House of Windows

House of Windows

1.8 5
by John Langan
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal

Overview

When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house — the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face hidden just out of view — draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse.
This unnerving tour de force, exploring the literary haunted house, from Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe, and H. P. Lovecraft to today, incorporates family trauma, abstract art, literary criticism, the occult Dickens, and the war in Afghanistan. From John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters) comes House of Windows, a chilling novel in the tradition of Peter Straub, Joe Hill, and Laird Barron.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A two-time International Horror Guild Award finalist for short fiction, Langan pens a surprisingly plodding first novel. Lovely widow Veronica Croydon corners the unnamed narrator at a party and offers to relate the weird story of her husband, Roger, and his disappearance. She spins an odd tale of adultery, family struggles and a house possibly haunted by the spirit of Roger's son, Ted, a Special Forces officer who died in Afghanistan after Roger disowned and cursed him. Though Veronica's story spans two nights, the level of detail stretches the confessional conceit well beyond the bounds of believability. Literary allusions offer a spark of interest, but even fans of Lovecraft and Peter Straub, whom Langan tries hard to emulate, will find it difficult to navigate the unnecessary tangents and repetitious minutiae that plague this pseudoliterary potboiler. (Oct.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781597801959
Publisher:
Night Shade Books
Publication date:
08/01/2010
Pages:
256
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

House of Windows 1.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am the kind of reader that once I start a book I MUST finish it. This book shouldn't have taken me more than five days max but took over two weeks to complete! The author really needed to break the book up into chapters and define the timeline better. The incessant narrative by the main character and the way she constantly jumped about in the timeline was just too much for me. It took me six weeks to read the Quincunx (which I DEFINITELY don't recommend to ANYONE!) and that was a serious chore. Unfortunately I felt the same way about this book as well. It felt like listening to one of those people who obsess about themselves and don't care that you've fallen asleep during their self-absorbed monologue and I found it just about as interesting. :-(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise of the book was good, but it just went on and on and on. Read the whole book, but should have quit after about 50 pages.
Mom_in_Tennis_Shoes More than 1 year ago
First attempt at writing a full-length novel and I felt the author should have started with something less strange and less complex. This is supposed to be a psychological ghost story in the H.P. Lovecraft tradition, but the task was probably a little daunting for an inexperienced author. He gets an A+ for effort, but the novel was just way too slow and boring. The narrative vehicle worked well for 19th century novels like "Wuthering Heights" but probably a little too ambitious as well as outdated for a contemporary novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RUKIDDING More than 1 year ago
This could have been shortened instead of being 300+ pages. Irritating at times, but once I started I really wanted to find out the conclusion. Disappointed in that. Author could have gotten point across more quickly and could have laid out a much better story.