BN.com Gift Guide

Here Comes Doctor Hippo: A Little Hippo Story

Overview


Little Hippo loves to pretend that he's all grown up. And playing doctor with all the other animals in the savannah is an excellent game until he tries to examine a ferocious lion. In this playful picture book by the author of the Froggy books, Little Hippo learns that Mama's medicine is the best of all. Readers who love Maisy and Little Bear will surely love Little Hippo, an endearing character with a big curiosity and a lot of spunk. This is the first of several books about ...
See more details below
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


Little Hippo loves to pretend that he's all grown up. And playing doctor with all the other animals in the savannah is an excellent game until he tries to examine a ferocious lion. In this playful picture book by the author of the Froggy books, Little Hippo learns that Mama's medicine is the best of all. Readers who love Maisy and Little Bear will surely love Little Hippo, an endearing character with a big curiosity and a lot of spunk. This is the first of several books about this adventurous new character.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Froggy creator London introduces a new character, a serious hippo who “didn’t like being little” and yearns for grownup roles. But Little Hippo quickly discovers that playing doctor is not all that glamorous. Big Hippo has halitosis, a louche hyena kicks when his feet are examined, and Lion makes it loud and clear that that the last thing he wants is an eye exam (Lion’s roar, which takes up an entire page, is one of many sound cues). But Mama Hippo makes it all better with her own pretend doctoring, and clearly she’s board-certified in affirmation: “Your tongue is as pink as a rose petal,” she tells her chastened son. “And your skin is as soft as a peach.” Brazilian illustrator Eduar (Gigi and Zachary Go to Work) has an expressive, clear-line style and a quirky palette (palm trees come in a variety of shades); it’s a whimsical counterpoint to London’s matter-of-fact prose. There are more memorable books on this theme, but if the reading prescription calls for sweet and simple, especially at bedtime, this may prove just as effective. Ages 2–6. (Sept.)
Children's Literature - Susan Treadway M.Ed.
Lively text is accentuated by onomonopia as Little Hippo attempts to make his rounds among a variety of wild animals dressed as a real doctor. He simply wants to be big. However, each one makes it challenging for him in a particular way as youngsters easily recognize behavior traits. Hippo climbs a very shaky ladder to examine giraffe's tongue high in the tree tops, but is toppled by a very long and sticky lick. He jumps away just as Giant Crocodile quickly snaps close to shore. Big Hippo and Laughing Hyena are rather safe to look over. Unfortunately, Elephant sneezes causing Doctor Hippo to roll right up to Lion's feet. With a mighty roar Little Hippo wails all the way home since he feels rather small. Mother knows he doesn't feel well and takes over as the doctor. A familiar sequence follows to insure that Little Hippo is fine by describing physical characteristics using figurative language and mother's reassurances. Next, Little Hippo sneezes and grins as both doctors say goodnight. Thus, interactive text accompanies child-like illustrations as the author of the "Froggy" books now has another favorite character to share. Pretending is featured in a charming, delightful story for young readers, but also for act-outs, reader's theater, or read-aloud. Reviewer: Susan Treadway, M.Ed.
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2—Little Hippo likes pretending that he is big, and one day he dresses like a doctor and goes outside to check on his animal friends on the African plains. Unfortunately, he has some difficult cases. Taking a look at Big Hippo's teeth, he is overcome by his patient's "marsh muck" breath. Very Tall Giraffe has a long sticky tongue with which he proceeds to "sluuuuurrrrrrrrp" Little Hippo. Giant Crocodile snaps, and Laughing Hyena is ticklish. And so on until Lion's "RAAAAAAHHHRRRRRRR!" has the youngster running home to tell Mama that he doesn't feel so well anymore. After a reassuring checkup, nice bath, and big hug from Doctor Mommy, Little Hippo is ready for a good night's sleep. The cartoonlike illustrations are done in gouache and nicely complement the simple text. Children will relate to the feeling of being lost in a big person's world, and they will enjoy joining in to snap, sneeze, and roar with each animal that Little Hippo meets. A humorous addition for storytimes about mother-child relationships, animals, or imagination.—Roxanne Burg, Orange County Public Library, CA
Kirkus Reviews
London's newest character, Little Hippo, is big on imagination, even if he is a pint-sized pretend doctor. Who knew that a day of visiting patients could be so difficult? Big Hippo has powerfully bad breath, a check of Very Tall Giraffe's tongue leads to a sticky licking and Little Hippo must make do with a visual inspection of Giant Crocodile's skin. His last three patients prove no better. In fact, Lion, who apparently does not want an eye exam, roars so loudly that he frightens poor Little Hippo, who runs back to Mama Hippo for a checkup of his own. The final scenes show readers just where Little Hippo learned how to be such a good doctor and will have them wondering if Little Hippo's adventure really happened. The characters in Eduar's retro-feeling gouache artwork are reminiscent of those in the Babar stories, but his landscape is rather Seuss-ian, with imaginatively colored trees and grasses. Simple backgrounds and details keep readers' focus on the characters, especially Little Hippo and his expressive face. Small charm aside, this slight tale can't hold a candle to Andrea Beaty's Doctor Ted (2008), and Little Hippo lacks the charm and easy language of London's more-famous Froggy, to whom readers can relate. Sweet but not filling. (Picture book. 3-5)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781620915950
  • Publisher: Highlights Press
  • Publication date: 9/1/2013
  • Series: Little Hippo
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 1,086,549
  • Age range: 2 - 6 Years
  • Lexile: AD580L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 8.60 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 0.20 (d)

Meet the Author


Jonathan London is the author of more than eighty books for children, including the Froggy books. He lives in Graton, California.

Gilles Eduar is the author and illustrator of Gigi and Zachary Go to Work, Dream Journey, and Jooka Saves the Day. He has illustrated more than twenty books, ten of which were first published in France. He lives in Brazil.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)