How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation

How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation

4.5 32
by Simone Elkeles
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Guess who's jetting to the Holy Land this summer!

Remember me, Amy Barak-Nelson—a.k.a the queen of disaster? In case you forgot, my boyfriend Avi is in the Israeli army. A visit is definitely in order.

Somehow my grandmother convinced me to sign up for two weeks of pure hell in a military training base. Getting up before dawn, peeing in a hole

…  See more details below

Overview

Guess who's jetting to the Holy Land this summer!

Remember me, Amy Barak-Nelson—a.k.a the queen of disaster? In case you forgot, my boyfriend Avi is in the Israeli army. A visit is definitely in order.

Somehow my grandmother convinced me to sign up for two weeks of pure hell in a military training base. Getting up before dawn, peeing in a hole, and playing war games in the desert isn't my idea of fun. But what's worse? Our team leader turns out to be Avi!

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Janis Flint-Ferguson
Seventeen year old Amy Nelson-Barak is on her way to an Israeli boot camp for the summer. More than that, she is on her way to discovering her own strength and capabilities, but she thinks she is going to spend the summer with her nineteen year old Israeli boyfriend, Avi. What Amy does not understand about the Israeli camp almost proves to be her downfall—and her boyfriend's undoing as well. Amy, along with friends Nathan, Miranda, and Jessica have left the familiarity of Chicago, USA, for the hard core, military experience at an Israeli camp where Avi, who is meeting his military obligations, is stationed. Amy thinks this is a recipe for romance, but obviously it puts her and him into one awkward situation after another. He cannot spend time with her and she cannot forgive him. During a family crisis, the two finally come together and sort through their feelings and their desires. The novel is the third in a series of books about Amy and Avi. Throughout this novel though, we are given the basic details of what has gone on previously, how they met while Amy was reconnecting with her Israeli father, how her self identity is caught between her unmarried parents and their cultural differences, and how Amy's friends have provided her with a stability she did not realize she needed. Amy's sass is tempered by realism as things are not as she had imagined. The novel is both funny and poignant as Amy learns the complexities of human relationships. Other titles featuring Amy are: How to Ruin a Summer Vacation, How to Ruin My Teenage Life. Reviewer: Janis Flint-Ferguson
VOYA - Stacey Hayman
Amy Barak-Nelson is as girly as can be, so her desire to attend basic training boot camp on an Israeli Defense Force army base can only be attributed to one thing: her good-looking Israeli boyfriend who just happens to be stationed at that same base. It is only ten days, and Amy is sure she can last that long if she gets to hangout with Avi. But what Amy thinks will be a great surprise for Avi turns out to be a bad surprise for her. Avi already knows regular army personnel are not allowed to talk to the boot camp teens, and if he is spotted talking to Amy, especially alone, he will be in big trouble. And they both know how Amy attracts trouble. Can Amy dig deep to find her inner-warrior woman for ten days without Avi's support? Or will she give up, leaving camp—and her boyfriend—far behind? The characters and their endearing predicaments are charming. Some good, old-fashioned teen drama keeps the pages turning and the romance encourages the reader to turn them a little faster. Serious issues, such as Israel's political conflicts and Amy's unusual family structure and its impact on her romantic relationship, take this book from pure fluff to a good solid read. It is possible to begin with Amy's third adventure, but it is more fun if you've read the first two before. It is a great read-alike for fans of Meg Cabot, Melissa Kantor, and Sarah Dessen. Reviewer: Stacey Hayman

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738718798
Publisher:
Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
Publication date:
11/28/2009
Pages:
257
Sales rank:
218,199
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile:
HL750L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Simone Elkeles is the author of Leaving Paradise and four other Flux novels, including How to Ruin Your Summer Vacation and How to Ruin Your Boyfriend’s Repuation. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling Rules of Attraction (Walker). A popular speaker at libraries around the country, when the author is not writing she TiVos reality television and watches teen movies. She lives near Chicago with her family and two dogs.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why isn't this in a e book so I can buy it from my nook I really want to read it but it seems like I can't
Liaa More than 1 year ago
This whole seris made me stay up on school nights. I loved this seris, compared to Perfect Chem, I think this book is more funny and way more connection. I hope Simone makes more books out of this seris! I'll be the one who will be up again till 3 in the morning reading this!!!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Camo is back in fashion for the summer, and Amy Nelson-Barak is ready to show off her style. Not in the states, however, but all the way in Israel. After learning that her boyfriend, Avi, has to stay back for more training, Amy, along with her friends Miranda, Jessica, and the infamous Nathan, have all signed up for military boot camp that just so happens to be at the same base where Avi is currently training. SURPRISE! Amy's plan is simple: go to boot camp, have the fun which the brochure advertises, and spend time with her Avi. But Amy should know that summers never turn out the way she expects. Once there, Amy notices the lack of indoor plumbing, gourmet food, or ideal mattresses. It gets worse. They actually want her to train like how the real soldiers would! Even though the whole ordeal may not be Amy's cup of tea, she not only wants to make Avi proud, but she wants to prove her dad wrong. She vows to show him that she can survive without all of her necessities from back home - well, with the exception of make-up, hair straighteners, and designer sunglasses. Already hating the environment, Amy is glad to finally see Avi, who just so happens to be the leader of her group. Little does she know that Avi has to keep their relationship professional, meaning they still won't have time to be alone together. When things get bad, it has to get better... right? So what if Amy has to deal with bad meals and cold showers. The pretty girls there do not bother her either; she's the one that has Avi. Seems like the only thing that can bother Amy is a little secret that Avi has been keeping from her, that could just possibly tear them apart. Whoever said karma wasn't a big meanie? Simone Elkeles makes each installment of this series better than the previous one. HOW TO RUIN YOUR BOYFRIEND'S REPUTATION is laugh-out-loud hilarious, all while Amy Nelson-Barak stays true to her character and true to her culture. What I like best about this installment is that Simone Elkeles lets us into the minds and thoughts of soldiers and how they are proud to fight for their country and freedom. She delves into the misconceptions and beauty of Israel and lets us all see what a wonderful country it is. Amy Nelson-Barak is back, and this time she's a "warrior woman!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Library_Addict7 More than 1 year ago
This book was perfect for a quick fun read. It was written with a lighthearted tone and was a really good rainy-day read. I have not read the first books in the series, but I understood the story completely. Although the characters seem a little fake at times, it was a great read and seems good for all types of teens whatever age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Livers More than 1 year ago
The novel "How to Ruin Your Boyfriend's Reputation" by Simone Elkeles is the third book in her series. Not many authors can write from a teenagers point of view and master it perfectly, but Elkeles is amazing. This book is hilariously funny and perfect for any teen girl looking for a love story unlike anything else. The main character Amy is a complete city girl with spunk and attitude but isn't bratty or self-centered. It takes a lot for a book to make me laugh, but i found myself cracking up numerous times through-out this story. I love how Elkeles did her chapter titles. Some were long and sarcastic, some were short and she twisted with cliche sayings. I can't stand when an author just puts "CHAPTER 16" instead of some unique title like, "Zits are God's way of making sure we know we're only human and far from perfect. I'd just like him to remind me a little less often." This book had many emotions and twists and turns and a LOT of sass. Every time i had a chance to read i picked up this book and read. It really is that good. Of course when you have a character like Amy Nelson-Barak the book is guaranteed to be far from boring. ORC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago