I Am Venus: A Novel

I Am Venus: A Novel

by Barbara Mujica
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In this breathtaking historical novel by the acclaimed author of the bestselling Frida, Bárbara Mujica reimagines the dramatic life and loves of the Baroque Spanish painter Diego Velázquez. Narrated by the mysterious model who posed for The Toilet of Venus, Velázquez’s only surviving female nude, I Am Venus is the riveting account

Overview

In this breathtaking historical novel by the acclaimed author of the bestselling Frida, Bárbara Mujica reimagines the dramatic life and loves of the Baroque Spanish painter Diego Velázquez. Narrated by the mysterious model who posed for The Toilet of Venus, Velázquez’s only surviving female nude, I Am Venus is the riveting account of a great artist’s rise to prominence, set against the backdrop of political turmoil and romantic scandal. A sweeping story of scandal and passion, and a vivid recreation of a corrupt kingdom on the brink of collapse, I Am Venus is a thrilling novel that brings to life the public and private worlds of Spain’s greatest painter.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
 “A well-plotted read with engaging characters and rich detail. Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Elizabeth Kostova as well as art history buffs will enjoy Mujica’s interpretation.”—Library Journal
 
“A worthwhile read . . . Mujica continues her realistic representation by loading the text with rich historical detail [that] instantly creates a sensory world for her readers to inhabit.” —Booklist

 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781468308907
Publisher:
Overlook
Publication date:
07/29/2014
Pages:
304
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

 “A well-plotted read with engaging characters and rich detail. Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Elizabeth Kostova as well as art history buffs will enjoy Mujica’s interpretation.”—Library Journal
 
“A worthwhile read . . . Mujica continues her realistic representation by loading the text with rich historical detail [that] instantly creates a sensory world for her readers to inhabit.” —Booklist

 

Meet the Author

Bárbara Mujica is a novelist, short story writer, critic, professor of Spanish at  Georgetown University, and a contributor to many publications, such as The New York Times and the Los Angeles Times. She is the author of the novels The Deaths of Don Bernardo, Frida, and Sister Teresa, and lives in Washington, D.C.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >