How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation

How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation

4.5 32
by Simone Elkeles
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Guess who's jetting to the Holy Land this summer!

Remember me, Amy Barak-Nelson—a.k.a the queen of disaster? In case you forgot, my boyfriend Avi is in the Israeli army. A visit is definitely in order.

Somehow my grandmother convinced me to sign up for two weeks of pure hell in a military training base. Getting up before dawn, peeing in a hole

…  See more details below

Overview

Guess who's jetting to the Holy Land this summer!

Remember me, Amy Barak-Nelson—a.k.a the queen of disaster? In case you forgot, my boyfriend Avi is in the Israeli army. A visit is definitely in order.

Somehow my grandmother convinced me to sign up for two weeks of pure hell in a military training base. Getting up before dawn, peeing in a hole, and playing war games in the desert isn't my idea of fun. But what's worse? Our team leader turns out to be Avi!

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Janis Flint-Ferguson
Seventeen year old Amy Nelson-Barak is on her way to an Israeli boot camp for the summer. More than that, she is on her way to discovering her own strength and capabilities, but she thinks she is going to spend the summer with her nineteen year old Israeli boyfriend, Avi. What Amy does not understand about the Israeli camp almost proves to be her downfall—and her boyfriend's undoing as well. Amy, along with friends Nathan, Miranda, and Jessica have left the familiarity of Chicago, USA, for the hard core, military experience at an Israeli camp where Avi, who is meeting his military obligations, is stationed. Amy thinks this is a recipe for romance, but obviously it puts her and him into one awkward situation after another. He cannot spend time with her and she cannot forgive him. During a family crisis, the two finally come together and sort through their feelings and their desires. The novel is the third in a series of books about Amy and Avi. Throughout this novel though, we are given the basic details of what has gone on previously, how they met while Amy was reconnecting with her Israeli father, how her self identity is caught between her unmarried parents and their cultural differences, and how Amy's friends have provided her with a stability she did not realize she needed. Amy's sass is tempered by realism as things are not as she had imagined. The novel is both funny and poignant as Amy learns the complexities of human relationships. Other titles featuring Amy are: How to Ruin a Summer Vacation, How to Ruin My Teenage Life. Reviewer: Janis Flint-Ferguson
VOYA - Stacey Hayman
Amy Barak-Nelson is as girly as can be, so her desire to attend basic training boot camp on an Israeli Defense Force army base can only be attributed to one thing: her good-looking Israeli boyfriend who just happens to be stationed at that same base. It is only ten days, and Amy is sure she can last that long if she gets to hangout with Avi. But what Amy thinks will be a great surprise for Avi turns out to be a bad surprise for her. Avi already knows regular army personnel are not allowed to talk to the boot camp teens, and if he is spotted talking to Amy, especially alone, he will be in big trouble. And they both know how Amy attracts trouble. Can Amy dig deep to find her inner-warrior woman for ten days without Avi's support? Or will she give up, leaving camp—and her boyfriend—far behind? The characters and their endearing predicaments are charming. Some good, old-fashioned teen drama keeps the pages turning and the romance encourages the reader to turn them a little faster. Serious issues, such as Israel's political conflicts and Amy's unusual family structure and its impact on her romantic relationship, take this book from pure fluff to a good solid read. It is possible to begin with Amy's third adventure, but it is more fun if you've read the first two before. It is a great read-alike for fans of Meg Cabot, Melissa Kantor, and Sarah Dessen. Reviewer: Stacey Hayman

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738718798
Publisher:
Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
Publication date:
11/28/2009
Pages:
257
Sales rank:
487,981
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile:
HL750L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Simone Elkeles is the author of Leaving Paradise and four other Flux novels, including How to Ruin Your Summer Vacation and How to Ruin Your Boyfriend’s Repuation. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling Rules of Attraction (Walker). A popular speaker at libraries around the country, when the author is not writing she TiVos reality television and watches teen movies. She lives near Chicago with her family and two dogs.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >