×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hillary
     

Hillary

by D.W. Buffa
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A Dan Brown read-alike tailor-made for an election year." —Booklist

A President is murdered. A First Lady demands answers. And a young Senator will uncover a conspiracy that threatens to upend the global balance of power.

When Robert Constable, President of the United States, dies in bed with a woman in a New York hotel room,

Overview

“A Dan Brown read-alike tailor-made for an election year." —Booklist

A President is murdered. A First Lady demands answers. And a young Senator will uncover a conspiracy that threatens to upend the global balance of power.

When Robert Constable, President of the United States, dies in bed with a woman in a New York hotel room, the public is told that he died suddenly and peacefully of natural causes—and alone. The truth, however, is anything but that. The President’s wife, Hillary Constable asks young senator Bobby Hart, who serves on the Senate Intelligence Committee, to find out who had her husband murdered and why.

As Hart begins to learn more about the President’s shady dealings, he uncovers a massive global criminal and financial conspiracy, headed by a secret underground organization nicknamed The Four Sisters. Yet the closer Hart gets to the truth, the more shocking secrets are revealed that could threaten his life, American Democracy, and the future of the nation.

A riveting and controversial political thriller from acclaimed, bestselling Edgar nominee D.W. Buffa, Hillary is a novel that will appeal to fans of David Baldacci, Brad Meltzer, Brad Thor, and Vince Flynn.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“A Dan Brown read-alike tailor-made for an election year." —Booklist

Praise for the novels of D.W. Buffa

"An accomplished first novel... it ends with a couple of twists that are really shocking. And it leaves you wanting to go back to the beginning and read it again." The New York Times on The Defense

"A great, and I mean great, read; what a book! D. W. Buffa, who gave us The Defense, now brings us The Prosecution. I won't give away the plot, but let's say this: You'll love this book. If you don't, you're at the morgue." —Larry King

"Buffa’s spare observation, crackling dialogue, and shadowy circle of criminals, lawyers, and lovers keep you riveted." Entertainment Weekly

"The Who in the Whodunit rolls out tantalizingly....Bottom line: Add it to your docket." People Magazine on The Legacy

"An excellent legal thriller with a well thought-out plot and believable characters. But it also scores as a novel of cold, calculating revenge perpetrated by an intelligence so formidable it goes unrecognized until too late." USA Today

"Explosive . . . D.W. Buffa is one of a kind." San Jose Mercury News

"Buffa once again produces a fast-spinning tale that jolts and veers enticingly off-track, but always stays comfortably in sight of the main objective. Well-developed characters and the rich Portland, Ore., milieu add depth to this excellent thriller." Publishers Weekly on The Prosecution

Kirkus Reviews
2016-07-20
Buffa aims for a sexy, “ripped-from-the-headlines” approach in this Washington-based political thriller.Special Agent for the Secret Service Richard Bauman is accustomed to U.S. President Robert Constable’s sexual assignations: the president likes young women, and they like him. But this time something goes wrong and the woman who was having sex with the nation’s leader bursts out of the bedroom of the private suite Bauman’s guarding and announces that the president is dead. Bauman inexplicably lets the unknown woman leave and finds the naked president on the bed. Rather than call for help, he and another agent dress Constable’s remains in his pajamas and put him back to bed before sounding the alarm. Later, following Constable’s funeral, Sen. Bobby Hart is approached by Constable’s widow, former first lady Hillary, who asks him to investigate what she calls her husband’s murder. While the nation has been led to believe that Constable succumbed to natural causes, Hillary tells Bobby her husband was murdered by lethal injection and swears him to secrecy. Hart talks to reporter Quentin Burdick, who was writing a piece on a French company called Four Sisters and its head, Jean de la Valette, and comes to believe that the president’s slaying and his business dealings with Four Sisters are intertwined. The book is filled with improbable situations and achingly dull characters who interact with one another with a surplus of metaphors, and readers who like their thrillers active will find the author’s writing style sluggish, with much of the narrative devoted to descriptions of each character’s facial expressions, appearance, clothing, and mannerisms. The slow-moving tale will also disappoint readers who understand business inside the Beltway, as little of the literary real estate reflects the reality of how things work at the seat of government.A plodding, smarmy attempt to cash in on election-year politics that readers of all political persuasions will find tasteless.
Publishers Weekly
08/22/2016
At the start of Edgar-finalist Buffa’s third thriller featuring Sen. Bobby Hart (after 2010’s The Grand Master), U.S. president Robert Constable dies in a Manhattan hotel in the company of a woman not his wife. Constable’s minders at the scene scramble to remove all evidence of the tryst. Though officials say Constable died of a heart attack (alone), his widow, Hillary, suspects her husband was murdered, possibly at the behest of a secretive French banking institution, the Four Sisters. When Bobby pays his respects to Hillary, she asks him to investigate a possible conspiracy. Bobby travels to France, where he meets the head of the Four Sisters, Jean de la Valette, who’s more philosopher than financier. Those who can verify the conspiracy are discredited and killed, and Bobby finds himself framed for their deaths. Occasionally, the book threatens to veer into Dan Brown territory; the final revelations feel rushed and unearned, and Hillary isn’t much of a presence. (Oct.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781943818280
Publisher:
Polis Books
Publication date:
10/11/2016
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
250,772
Product dimensions:
8.90(w) x 6.30(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

D.W. Buffa was born in San Francisco and raised in the Bay Area. After graduation from Michigan State University, he studied under Leo Strauss, Joseph Cropsey and Hans J. Morgenthau at the University of Chicago where he earned both an M.A. and a Ph. D. in political science. He received his J.D. degree from Wayne State University in Detroit. Buffa was a criminal defense attorney for 10 years and his seven Joseph Antonelli novels reflect that experience.

The New York Times called The Defense 'an accomplished first novel' which 'leaves you wanting to go back to the beginning and read it over again.' The Judgment was nominated for the Edgar Award for best novel of the year.

D.W. Buffa lives in Northern California. You can visit his Official Website at dwbuffa.net.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews