Himmler's War

Himmler's War

5.0 2
by Robert Conroy
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Popular alternate history author delivers another compelling what if novel; Hitler is out of the picture and Himmler in charge of a resurgent German war machine. By the author of breakout WW II alternate history game-changer, 1945

Only days after Normandy, Hitler is taken out of the equation and Heinrich Himmler, brutal head of the SS, assumes control of

Overview

Popular alternate history author delivers another compelling what if novel; Hitler is out of the picture and Himmler in charge of a resurgent German war machine. By the author of breakout WW II alternate history game-changer, 1945

Only days after Normandy, Hitler is taken out of the equation and Heinrich Himmler, brutal head of the SS, assumes control of the Reich. On the Allied side, there is confusion. Should attempts be made to negotiate with the new government or should unconditional surrender still be the only option? With the specter of a German super-weapon moving closer to completion and the German generals finally allowed to fight the kind of war at which they are masters, the Allies are pushed toward a course of accommodation or even defeat. Will the soldiers of the Grand Alliance find the courage and conviction to fight on in the face of such daunting odds? And can the Allied leaders put into place a new plan in time to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat by the German war machine? A new and terrible battle for the free world is on.

About Himmler’s War:
“VERDICT Historical accuracy in the midst of creative speculation makes this piece of alternate history believable. It should appeal to fans of Harry Turtledove and Peter G. Tsouras.” –Library Journal

About Red Inferno: 1945
“An ensemble cast of fictional characters. . . and historical figures powers the meticulously researched story line with diverse accounts of the horrors of war, making this an appealing read for fans of history and alternate history alike.”—Publishers Weekly

“[E]ngrossing and grimly plausible. . .the suspense holds up literally to the last page.”—Booklist

About 1945:
“ moving and thought-provoking. . .”—Publishers Weekly

“Realistic . . .”—Booklist

About 1942:
". . . fans of Tom Clancy and Agent Jack Bauer should find a lot to like here.”—Publishers Weekly

“A significant writer of alternate history turns here to the popular topic of Pearl Harbor, producing. . . this rousing historical action tale.”—Booklist

“A high-explosive what-if, with full-blooded characters.”—John Birmingham, bestselling author of Without Warning

About 1901:
“. . .cleverly conceived . . . Conroy tells a solid what-if historical.”—Publishers Weekly

“. . . likely to please both military history and alternative history buffs.”—Booklist

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
The Allies have just landed on the beaches of Normandy when Hitler and many of his command staff perish after an off-course British bomber dumps its load on a blind target. The repercussions of this unforeseen event are shattering, as Heinrich Himmler, the notoriously brutal head of the SS, takes control of the Third Reich and accelerates Germany's search for a superweapon. Should the Allies consider a negotiated peace or fight to the bitter end? In addition to bringing historical figures to life, the author of Red Inferno: 1945 adds a personal touch to alternate history by describing events through the eyes of fictional characters serving on the front lines. VERDICT Historical accuracy in the midst of creative speculation makes this piece of alternate history believable. It should appeal to fans of Harry Turtledove and Peter G. Tsouras.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451638486
Publisher:
Baen
Publication date:
10/30/2012
Pages:
528
Sales rank:
452,371
Product dimensions:
4.32(w) x 6.64(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Robert Conroy is the author of the hugely-popular alternate history novels Red Inferno: 1945, 1945, 1942, 1901 and 1862. 1942, which is set within a Japanese conquest of Hawaii, won the prestigious Sidewise Award for alternate histories. Conroy has written for Military History magazine and has traveled extensively in Europe where he’s taken a special interest in battlefields, historical collections and castles. After a first career in business, Conroy has turned his lifelong passion for writing and military history into an immensely satisfying new occupation. He is married, lives in southeastern Michigan, and, when not writing, teaches business and economic history at a local college.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Himmler's War 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
TFJ More than 1 year ago
Conroy is superb! Another "what if" based on well researched history. I loved the irony of the first chapter, and the continuous action thereafter. Conroy creates a complex cast of characters, both real and imagined, engaging and exciting to follow. The genre of alternative history when done well stimulates the reader's thinking and prior knowledge. But best of all, Conroy's storytelling skills are addictive. A great read for history buffs, from both miltary and social aspects of the time period... or for those who simply enoy a good story!
The_Shook_Family More than 1 year ago
Fast paced story telling, believable and empathetic characters some on the edges would have been interesting to explore more deeply but it did not affect the story. Interesting premise and strategies shown from beginning to end, some outcomes that others might disagree with , but that is the nature of alternative history stories. Great read overall.