Her Sister's Shoes

Her Sister's Shoes

4.3 7
by Ashley H Farley
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister's Shoes is the story of three sisters-Samantha, Jackie, and Faith-who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and

Overview

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister's Shoes is the story of three sisters-Samantha, Jackie, and Faith-who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband's infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother's mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer's, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dorothea Benton Frank, Her Sister's Shoes is a contemporary women's novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780986167218
Publisher:
AHF Publishing
Publication date:
05/26/2015
Pages:
380
Sales rank:
138,765
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.85(d)

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Her Sister's Shoes 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Three sisters take turns narrating this book as they each tell their story and their viewpoints on each other. Jackie has always had it together and with a set of twin boys in high school she is enjoying the good life until things fall apart. Samantha has always been the sister to show up for the other two and help them through their struggles, yet she hasn't relied on the sisters for help when she has had major life issues - she will have to lean on them when life throws her a curve ball. Finally Faith, the baby of the family who is trying to handle things on her own eventually needs help escaping from an abusive husband who will reek havoc on the entire family. When I realized that each sister was going to have their own chapters to both move the entire story along as well as their own individual story, I was even more excited about the book. I also loved that all three sisters lived in the small town and each had their own set of drama (different drama) but things that were all their own, they each had a story to tell. Although there were moments that were beyond predictable, I still enjoyed the story.
MariaD1 More than 1 year ago
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher as a part of a book tour for a fair and honest review and rated it 5 out of 5 Stars and a Recommended Read. A fan of books set in South Carolina’s Low Country, I looked forward to reading Her Sister’s Shoes by Ashley Farley and was thrilled to discover what I consider to be a literary treasure. What begins as a book about three sisters, their family business and their very different lives turns into a raw, honest look at what makes, breaks and brings together a modern American family. Filled with colorful characters, good dialogue, plenty of southern charm and color, this is a book any lover of women’s fiction will want to pick up. Ms. Farley does a wonderful job developing the primary characters in this book; I easily connected with Jackie, Samantha “Sam”, and Faith, the three Sweeney sisters, as they try to balance their individual lives, hopes and families. While the three women share some similarities due to their familial bond, it’s clear from the beginning that their personalities are very different and that in a way this summer, life has dealt all three of them a difficult hand. A situation they all had a hand in making. While I myself am the oldest of four daughters, I found myself connecting more with “Sam” than with Jackie, the oldest daughter. Sam is daughter that is the most like her father and is definitely the glue that holds the family together as they go through this difficult time. As each of the women deal with their personal issues; Jackie’s failing marriage, Sam’s son “Jamie” who is suffering from grief and survivor’s guilt due to a friend’s death, and Faith’s drunk, lazy, good for nothing husband who is becoming more dangerous for her and their daughter, they are forced to deal with their family’s seafood business and mother’s health concerns. I loved how Sam and Faith, and even Jackie to an extent, were so involved with their mother. They may not always have agreed on what needed to be done but they were clearly devoted to their families. Ms. Farley also does a good job with the secondary characters; I especially enjoyed getting to know the three women’s children, Cooper, Sean, Jamie and “Bitsy” and their mom, Lovie. While I didn’t admire Jackie’s husband, Bill, I did understand what drove a wedge in their marriage. I completely hated Faith’s husband, Curtis, and kept hoping that he would disappear. The remaining secondary characters, from the women’s friends and people in town were also well written and added plenty of color, emotional angst and depth to the story. Ms. Farley’s writing was a joy to read. Her voice as a writer is rich, warm and very easy to follow. I found myself completely immersed in the world she created for her characters and in the characters themselves. The story’s pace is moderate and enjoyable and as a reader I found myself completely engaged in what was taking place on the page. Ms. Farley’s development of her characters emotions is well done and feels very genuine. Her descriptions of life in the little town of Prospect, in the Low Country, is vivid and detailed, which helped me feel as if I was actually there. Will the Sweeney sisters be able to figure out what is going on with their mother’s health before it’s too late? Will they be able to help each other through the rough summer and be stronger for the challenges they face? You’ll have to read Her Sister’s Shoes to find out, I loved it and gladl
wifetoalineman02 More than 1 year ago
The best book to empower women. I LOVED this book. There is so much mixed emotions when you read Her Sister's Shoes by Ms. Ashley Farley. The story is so powerful. I am sure that you can relate to one of the sisters. There stories will inspire you and never give up on life. I cried, laugh and scared when I read this book. It is one amazing book that I read about family and their struggles. These sisters are not quitter. They have sisters to lean on when they are down. The book has mystery as well. You will love Lovie their Mom, she is full of surprises. You will appreciate your Mom the most when you read this book. Samantha inspires me the most while reading this book. I am the eldest of the family and Sam reminds me of her. My hats off to her. She is one very strong woman and even deals her own problem but yet still strong to help and be there for her two sisters.
CharlotteLynnsReviews More than 1 year ago
Her Sister’s Shoes is a really good book with a lot happening. Each of the sister’s had their own issues to deal with add to that their mother, Lovie, and the children of the sister’s. It seemed that every person had a problem, a lot of them had problems connected to the same reason. I know that sounds like a lot to keep tabs on, but it isn’t nearly as confusing as it sounds. There is an unmarried sister, Samantha, who has a son with a lot of anger from an ATV accident that killed his best friend. Jackie is dealing with a cheating husband. Faith has an abusive husband. I felt sorry for each of the sisters. None of them deserved to have their life in upheaval. They did not bring on their own struggles, yet each became stronger from what they were going through. What I really enjoyed is watching the family come together. Even with their individual problems they were available for each other, standing next to each other, supporting each other, and putting their own issues aside. I liked how they all came together concerning Lovie also. No one became that person who tried to control the situation, they had conversations, they worked together, and gave their mother the support she needed also. This is a great family dynamic story. I recommend checking it out.
StoreyBookReviews More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book! It was hard for me to put down because I wanted to know what happened next with any of the sisters or their mother. The sisters had a lot to deal with in their lives from abuse to a mid-life crisis to alcoholism to dementia. I thought that each sister found her strength in different ways and sometimes it took intervention from the rest of the family to make sure they didn't totally fall apart. Plus there was their mother, Lovie, who is showing the early signs of dementia/Alzheimers and is obsessed with a rusty key. She knows it goes to something important but can't remember what. Watching how the sisters dealt with this reminded me of my father and his battle with dementia. There is a little bit of suspense in this book, mostly dealing with Faith's abuse issues from her husband and not knowing if he is going to go completely off the rails and harm anyone. And of course the mystery of what the key unlocks for Lovie. There is some romance, especially for Samantha, who has not really been involved with anyone since her son's father left them when he found out she was pregnant some 15+ years ago. Jackie may be the oldest sister but I thought that she was a bit spoiled. That is probably because while the family grew up somewhat poor or middle class, she wanted to be rich and respected because of money and not who she really was deep down. Jackie learns a lot about herself and what she is capable of at a turning point in her life, turning 50. And of course you have the small town feel which brings along the small town "politics" and those that they think own the town and can do whatever they want to anyone they want. The sisters deal with this in their own way and survive the small mindedness of some townspeople. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago