Hush
  • Hush
  • Hush

Hush

3.6 100
by Kate White
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author and Cosmopolitan's editor-in-chief returns with a sizzling, page-turning thriller in which an ordinary woman flees the scene of a murder—and realizes it's not just the law that's hunting her.

When Lake Warren learns that her husband, Jack, is suing for full custody of their two kids four months after their

…  See more details below

Overview

New York Times bestselling author and Cosmopolitan's editor-in-chief returns with a sizzling, page-turning thriller in which an ordinary woman flees the scene of a murder—and realizes it's not just the law that's hunting her.

When Lake Warren learns that her husband, Jack, is suing for full custody of their two kids four months after their separation, she's pretty certain that things can't get any worse. The upside is that she's working with the Advanced Fertility Center as a marketing consultant, alongside the attractive, flirtatious Dr. Keaton. But the morning after their one-night stand, Lake finds Keaton with his throat slashed and discovers that things can indeed become worse—they can become deadly.

So as not to jeopardize her case for custody, Lake is forced to lie to the police. Having just been intimate with a man who has been murdered, and wanting to protect herself from being charged with the crime, she begins her own search for the truth. Meanwhile, the police start looking at her closely, people at the clinic start treating her with hostility, and strange clues begin dropping—quite literally—on her doorstep, and Lake realizes that she is dangerously close to dark secrets, both about Keaton and the clinic. But can Lake stop what she's started before it's too late?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

New York Daily News
“A sharp-edged thriller . . . Sexy suspense.”
Romantic Times
“Kate White delivers a top-notch, nail-biting thriller. . . . Lake Warren’s personal complications make her a compelling character, and the nonstop action leads to a deliciously scary conclusion.”
Harper's Bazaar
“Murder and lust make for a page-turner.”
Today Show
“A real page turner.”
Library Journal
In her first stand-alone thriller, White (known for her Bailey Weggins series, most recently Lethally Blonde) effectively blends mommy-lit issues with murder and suspense. Recently separated and finally finding her emotional footing, Lake Warren has been hired as a marketing consultant for a Park Avenue fertility clinic and has even started a flirtation with a handsome doctor. But then she's hit by a double whammy. Her soon-to-be-ex is seeking full custody of their two children, and the doctor has been murdered (hours after Lake slept with him). Afraid that the police will suspect her and that her husband will use this against her in their custody battle, Lake keeps quiet about her hookup. Now she is faced with scary late-night calls, an attack on the family pet, a husband looking to trip her up, and the police just this close to coming after her for murder. VERDICT The mix of family pressures and murderous suspense makes this a page-turner that will appeal to readers of Michele Martinez, Lisa Unger, and Karen Rose. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 11/15/09.]—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI
Kirkus Reviews
White shelves hard-used series heroine Bailey Weggins (Lethally Blond, 2007, etc.), who could certainly use a break, to create just as much havoc for another New York professional who wants to have it all, except for the corpse. Now that Lake Warren's estranged husband Jack has contested the joint-custody arrangements for their two children, it looks as if work is her only solace. So she throws herself into her job as a freelance marketing expert for the Park Avenue Fertility Center with redoubled energy. Unfortunately, she also throws herself into the bed of Dr. Mark Keaton, the come-hither consultant who's just announced his intention of joining the firm. Lake wonders briefly how her ill-advised fling will sit with Jack's lawyer but gives no thought to the possible repercussions if Mark gets stabbed to death while she's catching a post-coital snooze on his balcony. Was the killer a jealous lover (evidently the jungles of Gotham are full of those), a Park Avenue client who thought she'd been the target of a monstrous fraud, or a colleague who'd filched the key to Mark's apartment from nurse Maggie Donohue? Lake will have to follow the trail while she's looking over one shoulder at the increasingly curious police and over the other at someone who seems bent on terrorizing or killing her. Despite the menacing damsel-in-distress prologue, thriftily repeated verbatim in chapter 28, both the mystery and the killer are too lightweight to vex your sleep. Job No. 1 here is multiplying suspicions, not resolving them.
Lisa Gardner
“A nerve-jangling adrenaline rush! From the first sentence to the last, Kate White catapults you into a tense vortex of deceit, danger, and double-crosses, where one wrong word is all it takes to lose everything. When in doubt, hush...”
Linda Fairstein
“Dark, sexy, and smart, HUSH is a pulse-pounding thriller that’s both chilling and provocative. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop - or guess who or why - until the very end. A stunningly good read.”
Karin Slaughter
“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.”
Lisa Unger
“Sexy and suspenseful, Kate White’s HUSH is a true page-turner. The subtle twists and turns on the glamorous streets of New York City are going to thrill White’s longtime fans and earn her a legion of brand new readers. A clever, fast-paced thriller!”
Sandra Brown
“Kate White places her wily heroine in a real jam, then keeps her, as well as readers, asking ‘Whodunit?’ right up till the gripping finale.”

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061576614
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/02/2010
Pages:
341
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

What People are saying about this

Sandra Brown
“Kate White places her wily heroine in a real jam, then keeps her, as well as readers, asking ‘Whodunit?’ right up till the gripping finale.”
Linda Fairstein
“Dark, sexy, and smart, HUSH is a pulse-pounding thriller that’s both chilling and provocative. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop - or guess who or why - until the very end. A stunningly good read.”
Lisa Gardner
“A nerve-jangling adrenaline rush! From the first sentence to the last, Kate White catapults you into a tense vortex of deceit, danger, and double-crosses, where one wrong word is all it takes to lose everything. When in doubt, hush...”
Lisa Unger
“Sexy and suspenseful, Kate White’s HUSH is a true page-turner. The subtle twists and turns on the glamorous streets of New York City are going to thrill White’s longtime fans and earn her a legion of brand new readers. A clever, fast-paced thriller!”
Karin Slaughter
“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.”

Read More

Meet the Author

Kate White, the editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan magazine, is the New York Times bestselling author of the Bailey Weggins mystery series—If Looks Could Kill; A Body to Die For; 'Til Death Do Us Part; Over Her Dead Body; and, most recently, Lethally Blond. White is also the author of popular career books for women, including Why Good Girls Don't Get Ahead but Gutsy Girls Do. Hush is her first stand-alone thriller. She lives in New York City with her family.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
New York, New York
Date of Birth:
1950
Place of Birth:
Glens Falls, New York
Education:
Union College, 1972
Website:
http://www.KateWhite.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >