Her Dark Curiosity

Overview

Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel to Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense novel The Madman's Daughter explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray.

Back in London after her trip to Dr. Moreau's horrific island, Juliet is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget her father's legacy. But soon it's clear that someone—or something—hasn't ...

See more details below
Her Dark Curiosity (Madman's Daughter Series #2)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
Note: Visit our Teens Store.

Overview

Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel to Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense novel The Madman's Daughter explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray.

Back in London after her trip to Dr. Moreau's horrific island, Juliet is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget her father's legacy. But soon it's clear that someone—or something—hasn't forgotten her, as people close to Juliet start falling victim to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes. Has one of her father's creations also escaped the island?

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, her past bubbling to the surface, and her life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Carrie Ryan
Praise for THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER: “A deft twist on a familiar classic, The Madman’s Daughter has the best of everything: beautiful writing, breakneck pacing, a pulse-pounding mystery, and an irresistible romance.”
Veronica Rossi
Praise for THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER: “Romantic, haunting, and full of spine-tingling thrills, THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER kept me reading late into the night.”
ALA Booklist
Praise for THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER: “Anyone who doesn’t pick up the next volume is mad!”
Booklist
“Shepherd’s integration of romance into her nods to Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Dracula, Frankenstein, and Jack the Ripper is masterful, and she does not back down from a hugely dark cliff-hanger ending. Bosoms, prepare to heave—and throats, prepare to scream.”
Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-02
Juliet Moreau struggles with monsters, morals and family tragedy in this moving, if melodramatic sequel (The Madman's Daughter, 2013). Not content to relax in the well-appointed home of her guardian, professor von Stein, or to shop and gossip with her friend, Lucy Radcliffe, 17-year-old Juliet sneaks away to the slums to experiment in anatomy, botany and chemistry. Her father is gone—killed by her own hand—but his medical misconduct and her former poverty are not forgotten. When her former persecutors fall victim to a serial killer, Juliet suspects that someone or something made it off the island. Juliet finds herself torn again between her love for the faithful (if secretive) Montgomery and the tortured Edward Prince, who shifts between boy and Beast. Amid a whirlwind of romance, fancy dresses and death, Juliet uncovers a vast conspiracy that stretches into the highest ranks of society and touches everyone she knows. Although heavy-handed, Shepherd's unsubtle allusions to The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein draw readers' attention to the classics and may provoke discussions about medical ethics and split personalities. The experiments are more fiction than science, and Juliet contradicts her supposed delicacy by dispatching threats with chemistry and violence, but the fast pace of the story overpowers the minor imperfections. Secrets and mad scientists offer a gory gothic adventure. (Gothic thriller. 14 & up)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062128065
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 12/23/2014
  • Pages: 448
  • Sales rank: 1,101,596
  • Age range: 13 years
  • Product dimensions: 5.31 (w) x 8.00 (h) x 1.12 (d)

Meet the Author

Megan Shepherd grew up in her family's independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The travel bug took her from London to Timbuktu and many places in between, though she ended up back in North Carolina with her husband and two cats, and she wouldn't want to live anywhere else. The Madman's Daughter and Her Dark Curiosity are her first novels.

Read More Show Less

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)