A History of Rome under the Emperors

Overview

This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.
Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well ...
See more details below
Hardcover (REPRINT)
$139.96
BN.com price
(Save 6%)$150.00 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (12) from $4.99   
  • New (4) from $60.06   
  • Used (8) from $4.99   

Overview

This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.
Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome - which ran to the reign of Augustus - was never completed. This book represents that great lost work.
In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, A History of Rome Under the Emperors.
Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Professor Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
Mommsen's classic "History of Rome", which won him the 1902 Novel Prize, was never completed. The manuscript of the fourth volume covering the period of the emperors was destroyed by fire in 1886 before it could be published, and were been thought irretrievably lost when he died without rewriting it. However he lectured extensively on the period between 1863 and 1886, and in 1980 the complete lecture notes of a student were discovered. They were edited, augmented with fragments elsewhere, and published in 1992 by C. H. Beck'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung and are here translated from the German. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780415101134
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis
  • Publication date: 8/28/1996
  • Edition description: REPRINT
  • Pages: 656
  • Product dimensions: 6.30 (w) x 9.30 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Alexander Demandt is a Full professor of Ancient History at the Free University, Berlin. Barbara Demandt is a teacher at the Gymnasium for ancient languages in Berlin-Zehlendorf. Thomas Wiedemann is Reader in Ancient History at the University of Nottingham.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

List of maps
Introduction 1
Mommsen, Rome and the German Kaiserreich 36
Abbreviations and Bibliography 48
The Berlin Academy Fragment 53
A history of Rome under the Emperors I From Augustus to Vespasian Winter Semester 1882/3 [MH.I]
1 Augustus (44 BC-AD 14) 63
2 Tiberius (14-37) 128
3 Gaius Caligula (37-41) 152
4 Claudius (41-54) 157
5 Nero (54-68) 170
6 The Year of Four Emperors (68-69) 183
7 Vespasian (69-79) 200
A history of Rome under the Emperors II From Vespasian to Diocletian Summer Semester 1883 [MH.II]
1 General Introduction 205
2 Domestic Politics I 207
3 Wars in the West 258
4 Wars on the Danube 307
5 Wars in the East 335
6 Domestic Politics II 353
A history of Rome under the Emperors III From Diocletian to Alaric Winter Semester 1885/6 and Summer Semester 1886 [MH.III]
1 General Introduction 371
2 Government and Society 373
3 A History of Events 406
Notes 502
Index 579
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)