The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery
  • The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery
  • The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery

4.5 37
by Maryrose Wood, Jon Klassen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now.

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now. They are accustomed to wearing clothes. They hardly ever howl at the moon. And for the most part, they resist the urge to chase squirrels up trees.

Yet the Incorrigibles are not entirely civilized, and still managed to ruin Lady Constance's Christmas ball, nearly destroying the grand house. So while Ashton Place is being restored, Penelope, the Ashtons, and the children take up residence in London. As they explore the city, Penelope and the Incorrigibles discover more about themselves as clues about the children's—and Penelope's own—mysterious past crop up in the most unexpected ways....

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Heidi Hauser Green
When repairs to Ashton Place take longer than planned, Lady Constance decides to move the entire household to London. Miss Penelope Lumley, governess to the Ashton's three young wards (Alexander, Beowulf and Cassiopeia), is excited by the change of scenery. She is eager to make use of the city's wealth of educational opportunities—museums, theaters, historical sites—and to visit with Miss Mortimer, her former headmistress at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. However, the governess and her charges face many challenges in London, from navigating the city streets to fending off a pickpocket, dealing with Lady Ashton's social pressures to confronting an unusual Gypsy fortune teller, keeping the children from attacking the palace guards' bear hats to distracting them from the city's many pigeons. Sure to remind the reader of Lemony Snicket's series, the Harry Potter novels, and N.E. Bode's The Anybodies, this unusual tale—with its Victorian setting, governess and boarding school elements, references to mythology and horror creatures, and authorial digressions—is sure to capture readers' imagination. Expect the unexpected from this fifteen-year-old governess and her once-feral charges, and you won't be disappointed. Book two of "The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place" series, sequel to The Mysterious Howling. Reviewer: Heidi Hauser Green

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061791123
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/22/2011
Series:
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series, #2
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
348,456
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile:
960L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >