Icy Blue Descent

Icy Blue Descent

4.2 13
by Jc Simmons
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

To the hard-boiled story of violence and death, J.C. Simmons has brought substance and depth of characterization. It is often said that he follows in the tradition of Kenneth Millar and John D. MacDonald, but Simmons has actually broken new ground. His novels have a social range and moral dimension that, in combination with a striking prose style and first person…  See more details below

Overview

To the hard-boiled story of violence and death, J.C. Simmons has brought substance and depth of characterization. It is often said that he follows in the tradition of Kenneth Millar and John D. MacDonald, but Simmons has actually broken new ground. His novels have a social range and moral dimension that, in combination with a striking prose style and first person narrative drive, provide the reader with a rewarding experience. In this new and moving novel, Jay Leicester, Simmons' celebrated Mississippi Aviation Consultant/Private Investigator, is hired by a young woman to find her sister. What appears to be an ordinary matter of a missing person is suddenly magnified, as Leicester plunges into the world of high finance, drug dealers, and murder. He ranges from Mississippi to Miami to islands in the Bahamas, tracking men and women who are pursuing the fast buck in the drug trade, and comes close to an icy blue descent into death.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780595227730
Publisher:
iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date:
05/10/2002
Pages:
172
Product dimensions:
5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.40(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Icy Blue Descent 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
NanuNanu More than 1 year ago
What I'm finding after reading several of the Jay Leicester mysteries, is that I really enjoy the different settings. In this one (the electra file), a portion of the story is set in the Bahamas, a place I visited many moons ago, island hopping in a private plane. The author recreates the setting perfectly, makes me yearn to return someday to visit. One of Mr. Simmons' other books I read is set partially in Aspen, Co. Made me want to visit there as well. Good story, expert dialog, colorful characters, and beautiful settings makes this book well worthwhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, lots of twists and turns with a big surprise twist at the end. Really exciting.
Deloskyy More than 1 year ago
Loved it! I'm hooked on JC Simmons now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The person who gave it only 1 star should have paid more attention reading the excerpt, and got another book. The first few pages were to grab you, I'm sure. Unfortunately these things go on In the drug trade around Miami and other Islands. I felt it was very well written, and look forward to more by this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always appreciate a good mystery or detective story, and this one did not disappoint. It's easy to understand the characters, and Simmons does a good job capturing the settings and drama.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well developed characters and story. Superb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good but too much detail
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good main charactor, fast pace and a great twist at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 137 page book starts off with several men raping a young woman. The next chapter begins with the statement beautiful woman should not be treated rudely and implies if a woman is ugly or of average looks, she deserves to be ignored or mistreated. This made me angry on both counts. I have read other books by this author and never thought he was a sexual bigot. I stopped reading at this point, I will not read, nor recommend by this author ever again. For adults, mystery, private detective, avation book. AD