BN.com Gift Guide

His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel

( 15 )

Overview

Mr. Darcy speaks from his heart:
Pride and Prejudice from Darcy's point of view

Though tired of Society's manipulations, Darcy never thought to be enchanted by a country maiden. However, on a visit to rural Hertfordshire, Elizabeth Bennet captivates him. Lovely and vivacious, she is everything he is not, and everything he longs to have.

Unfortunately, her connections put her decidedly beneath him, and the ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (9) from $5.33   
  • New (5) from $11.25   
  • Used (4) from $5.33   
His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

Mr. Darcy speaks from his heart:
Pride and Prejudice from Darcy's point of view

Though tired of Society's manipulations, Darcy never thought to be enchanted by a country maiden. However, on a visit to rural Hertfordshire, Elizabeth Bennet captivates him. Lovely and vivacious, she is everything he is not, and everything he longs to have.

Unfortunately, her connections put her decidedly beneath him, and the improprieties he observes in her family do not win his favor. Putting her firmly out of his mind, Darcy returns to London, but Elizabeth is not so easily forgotten.

When chance throws them together, Darcy can no longer deny his love, but Elizabeth, put off by his manners, refuses him. To change her mind, he must set aside his proud ways and learn how to please a woman worthy of being pleased. It takes a serious incident for his true character to shine, and for Elizabeth to learn just how valuable is...

His Good Opinion

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Indiejane.org - Jessica Melendez
And here is where Nancy Kelley’s genius really shines. Darcy is already an incredibly loved, and if we are all honest with ourselves, desired, hero. She has managed in this story, to make him even more desirable while also injecting levels of sensitivity and vulnerability that are absolutely heart-wrenching.

The tagline of this novel is “Mr. Darcy speaks from the heart,” and in the end that is what endears readers the most to this incarnation of Mr. Darcy.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780984731206
  • Publisher: Smokey Rose Press
  • Publication date: 12/13/2011
  • Pages: 376
  • Sales rank: 677,371
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.84 (d)

Meet the Author

Nancy Kelley is a Janeite, an Austenesque author, and a blogger. During the writing of His Good Opinion, a version of Mr. Darcy took up residence in her brain; she fondly refers to him as the Darcy in My Head, or DIMH.

If Nancy could possess any fictional device, it would be a Time-Turner. Then perhaps she could juggle a full-time library job, writing, and blogging; and still find time for sleep and a life. Until then, she lives on high doses of tea, of which DIMH approves.

You can find Nancy on Twitter @Nancy_Kelley, on her blog, and on Indiejane.org.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Pride & Prejudice through Darcy's eyes! Magnificent!

    His Good Opinion is essentially Pride and Prejudice from Mr. Darcy's point of view. The story begins with Darcy rescuing his sister from elopement with the devious Mr. Wickham. We get the chance to see Darcy among his friends (Bingley) and family (Georgiana and his cousin Richard) before he is thrown into the mix in Hertfordshire. By chapter four, we are in step with the story from the original novel, but this time watching it unfold through Darcy's eyes. And those times when Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet are parted, we get to see just what he was up to, and how he was feeling about Ms. Bennet in her absence. The novel ends in the same manner of the original, with Darcy and Elizabeth engaged, and while we do not see their marriage, we know it is inevitable.

    Watching a favorite story unfold from a different character's point of view was great fun. I enjoyed Darcy's discomfort in public, and how it explained so much of his reservations and rather taciturn and unapproachable demeanor. Seeing an account of his whereabouts prior to the beginning of the original story, when he is saving Georgiana from Wickham, and the gaps filled in when he and Elizabeth are parted help round out the story very nicely. At no point did I feel that what Darcy was doing during those times was not in keeping with the intent of the original story, and the flow of his actions fit in almost seamlessly with the events of the story.

    I enjoyed watching Darcy's growing realization of his own behavior and its effect on those around him. He truly grew as a character throughout the story, becoming, by the end of the tale, the romantic hero readers want him to be.

    I also enjoyed seeing some of the other characters rounded out, such as Georgiana and Richard Fitzwilliam. The hints dropped as to a story featuring Colonel Fitzwilliam are tantalizing in the extreme.

    Unlike many Austen knock-offs I've happened upon in the past, the writing in this book is a fine mimic of Austen's own style. In many ways, it is more approachable, leaving behind many of the anachronistic phrasings and stylings that might get in the way of modern reader's enjoyment of the story. The dialogue between Darcy and his fellows during moments not chronicled in the original match both in tone and language without trying to be pretentious.

    Better still, the dialogue and many descriptions in the scenes taken from the original are just that: taken from the original and then molded into Darcy's point of view. What a delight to read a comment or action from Elizabeth and, knowing her thoughts from the original, see how Darcy misinterprets it. It added a depth to the story that can only be surmised in the original.

    Obviously, I am a great admirer of this book. Having gotten to be one of the early readers of it, I couldn't wait until it was available in print to own a copy myself. I'm enjoying reading a scene from Pride and Prejudice, and then reading the same scene from His Good Opinion. And having watched how much work and dedication Nancy put into the making of this book over the past few years it gives me great delight to say to everyone who has ever enjoyed Pride and Prejudice, "You must must must read His Good Opinion!"

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    P&P told from Mr. Darcy's Point of View

    One of the first things that grabbed my attention of His Good Opinion by Nancy Kelly is this book is told entirely from Mr. Darcy's point of view. Pride and Prejudice is told from Elizabeth's point of view so we don't get to know the thoughts of Mr. Darcy whose character is hard to understand. It makes you wonder what's going on in his head while he's intensely staring at Elizabeth Bennet.
    His Good Opinion begins not in Hertfordshire with Elizabeth but in Ramsgate with Georgiana. I think this is an excellent addition to this book because in P&P we only learn about the misfortunes of Darcy and Wickham through the letter he wrote to Elizabeth. This sets the stage for Darcy's state of being. Nancy Kelley takes us through the story of P&P giving us a closer look at understanding Mr. Darcy. The struggles he undergoes, the desires in his heart and the yearning he can't explain.
    I really enjoyed this novel. I love how well Nancy Kelley kept true to the story Pride and Prejudice but also added her own interpretation of what Mr. Darcy is going through. I think the scenes from Darcy's perspective would be very similar if Jane Austen were to write them. The author kept true to Jane and her beloved characters. This book is a joy to read and I'm so glad I had the opportunity to read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    In His Good Opinion, author Nancy Kelley sets out to tell the st

    In His Good Opinion, author Nancy Kelley sets out to tell the story of Pride and Prejudice from Mr. Darcy’s point of view. Although Darcy is the hero in Pride and Prejudice, for the first part of the book he comes across to Elizabeth (as well as everyone else in Hertfordshire) and the reader as proud and aloof. In the second half of the novel, Austen shows us how Darcy changes and Darcy himself admits to flaws in his behavior. But why was Darcy seemingly so proud? Why did he refuse to be easily pleased, withholding his good opinion more often than he bestowed it. And why would someone like Darcy fall in love with a girl like Elizabeth – someone open and vivacious and not at all concerned with securing his good opinion?

    Told from Darcy’s point of view, this novel follows Darcy from London where he has become increasingly turned off by the artifices of society, to the country where he meets Elizabeth for the first time. As he become enchanted with her the reader is similarly enchanted by this version of Mr. Darcy. The blow of Lizzy’s rejection of Darcy’s proposal is felt more keenly than ever before because we as readers find ourselves rooting for Darcy. His heartbreak is real and touching, and frankly, makes him irresistible. As he comes to term with the rejection and takes Lizzy’s criticisms to heart, he endeavors to become a man worthy of her love – even if he can never have her.

    The book follows the timeline of Pride and Prejudice, but because it is told from Darcy’s point of view, readers are treated to scenes that we have previously been imagined, such as Darcy’s hunt of Wickham and his eventual confrontation with him in London. We are also get to see the relationship between Darcy and his sister Georgiana, as well his relationship with his cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam. All of this serves to flesh Darcy out and make him an even more desirable hero.

    And here is where Nancy Kelley’s genius really shines. Darcy is already an incredibly loved, and if we are all honest with ourselves, desired, hero. She has managed in this story, to make him even more desirable while also injecting levels of sensitivity and vulnerability that are absolutely heart-wrenching. While this book could be given a G rating based on it’s content, Ms. Kelley manages to raise the reader’s temperature with a look or a gesture. In fact, every time Darcy loosened his cravat I melted into a tiny puddle of goo.

    The tagline of this novel is “Mr. Darcy speaks from the heart,” and in the end that is what endears readers the most to this incarnation of Mr. Darcy. Yes, he’s tall, dark and handsome (and has ten thousand a year), and yes he is very, very hot. But in this retelling of Pride and Prejudice it is his heart that truly shines through. And I think it is that heart that will make readers fall in love with him all over again and wish that they too could be a woman worthy of…

    His Good Opinion.

    Five Stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Well written continuation of P&P

    I enjoyed this book very much. It felt like a real continuation of P&P. There are several FanFic books out there, but this is one of the special ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Enjoyable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    must read

    Very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for all of us P&P fans! OVERALL: 5 STARS (actually,

    Perfect for all of us P&P fans!

    OVERALL: 5 STARS (actually, it came out to 4.7, but let's round up)

    Story/Plot: 5 - This is again, another version of Pride and Prejudice told through Mr. Darcy's POV. The gaps between the original P&P and the scenes added to explain more about Mr. Darcy are not as noticeable as in similar works. I will point out, and apologize if you consider this a SPOILER, the story actually opens up with Mr. Darcy leaving to go to Ramsgate and surprise his sister, Georgiana.

    Re-read Value: 4 - I am always reading or re-reading P&P retellings/variations/sequels and I think this is one I will gladly come back to over and over again. I highly enjoyed it.

    Continue Series: 5 - You might think that is so high a number, but since I have Loving Miss Darcy up on my Nook to read, and sitting right next to it, is Against His Will. I think we can safely agree I am reading the next one in the series. ;D

    Characters: 5 - These are the same beloved characters from P&P but seen from the view point of Mr. Darcy. I rather like this version of Col. Fitzwilliam and am looking forward to reading his story in the next volume. It is my belief that Ms. Kelley might have finished this series with these three books and I believe at the end I might be sad about this. After reading Anne de Bourgh in this volume, I have a huge sympathy for her and would like to see a spin off tale where she is rescued from Lady Catherine by some hot sexy man. But you know, in a regency way, not a historical romance way.

    Cover: 5 - I like this cover. If I saw it in the store or while glancing through P&P retellings, I would give it a second glance. I would KNOW it's a P&P retelling and grab it. BTW, that's exactly what I did!

    Genre Fulfillment: 5 - P&P retelling, through the eyes of Mr. Darcy, check.

    Personal Involvement: 4 These are the characters I love. You're reading this review, but I have to be honest with you. Over the last few days, I have read 5 or more P&P variations/retellings/sequels and if you read my comment up in the continuing series box, you know I am jumping into the second volume of this series. I love P&P and I do need to admit, I am a little biased when it comes to reading these books. Mainly because I love this world and characters. Sometimes, like after reading this book here, His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel, I left feeling euphoric, almost how I feel reading P&P itself. Sometimes it is a little less and sometimes I am left disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Darcy's version

    I have over a dozen P&P variations in my library, and this is the best depiction of Darcy's emotional journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    An interesting take...

    ...on a classic novel. I am rarely happy with spin-offs of Jane Austen's classics but this one was interesting and easy to read. I enjoyed it and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    This is a fun read. It sticks to the basic story but humanizes

    This is a fun read. It sticks to the basic story but humanizes the male characters - mostly Darcey & his cousin. It also focuses on the sibling relationships between Bingley & his sisters and Darcey & his sister plus Darcey's relationship with his aunt & cousin. It's interesting to see the plot unfold for all characters. If you've never read the original P&P you could still read & enjoy this rendition. The author did a nice job with the dialogue which was true to the original. I like to read classic on my Nook because I can look up definitions of obsolete words. This feature helped with a handfull of definitions. The world has changed considerably since the early 1800's but human nature hasn't changed that much. Elizabeth & Darcey's story is timeless. The only real difference is the difference in ways to communicate. In 1800 you had to actually put yourself in the physical presence of the other person or send formal correspondence to communicate and today we can communicate in seconds. I'm not sure that instant gratification is always a bonus for relationships since we too easily/quickly write off possibilities based on quick/snap judgements. If you are raising a son this might be a good adaptation to demonstrate how to really "woo" a woman. It also shows the power of just holding a hand. Research shows that considerable bonding goes on between couples who hold hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)