If You Like True Blood...: Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

If You Like True Blood...: Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

by Dave Thompson
     
 

(If You Like). If You Like True Blood... is a popular history of vampires in classical and popular culture, by an author who has been reading and watching such things since high school, and who seriously believes The Hunger is one of the best things David Bowie has ever done. With chapters embracing silent movies and modern erotica, mist-shrouded myth, and gothic rock… See more details below

Overview

(If You Like). If You Like True Blood... is a popular history of vampires in classical and popular culture, by an author who has been reading and watching such things since high school, and who seriously believes The Hunger is one of the best things David Bowie has ever done. With chapters embracing silent movies and modern erotica, mist-shrouded myth, and gothic rock, If You Like True Blood... transports the reader from the moss-drenched wilds of Louisiana to the mountain haunts of Transylvania, via introductions to some of history and literature's most accomplished bloodsuckers. More than 200 new-to-you stories, movies, adventures, and eccentricities are staked out in the sunlight. Exclusive interview material stirs fresh plasma into the pot, and selections from the author's own collection of vampirabilia are among the many illustrations. Anne Rice, Peter Cushing, Sookie Stackhouse, Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Marvel Comics, Bram Stoker's Dracula-all flit not-so-silently through these pages; Vlad the Impaler, the Countess Bathory, Mina Harker, and Roman Polanski. too. In addition, authoritative appendices offer up a guide to best movie, TV, and literary vampires out there. If You Like True Blood... may not grant you eternal life, but it knows plenty of people who can.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780879108113
Publisher:
Hal Leonard Corporation
Publication date:
06/11/2013
Series:
If You Like Series
Pages:
232
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >