action novel that hits you like a brick through a plate glass window. -Post Modern Pulps

Hell and Gone is a tightly plotted, action packed, military adventure that will keep you riveted to the pages. -Susan Coventry, author of The Queen's Daughter

If you enjoy movies like Black Hawk Down, The Dirty Dozen or The Expendables, you're sure to enjoy this story!

This book grabbed me in from the very start, with characters that compelled and details that informed without burdening the story. The novel is well-paced, eminently believable, and draws you into a climax that does not disappoint. -Vanitha Sankaran, author of Watermark

...I can distinctly picture most of the men as individuals. The book kept me engaged throughout - it's nice to see a thriller that emphasizes teamwork, rather than one macho hero(ine) saving everybody's day. -Sudarshan Bharadwaj, author of Two Worlds

...Hell and Gone is a military thriller that delivers the goods on the action, has vivid, realistic characters who interact with great dialogue, and presents some food for thought. If enough people chew on it, maybe the all too plausible scenario presented here will remain fiction, assuming it hasn't happened already. --The New Podler Review of Books

...Characters carry the story and the plot turns out to be anything but what we expect from "techno-thrillers" or "men's adventure." As a former soldier I was also impressed with the author's attention to detail and general accuracy in regards to weapons and tactics. - Jack Murphy, author of Reflexive Fire

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781456598983
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
04/27/2011
Pages:
280
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.59(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hell and Gone 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Sudarshan_ More than 1 year ago
While I don't go in much for thrillers, I enjoyed reading this particular one. There were some very good details on covert warfare operations in general, and US military operations in particular. The author is probably ex-military, I guess. The details of a terror training camp in Africa were also chilling, and nicely done. Despite the abundance of characters (twelve guys on the mission to stop a suicide bomber from detonating a nuclear bomb), I can distinctly picture most of the men as individuals. The book kept me engaged throughout - it's nice to see a thriller that emphasizes teamwork, rather than one macho hero(ine) saving everybody's day. On the whole, a recommended read, especially if you're a thriller fan.
timetravel More than 1 year ago
Hell and Gone by Henry Brown is a top-notch military thriller. The author takes great care to create characters that are believable and unique. Normally I can get lost in a book with many characters, but the characters in Hell and Gone were introduced in such a way that it was easy to follow. This is a realistic story about a teenager recruited by a terrorist training camp for an attack, and a group of elite ex-military men sent to prevent the use of a nuclear suitcase bomb strike upon Israel. Great writing creates scenes so well crafted that I felt like I was in a strange land in the middle of the action. One of the parts of the story I found most interesing was the the author's descriptions of the physical effects on the men following a firefight. I think this author's work can compare with any of the more famous thriller authors today. I am very pleased to recommend this book to anyone that enjoys thrillers.
427SOHC More than 1 year ago
There are plenty of thrillers available that deal with threats that concern all of us in this age of terrorism. Some are even semi-realistic. None I have read, however, get down to the grunt-on-the-ground level like this little novel. If you're looking for sexy encounters, or just plain sex, you need to look elsewhere. Just as in real life combat operations, there's no time or opportunity in Brown's narrative for a lot of rolling in the hay. Likewise, I was pleasantly surprised by the vernacular. The language is salty in places, but does not belabor the story. Only a handful of the characters go beyond a "type" into any sort of sharp definition. This I find realistic for a situation where a bunch of relative strangers are thrown together in desperate times to beat the odds. Also, some of the simple "types" are so well sketched that most of us can "recognize" them from our own lives. One of the more detailed characters had my teeth grinding every time he appeared in the narrative. If it was the author's intention to draw a character that some of us can recognize as being a waste of oxygen, while the character draws breath, he did it well. I know I was superimposing another name and face from the real world on this particular character. The weaponry details, tactics and mutual support aspects of the story were as well done as I've read in any novel. There are no super men or women in "Hell and Gone", just some flawed people going into a supremely dangerous situation with their eyes open. Some are not capable, whether morally, physically or intellectually of performing perfectly, or even of doing the right thing. Sounds like life to me. I can heartily recommend Henry Brown's "Hell and Gone" to anyone who wants a timely thriller about imperfect humans thrown together into face to face combat for some reasons right, and some wrong.
Winston_Crutchfield More than 1 year ago
In the tradition of “The Expendables” and “The Dirty Dozen”, Hank Brown delivers rock solid military action with just a hint of techno-thriller. Brown paints “Rocco’s Retreads” with a sold brush that emphasizes gritty, realistic action instead of a troop of invincible soldiers. The fighting is brutal and intense; the characters are recognizable and empathetic. The language of the book is noticeably less crude than one might expect from this type of military fiction, which makes the book that much more enjoyable. The plot is straightforward, and complications derive from perfectly natural mission-creep rather than complexly contrived circumstance. Brown stays on target and develops his characters and story without resorting to vulgarity, graphic violence, or gratuitous sex. This is a book about experienced soldiers on a dirty covert op; the writing is well-rounded and professional. I enjoyed reading this story, and immediately went looking for the author’s blog (do a quick search for “two-fisted blogger”). Henry “Hank” Brown is definitely an author to watch.