History's Greatest Automotive Mysteries, Myths, and Rumors Revealed: James Dean's Killer Porsche, NASCAR's Fastest Monkey, Bonnie and Clyde's Getaway Car, and More

History's Greatest Automotive Mysteries, Myths, and Rumors Revealed: James Dean's Killer Porsche, NASCAR's Fastest Monkey, Bonnie and Clyde's Getaway Car, and More

by Preston Lerner, Matt Stone
     
 

All of the weird, wonderful, and amazing tales of cars and the characters who drove them.

The automotive world is filled with crazy stories, mysteries, myths, rumors, and legends. Here are just a few covered in History's Greatest Automotive Mysteries, Myths, and Rumors Revealed.

- After James Dean's death behind the wheel, parts of his car were

See more details below

Overview

All of the weird, wonderful, and amazing tales of cars and the characters who drove them.

The automotive world is filled with crazy stories, mysteries, myths, rumors, and legends. Here are just a few covered in History's Greatest Automotive Mysteries, Myths, and Rumors Revealed.

- After James Dean's death behind the wheel, parts of his car were sold off -- and cursed their subsequent owners.

- Bonnie and Clyde almost exclusively stole Ford V8s as their getaway cars because they were the fastest cars of their day. Clyde Barrow even wrote Henry Ford a thank-you note for his unsuspecting help.

- Peanuts in the shell are considered bad luck at NASCAR races.

- James Brown's wife once claimed diplomatic immunity when fighting a traffic ticket because her husband was "the ambassador of soul."

- Harry Houdini learned to drive late in life only because he needed to get to an airport for a stunt, and it was the only drive he ever made.

- There is a myth of a 200-miles-per-gallon carburetor that oil companies and auto manufacturers are rumored to have kept hidden from the public.

- A mechanic working in a car's trunk was once mistaken for a kidnapping victim.

History's Greatest Automotive Mysteries, Myths, and Rumors Revealed covers every aspect of the intersection between people and their machines. The racing, manufacturing, crime, pop culture, and mechanical lives of cars are explained, along with the shockingly poor judgment of some human characters. Separate the fact from the fiction and learn where the truth lies!

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"...an interesting read...they weave entertaining stories of vehicular crime, racing, moviemaking and various mishaps and mayhem." - the New York Times

"In the vein of Ripley's Believe It or Not, this book aims to get at the facts of the matter, and put to rest some automotive urban legends. A reader is bound to get engrossed into more than a few of the stories told within, and while some are more interesting than others, and the focus is decidedly American-centric, Stone and Lerner's book is a fun read, and an easy way to pass some time. Sometimes, facts really are stranger than fiction, but who doesn't love to be surprised--while learning new things about cars?" - Petrolicious.com

"Authors Preston Lerner and Matt Stone are seasoned automotive writers and the book reads with the insider intrigue of two scribes talking to friends over beers. The stories are long, involved and authenticated as well as possible. This isn't a book of puffy tidbits. But there is sex, fraud, sunken treasure, the ghost of James Dean and so much more." - San Diego Union Tribune

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780760347140
Publisher:
Motorbooks
Publication date:
10/01/2014
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
479,436
Product dimensions:
6.30(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >