A Householder's Guide to the Universe: A Calendar of Basics for the Home and Beyond

A Householder's Guide to the Universe: A Calendar of Basics for the Home and Beyond

by Harriet Fasenfest
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In an era when go local, organic food, and sustainability are one the tip of everyone's tongues, Harriet Fasenfest's A Householder's Guide to the Universe takes up the banner of progressive homemaking and urban farming as a way to confront the political, social, and environmental issues facing our world today.
In an era when go local, organic food, and

Overview

In an era when go local, organic food, and sustainability are one the tip of everyone's tongues, Harriet Fasenfest's A Householder's Guide to the Universe takes up the banner of progressive homemaking and urban farming as a way to confront the political, social, and environmental issues facing our world today.
In an era when go local, organic food, and sustainability are on the tip of everyone's tongues, Harriet Fasenfest's A Householder's Guide to the Universe takes up the banner of progressive homemaking and urban farming as a way to confront the political, social, and environmental issues facing our world today. Offering grass-roots practical advice on how to shop, garden, run a household, preserve and cook food, and more, Fasenfest also discusses the philosophy of householding. In A Householder's Guide to the Universe, which is organized according to season and presented in monthly installments, Fasenfest invites the reader into her home, garden, and kitchen to consider concrete tools for change. Streetwise and poetic, fierce and romantic, the book provides not only a way out of our current economic and environmental logjam but also a readable and often funny analysis of how we got there.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Part manifesto, part confessional, yet totally practical and attainable, Fasenfest's inviting, impassioned guide delineates precise ways homeowners can develop the skill sets necessary for self-sufficiency."
Booklist

"A Householder’s Guide to the Universe is like a thick slice of rhubarb pie. Tart, saucy, colorful. . . [Fasenfest] charts a month-by-month plan of attack—and make no mistake, she’s a kitchen warrior, picking and preserving her edibles like a many-armed Ganesh—inviting urbanites to harvest and ferment their way to a more tasty, meaningful life."
Willamette Week

“Householding, in Harriet's view, is about a return to the rhythms and traditions of gardening, food storage, cooking and family life, all of which she fervently believes grounds people. . . If you're thinking about really throwing yourself into gardening and home life, this is a good book to get.”
—Oregonlive.com

"A Householder’s Guide to the Universe is not quite the typical DIY homemaking manual—it is part autobiography, part reference manual, part garden journal. . . Fasenfest is simultaneously expert and self-depreciating, funny and then deeply personal."
—Culturemob.com

"Whether you choose to read Fasenfest’s tome on a month-by-month basis, turn straight to the planting guide or spend an afternoon gleaning nuggets from the instructional and inspirations gems contained within, be prepared to look at your own universe a little differently."
Cascadia Weekly

"Reading [Fasenfest's] advice, you can't help but get caught up in her urban homesteading revolution and the notion that it will cure what ails our culture."
The Eugene Register-Guard

"Harriet Fasenfast is a skilled urban homesteader with a lot to share. I love the way she weaves together practical gardening tips and food preservation techniques with relevant personal stories and philosophical reflections. A Householder's Guide to the Universe is charming and inviting, sure to be a source of inspiration to anyone aspiring to get closer to the source and produce their own food."—Sandor Ellix Katz, author of Fermentation and The Revolution Will Not Be Microwaved

"This is a wonderful book. Harriet Fasenfest is like a wise and kind
Northwestern neighbor who has time for you."
- Shannon Hayes, author of Radical Homemakers, The Grassfed Gourmet, and The Farmer and the Grill

"When [Harriet Fasenfest's] book arrived last fall, I gobbled it up like a thriller, because it's so full of good information, and I wanted to see what she was going to do next. A Householder's Guide to the Universe isn't a strict DIY book, nor is it just a memoir, nor is it solely an examination of how corporations have colonized even the most personal corners of our lives—it's all of those and more."—Bookslut

Library Journal
Fasenfest, a former restaurant owner and cook, writes an intimate reflection on a year of "householding," the art of managing the small-scale economy of a household. The book is organized by month, and each chapter is divided into "Home," "Kitchen," and "Garden" sections. Readers will find concrete tips on planting, harvesting, canning, preserving, and cleaning. Fasenfest skillfully cultivates an appreciation for skills that have been lost in our modern quest for convenience, while also showing readers why householding makes sense as an antidote to the destruction of our current economic system. VERDICT Helpful charts, a scattering of recipes, and personal stories make this hybrid how-to/memoir an enjoyable and informative read for aspiring urban homesteaders as well as those who would rather household vicariously. Readers who enjoyed Barbara Kingsolver's Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life will find something to appreciate here. [Four-city tour.]—Rukshana Singh, Torrance P.L., CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780982569153
Publisher:
Tin House Books
Publication date:
11/01/2010
Pages:
260
Sales rank:
660,402
Product dimensions:
6.70(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Harriet Fasenfest is an avid gardener, food preserver, homemaker, and lover of the soil. At fifty-six, Harriet officially fled main street (and her restaurants) for the greener pastures of the backyard, where she teaches classes on householding. Born and raised in the Bronx, she currently lives in Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >