×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hot Lights, Cold Steel
     

Hot Lights, Cold Steel

3.7 4
by D P Lyle
 

See All Formats & Editions


Forensic criminalist Dub Walker is once again called upon when an old friend enlists his help in finding her 19-year-old daughter. When the bodies of two young women show up in a shallow grave, one of whom is the daughter, Dub is back to work and hard at it. Soon other bodies start turning up in similar graves, and each victim has undergone multiple, highly

Overview


Forensic criminalist Dub Walker is once again called upon when an old friend enlists his help in finding her 19-year-old daughter. When the bodies of two young women show up in a shallow grave, one of whom is the daughter, Dub is back to work and hard at it. Soon other bodies start turning up in similar graves, and each victim has undergone multiple, highly technical surgical procedures requiring extremely sophisticated equipment. Who would have access to such state-of-the-art instruments and the skill to perform the complex surgeries? The ensuing trail of terror and bodies that leads Dub to Talbert Biomedical—a surgical instrument manufacturing company operated by a business tycoon and a surgeon—is a horrifying breech of ethics and human decency. It's too gruesome to even contemplate what was done to the victims before they died. To catch a killer, Dub has to put himself in their place.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Lyle's so-so second thriller featuring Huntsville, Ala., criminal consultant and lumber company owner Dub Walker (after Stress Fracture), Walker's college crush, Miranda Edwards, asks for his help in tracing her wayward 18-year-old daughter, Noel. Noel, who's been paying for her higher education by turning tricks, hasn't been heard of since going on a date with a friend 10 days earlier. The assignment, which has a personal resonance for Walker (his sister, Jill, was abducted and never found), morphs into something quite different after two corpses turn up in a shallow grave with wounds consistent with some kind of surgical procedure. Walker's investigation alternates with the perils of Alejandro Diaz, the utterly unsympathetic lowlife who's responsible for burying the two cadavers. The clichéd climax will leave few readers satisfied. (June)
From the Publisher

"Dub Walker is tough, funny, and smart, the perfect hero for the nail-biting intensity of Hot Lights, Cold Steel. If this one doesn't make your spine tingle, have someone who's breathing check your pulse." —Jan Burke, Edgar® Award–winning author, Bones, The Messenger, and Disturbance

"A gritty and grisly tale of serial murder, told in the edgy style of classic noir but powered with a twenty-first-century plot." —P.J. Parrish, New York Times best-selling author, The Killing Song

"A taut, hard-to-put-down, emotionally satisfying thriller. Fans of James Lee Burke and Lee Child will be pleased with Lyle’s Dub Walker. Really, a damn good read!" —Andrew Gross, New York Times best-selling author, The Dark Tide and Reckless

"If this thriller doesn’t give you goosebumps and nightmares, check your pulse. Bone-chilling doesn’t begin to describe the horrors within." —T. Jefferson Parker, author, The Border Lords

"[This is] a suspenseful, psychologically intriguing, genuinely powerful thriller." —David Pitt, Booklist (May 2011)

"Lyle’s second Dub Walker thriller benefits from an original plot, crisp writing, and captivating characters that make it hard to put down. His mastery of plot twists combined with his knowledge of forensics, the human psyche, and man's penchant for greed make for one great read." —Donna M. Brown, RT Reviews (April 17, 2011)

"Readers will enjoy one of the better thrillers of the year." —www.MidwestBookReview.com (June 1, 2011)

"A very well-written book that I found very hard to put down. I would recommend this book and the author to any lover of crime thrillers. You won't be disappointed." —David Savage, www.WhatsGoodToDo.com (December 2011)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781605421810
Publisher:
Medallion Media Group
Publication date:
06/01/2011
Series:
Dub Walker Series Series
Pages:
325
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.60(d)

Related Subjects

Read an Excerpt

Hot Lights, Cold Steel


By D. P. Lyle

Medallion Press, Inc.

Copyright © 2011 D. P. Lyle
All right reserved.

ISBN: 978-1-60542-181-0


Chapter One

Wednesday 7:32 p.m.

It had been a nearly perfect day.

Got a lot done. Finished the final edits on my next book. This one about how evidence in criminal cases linked up, formed a chain, or maybe a noose for the bad guys. I titled it Linkage: How Evidence Makes the Case. With a keystroke I had fired it back to my editor. Few things felt better than final edits.

Time to relax.

Now, I lounged in a redwood Adirondack chair and worked the fret board of my Martin D-18. I bent out a few riffs and a couple of new turnarounds to "Red House," the original John Lee Hooker version, not the Hendrix electrified one. I added a backbeat with my bare heel against the wooden deck.

I'm Dub Walker, and I own a small cottage on the western slope of Monte Sano Mountain, one of the final remnants of the Appalachian chain. From the deck, I had a 180-degree view over Huntsville. The sun had settled beneath the horizon, and the city's lights were rapidly winking on. A warm breeze came up from the valley.

Earlier, around noon, an electrical storm had blown through. A real thunder-boomer. The kind that rattled windows and fractured the sky with pulse after pulse of lightning, some seemingly reluctant to let go. The kind that all too often spun off a tornado or two. But this one quickly moved eastward, leaving behind clean air, crystal blue skies, and now a perfect Southern spring night. The kind you wanted to go on forever.

Wasn't going to happen, though.

I leaned the Martin against the chair, went inside, poured a hefty glass of Blanton's bourbon, and flipped on the stereo. Buddy Guy churned out "Feels Like Rain." Back outside, I eased into the chair and closed my eyes. Buddy hit his stride, and I fell into the music.

I'm not sure whether I dozed or merely drifted with the music, but I sat up when I heard footsteps coming around the house. A woman stepped onto the deck and walked toward me.

A woman I hadn't seen in ten years. Still beautiful. Still unforgettable.

I stood. "Miranda?"

"Dub, you haven't changed a bit," she said.

"And you're as gorgeous as ever. What brings you here?"

"Sorry to barge in. I was going to ring the doorbell but then heard the music and guessed you were back this way."

I hugged her. When I broke the embrace, I noticed her eyes were red and her face drawn. "What's wrong?"

"I was going to call." Miranda sighed. "Truth is, I wasn't sure I would come here. I put it off. I sat out front for half an hour, trying to decide."

"What's wrong?" I asked again.

"Everything." She looked around as if uncertain what to do.

"Sit down." We moved to the redwood dining table, and I pulled a chair out for her. She sat. "Some wine?"

"What are you drinking?"

"Bourbon."

"Maybe that'd be better."

I retrieved a glass and the Blanton's from the kitchen and poured her a couple of fingers.

She took the drink with both hands, cradling it as if she feared she might drop it. I noticed her fingers trembled. She took a healthy gulp.

I sat across from her. "Tell me what's wrong. Something happen to Richard?"

Miranda shook her head. Tears collected in her eyes. "He died three years ago."

"I'm sorry."

"It's Noel." She sniffed.

I handed her a napkin, and she wiped her eyes.

"She's missing."

(Continues...)



Excerpted from Hot Lights, Cold Steel by D. P. Lyle Copyright © 2011 by D. P. Lyle. Excerpted by permission of Medallion Press, Inc.. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Meet the Author

D. P. Lyle is a cardiologist, a writer, and a story and technical consultant for several popular television shows, including 1-800-Missing, Cold Case, CSI: Miami, Diagnosis Murder, House, Judging Amy, Law & Order, Medium, Monk, and Peacemakers. He is the author of Devil’s Playground, Double Blind, and Stress Fracture as well as the Edgar Award–nominated Forensics for Dummies and the Macavity Award–winning Murder and Mayhem. He lives in Lake Forest, California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hot Lights, Cold Steel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second book I have read by D P LYLE. just as good as the first. Very good editting. Goong for the third! This was one of those books you want to not end. Hope he writes more like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Forensic criminalist Dub Walker is a consultant to the Huntington Police Department. He also assists the Federal alpha soup law enforcement agencies. His ex lover Miranda, who Dub has not seen in a decade, begs him to find her missing nineteen year old daughter Noel, a prostitute. The teen had not called home in a couple of weeks, which Miranda claims is out of character for Noel. Dub teams up with T- Tommy a police officer. Two young female bodies are found in a shallow grave; one of them is Noel while the other is Crystal. Each has surgical clamps on their bodies and had their appendixes and other bod organs surgically removed. Dub focuses on finding Noel's killer; but he and T-Tommy are unaware they are in the middle of an organization doing illegal medical experiments and these criminals are working in collusion with a mobster. As they get closer to the truth, those watching the pair begin the plan to exterminate them, but not before they take the organs. D.P. Lyle writes a pulse pounding police procedural as the two close friends work closely together to solve the homicide case while having each other's back; both feel strongly about obtaining justice for the victims. Told from the perspectives of the prime predator and Dub, readers will enjoy one of the better thrillers of the year while seeking the hero's previous inquiry (see Stress Fracture). Harriet Klausner