×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I'd Kill for That
     

I'd Kill for That

4.0 2
by Marcia Talley (Editor), Linda Fairstein, Lisa Gardner, Rita Mae Brown, Gayle Lynds
 

See All Formats & Editions

Thirteen award-winning female mystery and crime writers present an exciting, clever, and suspenseful serial mystery in the tradition of Naked Came the Phoenix and Naked Came the Manatee. Edited by award-winning author Marcia Talley, I'd Kill for That has an origjnal storyline, an unforgettable colorful cast of characters-and exhibits the

Overview

Thirteen award-winning female mystery and crime writers present an exciting, clever, and suspenseful serial mystery in the tradition of Naked Came the Phoenix and Naked Came the Manatee. Edited by award-winning author Marcia Talley, I'd Kill for That has an origjnal storyline, an unforgettable colorful cast of characters-and exhibits the extraordinary talent behind some of the best authors today.

WHEN DEALING WITH THE RICH...

On the banks of the scenic Truxton River, nestled in rolling woodlands just minutes away from our nation's capital, lies Gryphon Gate, a premier gated community. But tempers flare and tension grows when someone decides to build a 300-unit condominium development on an adjoining tract of land.

BE CAREFUL WHO YOU CROSS.

The Gryphon Gate town meeting disintegrates into a free-for-all as environmentalists, developers, residents and the media clash. Then the violence turns even uglier-a body is discovered lying face down in a sandtrap off the sixth hole. Called in to head the investigation, Police Captain Diane Robards is thwarted at every turn as she discovers that behind the elaborate landscaping and elegant doorways, in the privacy of bedrooms, yachts' cabins, clubrooms, and saunas, lie closely guarded secrets...

"Each chapter flows smoothly into the next so that it feels like one author wrote this tale. Marcia Talley and her dozen cohorts deserve kudos for this successful project."

-Midwest Book Review

"A thoroughly enjoyable tale."

-Booklist

*A percentage of the profits from this book is being donated to breast cancer research.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
I'd Kill for That: A Serial Novel, edited by Marcia Talley (Naked Came the Phoenix), combines the talents of 13 top female writers, among them Rita Mae Brown, Linda Fairstein, Kathy Reichs and Jennifer Crusie, in a diverting tale of murder among the social elite at a gated waterfront community outside Washington, D.C. A percentage of the royalties will go to support breast cancer research. Agent, James Vines. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Thirteen female authors pool their talents in this round-robin tale of murder at an exclusive gated community on the Chesapeake Bay. Gryphon Gate's designed to be perfect, so it's no wonder that it features the perfect mayor (developer Henry Drysdale), the perfect bitch (his scheming ex-wife Vanessa Smart-Drysdale, plotting her own neighboring development), the perfect adulterer (Rev. Dr. Peter Armbruster), and the perfect victim (sociologist/snoop Dr. Sigmund Vormeister). Launched by Gayle Lynds, these figures and their upstairs/downstairs neighbors and menials variously bob, drift, and drown in subsequent chapters most notable for their high body count and nonstop stream of revelations about absolutely everyone, darling. Each contributor plants the seeds of skullduggery and suspicion so generously and harvests the earlier crop so conscientiously that the story miraculously avoids the besetting sin of such productions: contradiction and incoherence. On the downside, the endless cocktail-party chatter prevents any dominant character from emerging-there's not much rooting interest even in scheming Vanessa or the chief investigator, Captain Diane Robards-and except for a whiff of Kathy Reichs's trademark forensics, Julie Smith's bright humor, and Anne Perry's psychological ruminations, there's not much individuality as you move from chapter to chapter either. Top honors go to Lynds for her effortless kickoff. The co-conspirators are rounded out by Rita Mae Brown, Lisa Gardner, Linda Fairstein, Kay Hooper, Heather Graham, Jennifer Crusie, Tina Wainscott, Katherine Neville, and editor Talley. Agent: Jimmy Vines
From the Publisher
"Each chapter flows smoothly into the next so that it feels like one author wrote this tale. Marcia Talley and her dozen cohorts deserve kudos for this successful project." —Midwest Book Review

"A thoroughly enjoyable tale." —Booklist

"A diverting tale of murder among the social elite..." —Publishers Weekly

"Each contributor plants the seeds of skullduggery and suspicion so generously and harvests the earlier copr so conscientiously that the story miraculously avoids the besetting sin of such productions: contradiction and incoherence." —Kirkus

"A spicy, witty whodunit. —Baltimore Sun

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312290573
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
05/01/2004
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
256
Product dimensions:
6.34(w) x 9.58(h) x 0.92(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

GAYLE LYNDS is the New York Times bestselling author of The Coil and Masquerade. She also co-authored The Paris Option with Robert Ludlum.

RITA MAE BROWN, the author of the bestselling Mrs. Murphy mysteries, is an Emmy-nominated screenwriter and poet.

MARCIA TALLEY is the Agatha and Anthony-award-winning author of the Hannah Ives mysteries, including the most recent, In Death's Shadow. She is the editor of I'd Kill for That.

LISA GARDNER is the New York Times bestselling author of multiple suspense novels, including The Survivors Club, soon to be a TV movie on CBS.

LINDA FAIRSTEIN, is the author of the New York Times bestselling Alexandra Cooper series of crime novels, including most recently, The Kills.

KAY HOOPER is the New York Times bestselling author of the Noah Bishop/Special Crimes Unit series, most recently the hardcover bestseller Sense of Evil.

KATHY REICHS, a forensic anthropologist, is the author of the New York Times bestselling Temperance Brennan novels, most recently Bare Bones and, forthcoming, Monday Mourning.

JULIE SMITH, a former reporter and Edgar Award-winning novelist, is the author of two mystery series set in New Orleans, featuring Detective Skip Langdon and P.I. Talba Wallis.

i0

HEATHER GRAHAM (pseudonym Shannon Drake) is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over one hundred novels, the latest being Dead on the Dance Floor and Picture Me Dead.

JENNIFER CRUSIE is the multi-award-winning New York Times bestselling author of Crazy for You, Fast Women, Faking It, and most recently, Bet Me.

TINA WAINSCOTT is the award-winning author of Unforgivable, Now You See Me, and I'll be Watching You.

ANNE PERRY is the New York Times bestselling author of Seven Dials, No Graves as Yet, and Death of a Stranger.

KATHERINE NEVILLE is the USA Today and internationally bestselling author of The Eight and The Magic Circle. Her books have been translated into more than twenty languages.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I'd Kill for That 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gryphon Gate is an affluent gated community in the rich part of Maryland. This waterfront property of mini-mansions is home to senators, industrialists and pop icons and all of them have secrets they would kill to keep. One night at least four of the residents receive a fax telling them to be on the sixth tee of the golf course. Embedded in the messages is the name of a person that frightens each recipient so they are forced to comply................................... When one of the ladies arrives she finds the body of one of the residents, a harmless nerdy sociology professor who was the confidant of many of the residents but also wrote down whenever he was told or observed. Three other murders quickly follow and the police don¿t have a clue as to who did it because almost every resident had a motive and the opportunity to do the deed. The only fact that the police are sure of is one person did the killings..................................... I¿D KILL FOR THAT is a collaborative serial novel in which one writer pens a chapter and another author crafts the next chapter. This police procedural is written by twelve female mystery and suspense notables that include Rita Mae Brown, Kathy Reichs, Anne Perry and Kay Hooper. The community of Gryphon Gate is a miniature Peyton Place complete with bed-hopping, criminal activity and a man who thinks and behaves like a werewolf at the time of the full moon. Each chapter flows smoothly into the next so that it feels like one author wrote this tale. Marcia Talley and her dozen cohorts deserve kudos for this successful project............................ Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having read and loved the first serial novel Talley edited, Naked Came The Phoenix, I had high hopes for this book. Unfortunately I did not find a single protagonist to root for, the book didn't make me laugh, and the story didn't hold my interest enough. One of the scenes in particular was unbelievable, even assuming one enters the story suspending disbelief. With so many bestselling authors working together, I expected a more engaging story.