If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair [NOOK Book]

Overview

HOLISTIC CARE FOR NATURAL HAIR!!

Thanks to Dr. Phoenyx Austin, a physician and natural hair guru, we now have a fabulous book that explains how to grow and maintain healthy and longer afro-textured hair. And with a head of gorgeous natural hair herself, Dr. Phoenyx proves that she's not only talking the ...
See more details below
If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

HOLISTIC CARE FOR NATURAL HAIR!!

Thanks to Dr. Phoenyx Austin, a physician and natural hair guru, we now have a fabulous book that explains how to grow and maintain healthy and longer afro-textured hair. And with a head of gorgeous natural hair herself, Dr. Phoenyx proves that she's not only talking the talk, she's walking the walk!
In this book, you will learn:
• How afro-textured hair grows and why it's unique from other hair types
• How to stop hair breakage and hair loss that plagues many women with afro-textured hair
• How to best use nutrition and other health-based principles to maximize hair growth potential
• How to develop a life-long and flexible hair regimen based in holistic hair care
• How to leverage the power of Ayurveda, an ancient form of alternative medicine that has helped women grow beautiful hair for thousands of years

In truth, If You Love It, It Will Grow is more than a book, it's a philosophy! There is a great interconnectedness between how women feel about their hair and how they feel about themselves. Growing healthy, longer and beautiful natural hair is absolutely within your reach. It's all about giving your hair what it needs- that extra bit of TLC. If You Love It, It Will Grow!

Praise for Dr. Phoenyx Austin

"If You Love It, It Will Grow isn't simply a clever title...it's the truth! I hope that you enjoy If You Love It, It Will Grow as much as I have and that Dr. Phoenyx's expert advice is as good to your afro-textured hair as it has been to mine!" - Jamilah Lemieux. Editor, EBONY.com

“A wonderful addition to natural hair and I highly recommend that you check it out!” Natural Chica (aka Mae)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014077835
  • Publisher: Phoenyx Austin
  • Publication date: 1/31/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 61,862
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Dr. Phoenyx Austin is a physician, author and entrepreneur who regularly blogs on fitness and women's lifestyle topics. Dr. Phoenyx has been featured in countless publications, lifestyle e-zines, beauty blogs and online magazines such as EBONY and Essence. She has also been featured on popular syndicated television and radio shows on networks such as ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, and Radio One.

For more information about Dr. Phoenyx Austin, visit her site: www.DrPhoenyx.com
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great info!!!!

    Oh my goodness I love this book and I am so thankful that this information is now available to help me with my hair growth. If you are like me, I want long beautiful hair. My hair is my accessory, my hair adds to my beauty and I have been trying to grow my hair and ended up spoiling it like crazy.

    I love this book, why do I even love this book, because it has and is giving me a guideline for me to work on having a life-time hair affair. I like the way it has been written, getting the personal story from the author right at the very beginning and hearing her struggles and knowing that she was able to get the hair she wanted (And I can see from her pictures and I want me some of that hair) gives me hope. I also enjoyed the way she explained the structure of afro-textured hair and how it generally work. And then, oh my goodness, and then she goes on to gives you the information, the guidelines, the myths and how the different products work on afro-textured hair.

    She touches on a whole ranges of products use from, vitamins, to oils to ayurvedic products. She gives me options and a choices for me to make. She concentrates on products to use on afro-textured hair and I felt even though I have natural hair if I decide to relax my hair, I can still use this information, because at the end of it all its about afro-textured hair. She even gives some of the regimens she uses. Overall I liked reading this book, it was easy to follow and now I am going back to mark the sections I liked and come up with my own regimen.

    Thanks Dr P.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Best Book for Natural Hair...

    I have ready a large amount of books, blogs, etc. regarding natural hair do's and dont's... This is by far the best book I've read by far! Instead of receiving some high level overview that basically covers the topic, it gets right down to the nitty gritty. The book was thorough, well thought out and understandable. I wish I had this book in October 2009 when I decided enough was enough and went on my natural journey. Dr. Austin ROCKS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Empowering

    Having been diagnosed with early alopecia, I tried many hair growth products including hair transplant with little to no results. Needless to say, I came to the realization that I needed to go natural but hesitated because I lacked the knowledge and the courage. However, after reading Dr. Austin’s book, I now feel empowered with the knowledge to finally go natural. In her book, Dr. Austin sets aside the sometimes confusing jargon frequently found in some books and takes you on a personal journey of the transition process. But most important, she teaches you “how to” care for your hair from the inside out. If you are looking for a book written with authority and sensitivity on the topic of hair growth, this is the book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a holistic approach to growing and caring for healthy beautiful natural hair from the inside out. Dr. Austin, thank you for sharing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

    This is the BEST book I have ever read on Black hair care. As a person that practices holistic living and looks to hair care advice from reputable professionals, I must say that I am very impressed with Dr. Austin's expertise on Black hair care. Furthermore, I was even more impressed with her stunning head of hair. I truly enjoyed this book and it's very rare that you find health professionals that can communicate with readers (let alone patients) on a very personable level. This doctor does just that. She approaches the subject of Black hair care from a professional, as well as a personal perspective. Her writing style is down to earth and even beautiful at times (especially when she talks about her previous hair and self-esteem struggles). I especially loved how she delved deep into topics like alternative medicine treatments and nutritional supplements for hair growth. I would absolutely recommend this book to any and everyone who is looking for a comprehensive guide to growing healthy and long Black hair!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Fantastic Resource!

    I bought this book to help me figure out how to take care of my natural hair. Her system is simple, and easy to follow; it gives you a lot of options. I found the right olis for my hair, and my curls are hydrated, healthy and happy. This book is excellent; I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I should have read this book first! Unfortunately, I read a dif

    I should have read this book first! Unfortunately, I read a different book first and was left with more questions than answers. Dr. Austin has given us so much practical "take away" value. This is not just a book for women with natural hair. This is a book for anyone who desires to have healthy long hair. Whether you have chemically processed hair or natural hair...you will find valuable information here. This book covers the whole ball of wax; how to nurture the body, the mind and the soul for overall good health. Dr. Austin isn't just speaking to our hair. I anxiously look forward to her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Love this book!!

    This book was very informative and insightful, written from Dr. Phoenyx Austin's personal experiences with natural hair. She breaks the information into easy to follow categories so that you can really understand the differences between hair products. I have added this book to my reference category as I am still learning about how to take care of my natural hair, and I encourage anyone whether natural or thinking of becoming natural to get this book, you'll love it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A great resource

    I loved this book! The whole philosophy of loving your god given hair is the best approach! I bought the book for information on Aryuvedic hair care, but i got so much more from it! A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommend this book. I love the hair recipe.

    I agree If you love it, It will grow. Great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)