How Will You Measure Your Life?

How Will You Measure Your Life?

4.1 17
by Clayton M. Christensen, James Allworth, Karen Dillon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said

…  See more details below

Overview

From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Based on a 2010 speech to the Harvard Business School graduating class, innovation expert and HBS professor Christensen (The Innovator’s Dilemma) tackles the question of how to live a happy, meaningful, purpose-filled life. Even before his stroke and cancer diagnosis, Christensen routinely questioned his students not just about their career ambitions but about what they hoped for their lives. He extends that conversation in this highly engaging and intensely revealing work, distilling lessons learned from studying businesses over the course of a multidecade academic career and spinning them into deeply personal wisdom. He draws on examples from companies like Intel, Disney, and Iridium to illustrate how we can align our actions, time, and resources with our priorities, manage relationships, and even improve parenting. He interweaves personal stories into these lessons, including his early, never realized desire to be the editor of the Wall Street Journal, being fired from a CEO job, his passion for teaching, and his own parenting experiences. Spiritual without being preachy, this work is especially relevant for young people embarking on their career, but also useful for anyone who wants to live a more meaningful life in accordance with their values. Agent: Danny Stern, Stern Associates. (May)
Bloomberg Businessweek
“The book encapsulates Christensen’s best advice to keep high achievers from being disrupted in their own lives....[P]rovocative but reassuring: Peter Drucker meets Mitch Albom.”
Bloomberg BusinessWeek
“…a gripping personal story with lessons from business mixed in.”
Forbes
“[W]ell researched and thought through material.
Deseret News
“…Clayton Christensen’s new book has the business world buzzing.”
Harvard Business Review
“Recommend the book to friends and family who have no connection to the business world. They will thank you for it.”
Huffington Post
‘’A Business Student’s New Required Reading’’
Inc. Magazine
“[R]evealing and profound.”
Small Business Labs
“I wish this book was around when I started my carreer. I bought copies for my kids and other young adults I know. $16 is not a lot to spend to get them thinking about their future and how to live responsible, ethical and successful lives.”
Financial Times
“[M]ore genuinely a self-help book than the genre it disparages. Instead of force-feeding readers with orders on how to improve, it aims to give them the tools to set their own course”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062102416
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/15/2012
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
60,953
Product dimensions:
5.88(w) x 8.36(h) x 0.88(d)

Meet the Author

CLAYTON M. CHRISTENSEN is the Kim B. Clark Professor at Harvard Business School, the author of seven books, a five-time recipient of the McKinsey Award for Harvard Business Review's best article, and the cofounder of four companies, including the innovation consulting firm Innosight. In 2011 he was named the world's most influential business thinker in a biennial ranking conducted by Thinkers50.

A native of Australia, JAMES ALLWORTH is a graduate of the Harvard Business School, where he was named a Baker Scholar, and the Australian National University. He previously worked at Booz & Company and Apple.

KAREN DILLON was editor of the Harvard Business Review until 2011. She is a graduate of Cornell University and Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. In 2011 she was named by Ashoka as one of the world’s most influential and inspiring women.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

How Will You Measure Your Life? 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
KenNewoften More than 1 year ago
I heard Clayton on the radio talking about the book. FIRST book - They were talking about product / service positioning around the 'job that needs to be done'. That tweaked my interest because it was phrased in a way that I had not heard before. I thought it might help me position myself more clearly to potential clients. And reading the book, ideas have been popping up all over the place. SECOND book - it talks about the 'job that needs to be done' in parenting (or in my case, grandparenting:). I know what my kids are getting for their next present. They HAVE to read this book. THIRD, there were thoughts on how to live my life. Each of the stories in the book can be read from any of these 3 perspectives. I read it this time from the business perspective. I need to go back and read it /think about each part from the children and my life perspectives. Enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very insightful book with surprisingly actionable things you can do to choose and live the life that will make you happy. It's not really a self-help book, but reads more like a business/management practices book, but geared towards life choices. For that reason, the advice it contains is not feel-good, but based on business practices meant to provide clear, insightful decision-making processes. It's dry, though, and pretty blocky. But the author never backs down from emphasizing that it's hard work that requires a lot of investment and thought. And it's one of the most well-thought-out books of its kind, dealing with all facets of some very nebulous and difficult topics. I really enjoyed it, and learned some valuable processes and frameworks to use in directing my own life.
JodyJ More than 1 year ago
This is the first self-help book that I have read in years. I don’t normally read too many books of this genre, but this one did sound good to me. Though it was a good book and made sense in many areas it took me a very long time to get through it as it references more to business, at least that is how I read it. I do believe this book would be great for people who have a career or just starting out in the corporate world. Business, careers, corporate life is really not my forte as far as reading material goes. I did not get into the book as I thought I would, and as many others did or will. I do appreciate the fact that the second part of the book was supposed to be about family and relationships that are outside of business, I did not read that, that was the case. Christensen still gave examples from the business prespective. Family life examples would have been more appropriate for me. I did take away from the book the fact that my family and any of my relationships come before career and money. Actually for me God comes first, then my family, friends, co-workers etc. Disclaimer: I received this book free for an honest un-biased review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the type of book that should be read and re-read. Christensen uses an interesting approach to apply business concepts to personal life and decisions. There are many pearls of wisdom to apply to your career, family, children, and your personal integrity. This is not your "vanilla" life evaluation book. I read this on an airplane and had a great introspective flight - will reference many times as a parent and professional. We all need to think about how we will measure our lives - I want to do this now and not when I am on my deathbed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While there are some great lessons buried in this book, the author seems to lose focus. At first he seems to address recent graduates and young professionals, then switches to his tune entirely to provide advice on parenting. Might be worth skimming the sections that appeal to you, but it seems unlikely that the entire book will resonate with any given audience
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great!
RolfDobelli More than 1 year ago
In a time characterized by instant meals, instant messages and instant gratification, it might seem odd to ask if you’re making instant choices you could come to regret. Yet that’s what innovative business experts Clayton M. Christensen, James Allworth and Karen Dillon want you to explore. Their sobering, enlightening analysis applies causal business theory not just to improve your the prospects for a business, but also your personal and professional life. They explain why causation matters more than correlation, and they deftly show how to use the “if-then” principle in work and life. Christensen concludes this extraordinary book – quite a departure from his seminal writing on innovation – with a personal account of his challenges in practicing its principles. getAbstract warmly recommends this tightly-written, thoughtful guide to making better life choices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book.shoild have been titled "An ode to ME." Oy vey!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago