House of Windows

( 5 )

Overview


From John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters) comes House of Windows, a chilling novel in the tradition of Peter Straub, Joe Hill, and Laird Barron.

When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son, but the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $7.71   
  • Used (4) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview


From John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters) comes House of Windows, a chilling novel in the tradition of Peter Straub, Joe Hill, and Laird Barron.

When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son, but the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house... the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face, hidden just out of view, draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A two-time International Horror Guild Award finalist for short fiction, Langan pens a surprisingly plodding first novel. Lovely widow Veronica Croydon corners the unnamed narrator at a party and offers to relate the weird story of her husband, Roger, and his disappearance. She spins an odd tale of adultery, family struggles and a house possibly haunted by the spirit of Roger's son, Ted, a Special Forces officer who died in Afghanistan after Roger disowned and cursed him. Though Veronica's story spans two nights, the level of detail stretches the confessional conceit well beyond the bounds of believability. Literary allusions offer a spark of interest, but even fans of Lovecraft and Peter Straub, whom Langan tries hard to emulate, will find it difficult to navigate the unnecessary tangents and repetitious minutiae that plague this pseudoliterary potboiler. (Oct.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781597801959
  • Publisher: Night Shade Books
  • Publication date: 8/1/2010
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 1,405,247
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Very Difficult Read!

    I am the kind of reader that once I start a book I MUST finish it. This book shouldn't have taken me more than five days max but took over two weeks to complete! The author really needed to break the book up into chapters and define the timeline better. The incessant narrative by the main character and the way she constantly jumped about in the timeline was just too much for me. It took me six weeks to read the Quincunx (which I DEFINITELY don't recommend to ANYONE!) and that was a serious chore. Unfortunately I felt the same way about this book as well. It felt like listening to one of those people who obsess about themselves and don't care that you've fallen asleep during their self-absorbed monologue and I found it just about as interesting. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Much Promise

    The premise of the book was good, but it just went on and on and on. Read the whole book, but should have quit after about 50 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Meh...

    First attempt at writing a full-length novel and I felt the author should have started with something less strange and less complex. This is supposed to be a psychological ghost story in the H.P. Lovecraft tradition, but the task was probably a little daunting for an inexperienced author. He gets an A+ for effort, but the novel was just way too slow and boring. The narrative vehicle worked well for 19th century novels like "Wuthering Heights" but probably a little too ambitious as well as outdated for a contemporary novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Long and drawn out

    This could have been shortened instead of being 300+ pages. Irritating at times, but once I started I really wanted to find out the conclusion. Disappointed in that. Author could have gotten point across more quickly and could have laid out a much better story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)