I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life

I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life

by Gregg A. Ten Elshof
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Think you've ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. / Think you've never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. / “Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily… See more details below

Overview

Think you've ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. / Think you've never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. / “Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily self-deceived. Most provocatively, he suggests this is not all bad! While naming its temptations, Ten Elshof also offers a 'strange celebration' of self-deception as a gracious gift. In the tradition of Dallas Willard, I Told Me So is a wonderful example of philosophy serving spiritual discipline. A marvelous, accessible and, above all, wise book.”— James K. A. Smith / Calvin College / author of The Devil Reads Derrida / “In this wise, well-crafted work Ten Elshof helps us to identify, evaluate, and respond to our own self-deceptive strategies, as he probes — with occasional self-deprecation and unavoidable humor — the bottomless mysteries of the human heart. His reflections on interpersonal self-deception and 'groupthink' are especially helpful. To tell me the truth, I'm glad I read this book. You will be too — I promise.”— David Naugle / Dallas Baptist University / author of Reordered Love, Reordered Lives / “Ten Elshof's discussions are erudite, biblical, searching, and laced with soul-restoring wisdom. All of this together means that this book is solidly pastoral. What it brings to us is appropriate to individuals, but it especially belongs in the context of small groups and local congregations.”— Dallas Willard (from the foreword)

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Ten Elshof (philosophy, Biola Univ.; Introspection Vindicated) writes here with the subtlety one would expect from his vocation; his methodical and understated book takes on the difficult problem of self-deception (most usually, an artificially elevated sense of self-worth) as both a danger to authentic Christian spirituality and an opportunity for reform, death to self, and true growth. Not all readers will be equal to Ten Elshof's challenge, though one wishes we all were. VERDICT This ultimately uplifting but difficult work is best suited for the mainstream Protestant or Catholic reader and, as such, is strongly recommended.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780802864116
Publisher:
Eerdmans, William B. Publishing Company
Publication date:
06/22/2009
Pages:
160
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.60(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >