Hyman Bloom

Hyman Bloom

by Dorothy Abbott Thompson
     
 

Hyman Bloom, perhaps America's greatest expressionist, is honored for the first time in this book dedicated to his life and work. Bloom's work is violent, dark, theatrical and fluid; few artists have merged brutality and sensitivity so effortlessly in the tradition of Durer and Goya. Bloom's work is included in the Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American

Overview

Hyman Bloom, perhaps America's greatest expressionist, is honored for the first time in this book dedicated to his life and work. Bloom's work is violent, dark, theatrical and fluid; few artists have merged brutality and sensitivity so effortlessly in the tradition of Durer and Goya. Bloom's work is included in the Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, Boston Museum of Fine Art, and the Hirshhorn Museum. All of Bloom's major themes are illustrated in this volume in 31 full-color illustrations. His work derives its strength from his perception of Judaism and his fascination with Eastern thought and mysticism.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780915829675
Publisher:
Chamelelon Books
Publication date:
04/28/1996
Pages:
127
Product dimensions:
8.38(w) x 9.51(h) x 0.41(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >