Icy Blue Descent

( 1 )

Overview

To the hard-boiled story of violence and death, J.C. Simmons has brought substance and depth of characterization. It is often said that he follows in the tradition of Kenneth Millar and John D. MacDonald, but Simmons has actually broken new ground. His novels have a social range and moral dimension that, in combination with a striking prose style and first person narrative drive, provide the reader with a rewarding experience. In this new and moving novel, Jay Leicester, Simmons' celebrated Mississippi Aviation ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (3) from $11.47   
  • New (2) from $11.47   
  • Used (1) from $57.99   

Overview

To the hard-boiled story of violence and death, J.C. Simmons has brought substance and depth of characterization. It is often said that he follows in the tradition of Kenneth Millar and John D. MacDonald, but Simmons has actually broken new ground. His novels have a social range and moral dimension that, in combination with a striking prose style and first person narrative drive, provide the reader with a rewarding experience. In this new and moving novel, Jay Leicester, Simmons' celebrated Mississippi Aviation Consultant/Private Investigator, is hired by a young woman to find her sister. What appears to be an ordinary matter of a missing person is suddenly magnified, as Leicester plunges into the world of high finance, drug dealers, and murder. He ranges from Mississippi to Miami to islands in the Bahamas, tracking men and women who are pursuing the fast buck in the drug trade, and comes close to an icy blue descent into death.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780595227730
  • Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
  • Publication date: 5/10/2002
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 170
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    What I'm finding after reading several of the Jay Leicester myst

    What I'm finding after reading several of the Jay Leicester mysteries, is that I really enjoy the different settings. In this one (the electra file), a portion of the story is set in the Bahamas, a place I visited many moons ago, island hopping in a private plane. The author recreates the setting perfectly, makes me yearn to return someday to visit. One of Mr. Simmons' other books I read is set partially in Aspen, Co. Made me want to visit there as well. Good story, expert dialog, colorful characters, and beautiful settings makes this book well worthwhile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)