House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires Series #7)

House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires Series #7)

4.5 85
by Chloe Neill
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In a city full of vampires, trouble never sleeps.

At the tender age of twenty-seven, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she’s become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she’ll see her mettle—and her metal—tested like never before.

It started

See more details below

Overview

In a city full of vampires, trouble never sleeps.

At the tender age of twenty-seven, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she’s become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she’ll see her mettle—and her metal—tested like never before.

It started with two . . . Two rogues vanishing without a trace. Someone is targeting Chicago’s vampires, and anyone could be next. With their house in peril, Merit and her Master, the centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, must race to stop the disappearances. But as they untangle a web of secret alliances and ancient evils, they realize their foe is more familiar, and more powerful, than they could have ever imagined.

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Merit, Sentinel of one of Chicago's vampire enclaves, Cadogan House, and her boyfriend, Ethan, co-Master of that House, face murder, dastardly politicking and romantic discord in the seventh Chicagoland Vampires (Biting Cold, 2012, etc.) novel. As Cadogan House prepares to secede from the Greenwich Presidium, the vampire ruling body, the latter is determined to make that separation as acrimonious as possible. Lacey, a visiting vampire Master, is supposed to be easing the tensions of the process, but instead devotes most of her energy to attempting to replace Merit as Ethan's girlfriend. Meanwhile, a serial killer is beheading pairs of vampires, and the local vampire community calls on Merit and Ethan to investigate. There are a lot of plot ideas in here, but the author doesn't really trouble to flesh them out fully, wrapping them up neatly before any storyline can become more than a sketch. This best-selling series has an incredibly solid fan base, so it's doubtful that any reviewer's opinion could shake it. Nevertheless, some may find it hard to distinguish this urban fantasy from countless others that mix conspiracy, racism/speciesism, crime-solving and gorgeous supernatural beings having awesome sex into a now-familiar stew. As Willow of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (a series at least partly responsible for kick-starting this genre) says, "Bored now."
From the Publisher
"Rising star Neill has made the learning curve for her gutsy heroine, Merit, quite steep, which means the journey is all the more spellbinding." —Romantic Times

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451237101
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
02/05/2013
Series:
Chicagoland Vampires Series, #7
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
83,741
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:

"These books are wonderful entertainment."—#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." —USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." —Library Journal
 
“Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader.”—Monsters and Critics

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.” –Geek Monthly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >