Hush

Hush

3.5 101
by Kate White
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Dark, sexy, and smart... A stunningly good read.” — Linda Fairstein, author of Hell Gate

“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.” — Karin Slaughter, author of Undone

In this exciting thriller by Kate White, Cosmopolitan editor-in-chief and New York Times bestselling author of the

See more details below

Overview

“Dark, sexy, and smart... A stunningly good read.” — Linda Fairstein, author of Hell Gate

“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.” — Karin Slaughter, author of Undone

In this exciting thriller by Kate White, Cosmopolitan editor-in-chief and New York Times bestselling author of the Bailey Weggins mystery series (If Looks Could Kill, A Body to Die For, ’Til Death Do Us Part, Over Her Dead Body, Lethally Blond), a mother of two goes from ordinary New Yorker to victim and detective overnight. Readers of Laura Lippman and Iris Johansen are sure to find many page-turning thrills in Kate White's Hush.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
In her first stand-alone thriller, White (known for her Bailey Weggins series, most recently Lethally Blonde) effectively blends mommy-lit issues with murder and suspense. Recently separated and finally finding her emotional footing, Lake Warren has been hired as a marketing consultant for a Park Avenue fertility clinic and has even started a flirtation with a handsome doctor. But then she's hit by a double whammy. Her soon-to-be-ex is seeking full custody of their two children, and the doctor has been murdered (hours after Lake slept with him). Afraid that the police will suspect her and that her husband will use this against her in their custody battle, Lake keeps quiet about her hookup. Now she is faced with scary late-night calls, an attack on the family pet, a husband looking to trip her up, and the police just this close to coming after her for murder. VERDICT The mix of family pressures and murderous suspense makes this a page-turner that will appeal to readers of Michele Martinez, Lisa Unger, and Karen Rose. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 11/15/09.]—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI
Kirkus Reviews
White shelves hard-used series heroine Bailey Weggins (Lethally Blond, 2007, etc.), who could certainly use a break, to create just as much havoc for another New York professional who wants to have it all, except for the corpse. Now that Lake Warren's estranged husband Jack has contested the joint-custody arrangements for their two children, it looks as if work is her only solace. So she throws herself into her job as a freelance marketing expert for the Park Avenue Fertility Center with redoubled energy. Unfortunately, she also throws herself into the bed of Dr. Mark Keaton, the come-hither consultant who's just announced his intention of joining the firm. Lake wonders briefly how her ill-advised fling will sit with Jack's lawyer but gives no thought to the possible repercussions if Mark gets stabbed to death while she's catching a post-coital snooze on his balcony. Was the killer a jealous lover (evidently the jungles of Gotham are full of those), a Park Avenue client who thought she'd been the target of a monstrous fraud, or a colleague who'd filched the key to Mark's apartment from nurse Maggie Donohue? Lake will have to follow the trail while she's looking over one shoulder at the increasingly curious police and over the other at someone who seems bent on terrorizing or killing her. Despite the menacing damsel-in-distress prologue, thriftily repeated verbatim in chapter 28, both the mystery and the killer are too lightweight to vex your sleep. Job No. 1 here is multiplying suspicions, not resolving them.
Today Show
“A real page-turner.”
New York Daily News
“A sharp-edged thriller . . . Sexy suspense.”
Romantic Times
“Kate White delivers a top-notch, nail-biting thriller. . . . Lake Warren’s personal complications make her a compelling character, and the nonstop action leads to a deliciously scary conclusion.”
Harper's Bazaar
“Murder and lust make for a page-turner.”
Lisa Gardner
“A nerve-jangling adrenaline rush! From the first sentence to the last, Kate White catapults you into a tense vortex of deceit, danger, and double-crosses, where one wrong word is all it takes to lose everything. When in doubt, hush...”
Linda Fairstein
“Dark, sexy, and smart, HUSH is a pulse-pounding thriller that’s both chilling and provocative. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop - or guess who or why - until the very end. A stunningly good read.”
Karin Slaughter
“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.”
Lisa Unger
“Sexy and suspenseful, Kate White’s HUSH is a true page-turner. The subtle twists and turns on the glamorous streets of New York City are going to thrill White’s longtime fans and earn her a legion of brand new readers. A clever, fast-paced thriller!”
Sandra Brown
“Kate White places her wily heroine in a real jam, then keeps her, as well as readers, asking ‘Whodunit?’ right up till the gripping finale.”

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061976452
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/02/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
3,119
File size:
1 MB

Videos

What People are saying about this

Sandra Brown
“Kate White places her wily heroine in a real jam, then keeps her, as well as readers, asking ‘Whodunit?’ right up till the gripping finale.”
Linda Fairstein
“Dark, sexy, and smart, HUSH is a pulse-pounding thriller that’s both chilling and provocative. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop - or guess who or why - until the very end. A stunningly good read.”
Lisa Gardner
“A nerve-jangling adrenaline rush! From the first sentence to the last, Kate White catapults you into a tense vortex of deceit, danger, and double-crosses, where one wrong word is all it takes to lose everything. When in doubt, hush...”
Lisa Unger
“Sexy and suspenseful, Kate White’s HUSH is a true page-turner. The subtle twists and turns on the glamorous streets of New York City are going to thrill White’s longtime fans and earn her a legion of brand new readers. A clever, fast-paced thriller!”
Karin Slaughter
“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.”

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >