How Lucky You Are

How Lucky You Are

3.9 46
by Kristyn Kusek Lewis
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, HOW LUCKY YOU ARE is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their longstanding friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next

See more details below

Overview

In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, HOW LUCKY YOU ARE is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their longstanding friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her. Stay-at-home mom Amy has a perfect life on paper, but as the horrific secret she's keeping from her friends threatens to reveal itself, she panics.

As life's pressures build all around them, Waverly knows she has some big decisions to make. In doing so, she will discover that the lines between loyalty and betrayal can become blurred, happy endings aren't always clear-cut, and sometimes you have to risk everything to gain the life you deserve.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Lewis explores the consequences of accrued secrets and the growing pains of long-lived friendships in her strong chick lit debut. Waverly and Kate have been friends since they were 14 years old, and Amy joined the duo “as an easy third” shortly after college. Since then, they’ve been inseparable, never mind that their lives have taken very different directions: Waverly, the narrator, owns a little bakery and lives comfortably with her charming boyfriend, Larry; stay-at-home mom Amy is happily married to Mike, a family practice doctor; and socialite Kate and her politician husband, Brendan, live a charmed life in Washington, D.C. But despite their closeness, time has taken a toll on their friendships—relationship problems that would’ve once been fodder for late-night gossip have devolved into the realm of taboo topics. As the women navigate the uncomfortable emotional territory that the messiness of life has ushered them into, they must overcome their fears and open up to each other like they once did in order to save their friendship—and their relationships with the men they love. Agent: Katherine Fausset, Curtis Brown. (Sept.)
Meg Donohue
"How Lucky You Are is a compelling, insightful, and moving tale of the ever-shifting terrain of female friendship and the secrets we keep even from those who love us most."
Allie Larkin
"A nuanced, heartfelt debut, How Lucky You Are artfully honors the importance of dear old friends. I can't wait to read more from Kristyn Kusek Lewis."
Meg Mitchell Moore
"In this wise and compulsively readable debut, Lewis follows three thirtysomething female friends and tackles even the heaviest of subjects with a restrained and self-assured hand, avoiding sentimentality while displaying an impressive emotional range. I could smell the doughnut muffins, taste the margaritas and feel each high and low right along with the delightful characters. If you've ever had a best friend or been a best friend, this is a book for you."
Sarah Jio
"Charming and achingly real, Kristyn Kusek Lewis' How Lucky You Are is an endearing story about finding your way amid the many intricacies of friendship. I'm certain it will become a book club favorite."
Meredith Goldstein
"Kristyn Kusek Lewis's How Lucky You Are is a moving, thoughtful story about what happens when friends become family and stay close despite all odds. It's an honest, empathetic novel of love, commitment, and female friendship with characters I didn't want to let go."
From the Publisher
"Fans of women's fiction about enduring female friendships will relate to debut author Lewis's vivid and genuinely written protagonists. A good choice for readers who enjoy the novels of Kristin Hannah and Patricia Gaffney."—Karen Core, Detroit P.L., Library Journal"

Kristyn Kusek Lewis's How Lucky You Are is a moving, thoughtful story about what happens when friends become family and stay close despite all odds. It's an honest, empathetic novel of love, commitment, and female friendship with characters I didn't want to let go."—Meredith Goldstein, author of The Singles and Boston Globe "Love Letters" Columnist"

Charming and achingly real, Kristyn Kusek Lewis' How Lucky You Are is an endearing story about finding your way amid the many intricacies of friendship. I'm certain it will become a book club favorite."—Sarah Jio, author of The Violets of March and The Bungalow"

In this wise and compulsively readable debut, Lewis follows three thirtysomething female friends and tackles even the heaviest of subjects with a restrained and self-assured hand, avoiding sentimentality while displaying an impressive emotional range. I could smell the doughnut muffins, taste the margaritas and feel each high and low right along with the delightful characters. If you've ever had a best friend or been a best friend, this is a book for you."—Meg Mitchell Moore, author of The Arrivals and So Far Away"

A nuanced, heartfelt debut, How Lucky You Are artfully honors the importance of dear old friends. I can't wait to read more from Kristyn Kusek Lewis."—Allie Larkin, author of Stay and Why Can't I Be You"

How Lucky You Are is a compelling, insightful, and moving tale of the ever-shifting terrain of female friendship and the secrets we keep even from those who love us most."—Meg Donohue, author of How to Eat a Cupcake

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781455502035
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Publication date:
09/04/2012
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
320,024
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >