HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination / Edition 4

HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination / Edition 4

2.8 6
by HESI
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 1455727520

ISBN-13: 9781455727520

Pub. Date: 10/04/2013

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

Prepare for success on your HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-RN®! HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study tool breaks down chapters by clinical areas and concepts

Overview

Prepare for success on your HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-RN®! HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study tool breaks down chapters by clinical areas and concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness. The companion Evolve website offers approximately 700 practice questions, giving you valuable practice in the same electronic testing format you will experience on your nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam.



HESI Hint boxes highlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam.
Critical thinking study questions reinforce key concepts and content, and also include answer guidelines.



• Updated content
reflects the 2013 NCLEX-RN test plan.
New! More test questions have been added, bringing the total to approximately 700 questions on the companion Evolve website.
New fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the new alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781455727520
Publisher:
Elsevier Health Sciences
Publication date:
10/04/2013
Edition description:
New Edition
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
39,770
Product dimensions:
8.40(w) x 10.80(h) x 0.50(d)

Table of Contents

1. Introduction to Testing and the NCLEX-RN Exam

2. Leadership and Management

3. Advanced Clinical Concepts

4. Medical-Surgical Nursing

5. Pediatric Nursing

6. Maternity Nursing

7. Psychiatric Nursing

8. Gerontologic Nursing

Appendix A: Normal Values

Appendix B: Recommended Daily Requirements and Food Sources

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I brought this book because I kept getting under an 800 on the individual topic exams, so I decided to buy the book to raise my score.  I studied since day 1. There wasn't any multiple choice questions at the end of the book only really easy written questions.  I went online to gain online access to the multiple choice: 1. The questions were fair and understandable. 2. It is general Medical Surgical questions not specific such as Endocrines, Cardio & etc 3. The study mode questions are EXACTLY the same as the exam mode So basically you don't really know if you are improving or not I went to finally take the HESI exam after so much reading and studying.  I did worst then I ever did an any HESI exam before. Please do not waste your money.  Evolve is just another money hungry company that made their way into nursing programs just to get a check because now nursing programs are using these exams as part of your grade.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I rented this book and I passed HESI my first time!  The online questions helped me.  I also enjoyed the quizzes mid chapter.  Those small quizzes were reinforcement for me.  I would cover the answers and write MY answers to the questions then look at the given answers and write them on my paper in a different color.  It helped me decipher which area I needed to study.  What really helped me on the HESI was this book's first chapter of test taking skills.  You can know the information like the back of your hand, but if you don't know how to READ the question and truly UNDERSTAND what is being asked, then you will most likely get the answer wrong.  I also liked the advice the book gave me regarding how to answer a question that I didn't know the answer to.  The material for me was not as in depth as I expected, which is fine because it was an easy read.  Also, I'm in my last term of nursing school so 1. I should already know this information and use this book as a refresher and 2. I have other resources that I could use in conjunction with this book.   To those who didn't do so well, its definitely a bummer but I don't think its necessarily WHAT you study, its HOW you study. My advice to everyone: truly understand  the patho and processes of the disease, symptom, etc.  It makes answering questions easier because you are able  to use your knowledge to select the correct answer while doing practice questions.  Then when you read the rationales, it'll increase your knowledge on that subject, making it easier to connect the dots vs. doing questions and memorizing them,  Memorizing is cheating  not only you, but definitely the people you provide care for in the future!   Also, if you rent a book, please do what I did and create a generic email address,username, pw and write that information on the the first page of the HESI book.  That way, those who rent the book after you will have the same opportunities of learning as you did :-) Have a great day!  I hope that my review was helpful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this book and studied it for weeks including the CD that was included for my Med/Surg HESI, It was no help at all. In fact after an entire semester of passing tests easily then studying out of this book for the HESI I ended up doing worse than ever on the test. After using this book I got a 639 on the Med/Surg HESI... I had to repeat the semester and got behind in my program. The second Time through I studied out of Lippincott's Q&A Review for NCLEX_RN and my score on the HESI was 1027 the second time... My suggestion is to not purchase this book.. it was a total waste of money, not only for this book but for having to pay again for the test the second time and the cost of repeating the class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT I AMA PLANING TO STAY FOR IT. AFTER I STUDY, I CAN YOU MORE ABOUT IT BUT NOW I CANT SO WHAT ARE YOU EXPECTION. I DONT HAVE ANY IDEA WHY ARE YOU ASKING THIS BEFORE I EVEN READ THE BOOK. LET ME READ IT FIRST AND THEN I CAN TELL MORE ABOUT IT.