×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Henry and Mudge in the Family Trees (Henry and Mudge Series #15)
     

Henry and Mudge in the Family Trees (Henry and Mudge Series #15)

by Cynthia Rylant, Sucie Stevenson (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Henry and his dog Mudge are going to their first family reunion in this fifteenth Ready-to-Read book of their adventures.

Overview

Henry and his dog Mudge are going to their first family reunion in this fifteenth Ready-to-Read book of their adventures.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
K-Gr 3Fans of Henry and Mudge won't be disappointed by this new adventure. Henry and his parents are invited to a family reunion at Cousin Annie's house. Henry's father promises him lots of good things: meeting new relatives, hearing fun stories, and a million sloppy kisses. The boy is excited to go, but worries that his relatives won't understand Mudge and his dog drool. But to the boy's delight, the family is thrilled to see Mudgehe was built for sloppy kisses! Rylant writes in a straightforward, engaging voice, keeping the action simple but interesting. Beginning readers who need to take breaks will be pleased to have three separate chapters to read, but those who are ready can easily speed through the whole book. Stevenson's warm pen-and-ink and watercolor illustrations add to the liveliness of the story; every relative has an individual character and personality. Cousin Annie's room may be decorated in pink lace, but she has a submarine game that wows Henry and she has no fear of Mudge, or what his drool might do to her pretty bed. Any child who has experienced sloppy kisses from a multitude of relatives will know just what Henry is experiencing.Dina Sherman, Brooklyn Children's Museum, NY
From the Publisher
School Library Journal There are four sparkling winners here: Henry and Mudge and Rylant and Stevenson.

Kirkus Reviews Warm, loving, and gently philosophical, these stories about an only child and his closest companion deserve a place in every library collection.

School Library Journal There are four sparkling winners here: Henry and Mudge and Rylant and Stevenson.

Kirkus Reviews Warm, loving, and gently philosophical, these stories about an only child and his closest companion deserve a place in every library collection.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780689823176
Publisher:
Simon Spotlight
Publication date:
09/01/1998
Series:
Henry and Mudge Series , #15
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
48
Sales rank:
150,448
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.30(d)
Age Range:
5 - 7 Years

Read an Excerpt

From Chapter Sloppy Kisses

On the day of the reunion Henry's family drove to Annie's house.

Text copyright © 1997 by Cynthia Rylant

Illustrations copyright © 1997 by Sucie Stevenson

Meet the Author

Cynthia Rylant is the author of more than 100 books for young people, including the beloved Henry and Mudge, Annie and Snowball, Brownie & Pearl, and Mr. Putter & Tabby series. Her novel Missing May received the Newbery Medal. She lives in Lake Oswego, Oregon. Visit her at CynthiaRylant.com.

Suçie Stevenson is the acclaimed author and illustrator of more than fifty books for children and is best known as the illustrator of the popular Henry and Mudge books by Cynthia Rylant. She lives on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with her little cocker spaniel, Gracie.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews