I Can't Make You Love Me, but I Can Make You Leave: A Novel

I Can't Make You Love Me, but I Can Make You Leave: A Novel

4.4 7
by Dixie Cash
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Get your biscuits in the oven and your buns in the bed, ‘cuz Dixie Cash is the best good-night reading around!”
—Nancy Martin, author of the Blackbird Sisters series

The Domestic Equalizers are back! Author Dixie Cash’s delightful small town Texas hairdressers-turned-sleuths take on a new case in I Can’t Make You

…  See more details below

Overview

“Get your biscuits in the oven and your buns in the bed, ‘cuz Dixie Cash is the best good-night reading around!”
—Nancy Martin, author of the Blackbird Sisters series

The Domestic Equalizers are back! Author Dixie Cash’s delightful small town Texas hairdressers-turned-sleuths take on a new case in I Can’t Make You Love Me, But I Can Make You Leave. A former Queen of Country Music, a long way from Nashville, faces a murder rap when her back-up singer and hated rival is found dead in the fading star’s dressing room—and the  Equalizers (“Don’t get mad, get evidence”) must prove her innocence. At once wacky and heartfelt, Cash’s latest is a country hoot! (Publishers Weekly calls it, “one of her most entertaining cases yet.”) Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Karin Gillespie who have yet to experience the zany delights of Dixie Cash should definitely start now!

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In chapter one of the pseudonymous Cash's sidesplitting seventh Domestic Equalizers mystery (after 2010's Our Red Hot Romance Is Leaving Me Blue), the tour bus carrying flame-haired Darla Denman, the former "Queen of Country Music," and her entourage—including her ex-husband and still faithful manager, Big Bob Denman, and Roxie Jo, Big Bob's ambitious, much younger wife and Darla's opening act—breaks down outside Salt Lick, Tex. After hiring a couple of unlikely backup singers—beauticians, and down-home investigators Debbie Sue Overstreet and Edwina Perkins-Martin—Darla and company finally reach Midland for a benefit concert. When Roxie Jo is stabbed to death with a nail file in her dressing room, Darla confesses to the crime. Sure that Darla is innocent, Debbie Sue and Edwina set out to clear their favorite singer's name. Cash (sisters Pam Cumbie and Jeffery McClanahan) delivers one of her most entertaining cases yet. (Apr.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062078940
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/05/2011
Series:
Domestic Equalizers
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
70,857
File size:
1 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Dixie Cash is Pam Cumbie and her sister, Jeffery McClanahan. They grew up in rural West Texas among "real life fictional characters" and 100 percent real cowboys and cowgirls. Some were relatives and some weren't. Pam has always had a zany sense of humor and Jeffery has always had a dry wit. Surrounded by country western music, when they can stop laughing long enough, they work together creating hilarity on paper. Both live in Texas—Pam in the Fort Worth/Dallas Metroplex and Jeffery in a small town near Fort Worth.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

I Can't Make You Love Me, But I Can Make You Leave 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
But $10 is just too much for a short book. I won't be buying any more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the books by Dixie Cash! They are easy entertaining reads. You can't help but laugh at the things the Domestic Equalizers do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
The former "Queen of Country Music" Darla Denman is on tour with an entourage riding the bus with her. Her former spouse and still dedicated manager Big Bob and his second wife Roxie Jo are part of the retinue. In fact Roxie Joe is the opening act to Darla. When they reach Salt Lick, Texas, Roxi Jo falls apart. Big Bob hires the Domestic Equalizers as backup singers though Debbie Sue Overstreet and Edwina Perkins-Martin are beauticians and sleuths. When the tour reaches Midland, Roxie Jo is found stabbed to death by a nail file in her dressing room; Darla confesses. The Domestic Equalizers believe Darla did not kill the trophy wife though they cannot fathom why their favorite singer confessed. The latest Domestic Equalizers investigation (see Our Red Hot Romance Is Leaving Me Blue) is perhaps the best of the jocular series as the zany duet work a murder mystery in which a confession has already occurred. Fans will enjoy the humorous homespun wisdom of the BFFs as they cause their usual havoc while seeking evidence to prove their theory that their American idol is no stinking killer. Sisters Cash provide a delightful tale that will have amused fans humming I Can't Make You Love Me, but I Can Make You Leave. Harriet Klausner