Hot Run (For fans of Tom Clancy and Clive Cussler)

Hot Run (For fans of Tom Clancy and Clive Cussler)

3.8 36
by T. Steven Sullivan
     
 

"If you like Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, and Vince Flynn, you'll love this military techno-thriller by T. Steven Sullivan." ~ Ben McQuerry, US Navy Retired (Submarines)

"Awesome read brother! You kept this former ground-poundin' grunt intrigued in the life of a squid!" ~ a message left for T. Steven Sullivan on Facebook.

T. Steven Sullivan, a former…  See more details below

Overview

"If you like Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, and Vince Flynn, you'll love this military techno-thriller by T. Steven Sullivan." ~ Ben McQuerry, US Navy Retired (Submarines)

"Awesome read brother! You kept this former ground-poundin' grunt intrigued in the life of a squid!" ~ a message left for T. Steven Sullivan on Facebook.

T. Steven Sullivan, a former US Navy Diver aboard fast-attack submarines, uses his experience to craft the story of “HOT RUN”.

Hot Run tells the story of 2nd Class Petty Officer Thomas Quinn, as he prepares to ship off to Officer Candidate School to be commissioned. He thinks he has the perfect mentor in his submarine's Commanding Officer, Captain Michael Maddox. However, when a special operation brings some mysterious cargo and its foreign escorts aboard the USS Key West, it's up to Quinn and his rag-tag band of SEAL team wannabes to find out why the interlopers seem to display gaining control over Captain Maddox and the submarine.

This story will transport you into the life of a submariner like no other submarine novel has done before. Weaved into the narrative are the subtle details which make submarines one of the most harrowing assignments in the military. From the smells of the synthetic air, to the mental fatigue which comes from having nowhere to get away, except for a coffin-sized bunk, these stresses are what the conspirators exploit to keep the crew in check as they race to use the submarine in the most grievous attack on America in history.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012078414
Publisher:
T. Steven Sullivan
Publication date:
01/07/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
142,966
File size:
626 KB

Meet the Author

T. Steven Sullivan (Tim) was informed by his high school guidance counselor that there was a clown school in Florida. He didn't take her up on the suggestion, instead he enlisted his trouble-making antics into the Navy. He served for four years as a Torpedoman's Mate aboard the USS Key West SSN-722, a fast-attack submarine. Amazingly, he earned a good-conduct medal during his time, even though he switched the sour cream with ice cream on the chief's table during taco day. He also told the Weapons Officer, minutes before a missile launch, that he thought he dropped his car keys in the torpedo tube while cleaning it. He did make quite a name for himself in the Navy, literally, when he painted "Sully" on the fairwater plane of the submarine. That stunt earned him a little one-on-one time with the C.O. in his stateroom. Even though Tim brought his rebellious nature to the Navy, the Navy helped focus his energy. He went on to Navy Dive School and became one of the ship's divers.

Life after the Navy continued to be adventurous for Tim. He began working on a career in the entertainment industry. He spent his time doing voice-overs, writing and acting in a sketch comedy show and training to be a stuntman. Unfortunately for the acting career, but fortunate for a husband and father of four, his side business took off and turned into a career. While the day-to-day operations of running a business didn't offer the type of adventure Tim was used to, he would use his lunch hours to escape. Armed with a wireless keyboard and a cell phone with Microsoft's Documents-to-Go app, Tim began to revisit his submarine days. An hour or so a day, Tim would sit in various fast food restaurants and try to type more words on the page than calories he would take into his body. After a while, his first novel, a tribute to the friends he served with, was finished.

Currently, Tim is preparing to hit the road with his family full-time in an RV. He is also working on his next novel which continues the story of Petty Officer Quinn, the hero of "Hot Run". Only this time he is going to try and avoid writing inside of fast food restaurants since his metabolism won't return his calls.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >