Identity Theft

Identity Theft

4.0 1
by Anna Davies
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The third title in our exciting relaunch of Point Horror! Hayley is going to have the best year ever. After years of careful planning, she's ready to serve as student council president AND editor-in-chief of the newspaper. Ivy League, here she comes! However, just before student council elections, someone creates a fake facebook profile for Hayley and starts

Overview

The third title in our exciting relaunch of Point Horror! Hayley is going to have the best year ever. After years of careful planning, she's ready to serve as student council president AND editor-in-chief of the newspaper. Ivy League, here she comes! However, just before student council elections, someone creates a fake facebook profile for Hayley and starts posting inappropriate photos and incriminating updates. It must be the work of a highly skilled Photoshopper, but the attention to detail is scary. The embarrassing photos of "Hayley" in her bathing suit reveal a birthmark on her back--a birth mark Hayley has never shown in public. . . . The situation escalates until Hayley's mother reveals some shocking information. Hayley isn't an only child: She has a twin sister who was adopted by a different family. And that's not all. Soon, Hayley discovers that her long-lost sister isn't just playing a prank--she's plotting to take over Hayley's life . . . by any means necessary.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 8–10—Hayley Westin knows exactly what she wants from life. As an overachiever who is determined to land a prestigious college scholarship, the high school senior doesn't have time for friends, sports, dating, or social media. So when she discovers that a fake Facebook account has been created in her name, she's convinced that someone is out to ruin her chances for the scholarship. However, as the Facebook posts get increasingly intrusive, she begins to fear that these incriminating photos and comments will damage much more than her reputation. This new release is part of the resurrection of the early-1990s "Point Horror" series (Scholastic), and, as such, will appeal to fans of R.L. Stine, Caroline Cooney, and Lois Duncan. Discriminating readers will notice the flaws in logic, repetitive phrasing, stereotypical characters, and predictable ending, but enthusiasts will overlook the weaknesses and appreciate the fast-paced mystery and entertaining plot. Despite its abundant stylistic problems, this title will be a popular choice, especially among reluctant readers.—Leigh Collazo, Ed Willkie Middle School, Fort Worth, TX

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545576581
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
04/30/2013
Sold by:
Scholastic, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
224
Sales rank:
988,029
File size:
778 KB
Age Range:
12 - 18 Years

Meet the Author


Anna Davies is the author of WRECKED and a Senior Editor at Cosmopolitan Magazine. She lives in Brooklyn.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Identity Theft 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
By: Anna Davies Published By: Point Age Recommended: Teen - YA - Adult Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Rating: 4 Book Blog For: GMTA Review: "Identity Theft" by Anna Davis was a read with action, many surprises and in the end a suspenseful thriller mystery read. Even thought I found the plot of this novel somewhat predictable it still was a written well by this author. I think the teens and young adults may identify more with the read. There will be a lots of twist in "Identity Theft" that can keep your interest in this read. We find Hayley is a good student who has been studying hard to make her academic excellence to prepare her for major scholarship for college. With all this "will keep her mother from having to worry about her finances. So, this is why she take her future very seriously and has totally given up on social events." However, while Hayley is trying to meet her dreams, she is suddenly be harassed due to a 'online ID' that claims that she is not who she says she is. There will be picture of her in places she has never been. What is up with all of this? As Hayley tries to find out who is trying to ruin her, she finds out she has a twin and this will be where I will say you must pick up "Identity Theft" to see how this will all come out. Be ready for some intriguing things that will happen. Some what predictable storyline Yes, but who would have believed all of this! Would I recommend? Yes!