Husband and Wife: A Novel

Husband and Wife: A Novel

3.6 18
by Leah Stewart
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Leah Stewart’s brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself.” — Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

From the highly acclaimed

Overview

“Leah Stewart’s brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself.” — Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

From the highly acclaimed author of The Myth of You and Me comes a new novel about a young mother who finds her identity rocked to the core when her writer-husband reveals his next novel about infidelity isn’t entirely fiction. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Ayelet Waldman, and Marisa de los Santos, as well as memoirs like Happens Every Day and Perfection, will love Leah Stewart’s Husband and Wife.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Some confessions are better left unuttered, as Sarah Price learns in Stewart's (The Myth of You and Me) solid latest. When novelist Nathan Bennett confesses to his wife, Sarah, right before a friend's wedding that he slept with another woman (his novel is titled Infidelity), Sarah's concerns shift from whether the dress she plans to wear to the wedding makes her look fat to what she will do about her future and that of their two young children, Mattie and Binx. What follows is an unflinching look at what happens when one's identity is shattered, and “what-ifs” and past choices come back to haunt the present. Chief among these what-ifs: Rajiv, an old friend nursing a long-unrequited crush on Sarah, and Sarah's longing to be seen once again as a poet. Stewart's graceful prose and easy storytelling pull the reader into caring about what happens to the struggling heroine while exploring the many gray areas of life and marriage. The conclusion, while true to Sarah, is surprising but not unrealistic. (May)
Raleigh News & Observer
“Stewart’s book does what real life doesn’t always allow: It gives the woman a voice.”
BookPage.com
“Heartbreaking and darkly humorous. . . . [Stewart] is an acute social observer.”
Elin Hilderbrand
“Leah Stewart’s brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself.”
Amanda Eyre Ward
“Hilarious, heartbreaking, and wise, Husband and Wife is a novel to savor. Stewart’s bright heroine is faced with an impossible choice—and I couldn’t put the book down until I’d followed her story to the end.”
Marisa de los Santos
“This narrative voice is so alive and specific that it moves past the idea of ‘narrative voice’ to become a human woman speaking to you. . . . I cherish this wry, funny, aching, intelligent character and this book!”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061992476
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/04/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
151,987
File size:
662 KB

Meet the Author

Leah Stewart is the author of the novels The Myth of You and Me and Body of a Girl. A recipient of an NEA Literature Fellowship, she lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her husband and their two young children. She teaches creative writing at the University of Cincinnati.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Husband and Wife 3.6 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 18 reviews.
ReviewsByMolly More than 1 year ago
Husband and Wife was awesome, in my opinion. Not a rush out and buy me now awesome (though I do recommend you read this!), but awesome all the same. Leah Stewart was fantastic in creating this very true-to-life novel, about infidelity and finding oneself. Her writing style brings out the truth in a lot of today's societies, yet she keeps it just fictional enough that her readers are hooked for life. Sarah Price, married to a fiction writer, is all dolled up and ready to attend her best friend's wedding. Then, out of nowhere, her hubby writer drops THE bombshell. Oh yea. Imagine, all ready to go to a wedding and your hubby tells you, "honey, by the way, the FICTION novel I wrote about infidelity? Well, I wrote it based on the worst possible betrayal: I cheated on YOU." Wow. That was so not cool. So, what does Sarah do? Well, I would tell you that, but if I did, it would take away from the story and spoil the plot line for you. I will tell you that I loved the characters that Ms. Stewart created. From Sarah, to Nathan, to baby Binx. Each character was life like, and could have been a person I had met on the street. They instantly became a part of my heart as I sat there reading this crazy, often complex and serious story. I'm single, though I haven't always been. I'm divorced. For much of the same reasons in the story. My ex, well, yea, he branched out from the marriage so to speak. And, well, I am a better person than to have to submit myself and my children into that situation. So, though I am no longer married, I could relate quite often to the thoughts and the feelings of Sarah. Some of the things that she did though, I can't ever imagine doing that. But, between the characters, the plot and the author's writing skills, I definitely recommend this with a 5 star praise. But, be forewarned....it's complex, it's dramatic and often times, it's highly emotionally serious. While it IS a fast read, it's certainly NOT a light read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Feeling some guilt, novelist Nathan Bennett confesses to his wife Sarah Price that he slept with another woman. She is stunned by his confession, which changes her priorities from which dress to wear at a wedding would make her look less fat to what to do about her relationship with Nathan; factoring in their two young children, Mattie and Binx. Whereas Nathan feels remorse, Sarah feels anger. She considers her options by looking at her past through a decision analysis of what could have been her life if she chose a differentpath. She ponders leaving her spouse and taking the kids with her of course while her anger grows as she gave up poetry writing and wants to be known as a poetess again. Then there is to consider her friend Rajiv, who has loved her forever. This is an interesting family drama in which an extramarital one night stand has shattered the trust between Husband and Wife. The lead couple feels genuine especially their emotions. However, it is the tense intriguing look back by Sarah who deeply examines lost opportunities when she made pivotal choices who makes the story line profound. Although the ending seems off kilter as a throwback to Austen's Regency era, fans will still appreciate this deep character study of one major indiscretion which has incredible relational costs. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Racheybug More than 1 year ago
I loved The Myth of You and Me, and had high hopes for this as well. This was much harder to stick with. It's possible it was just difficult for me to relate, where I identified with Myth very closely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago