In Shining Armor

In Shining Armor

5.0 1
by Elliott James
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


This fairy godmother's got claws.

When someone kidnaps the last surviving descendant of the Grandmaster of the Knights Templar, it's bad news. When the baby is the key to the tenuous alliance between a large werewolf pack and the knights, it's even worse news. They're at each other's throats before they've even begun to look for baby Constance.

But

Overview


This fairy godmother's got claws.

When someone kidnaps the last surviving descendant of the Grandmaster of the Knights Templar, it's bad news. When the baby is the key to the tenuous alliance between a large werewolf pack and the knights, it's even worse news. They're at each other's throats before they've even begun to look for baby Constance.

But whoever kidnapped Constance didn't count on one thing: she's also the goddaughter of John Charming. Modern-day descendant of a long line of famous dragon slayers, witch finders, and wrong righters. John may not have any experience being a parent, but someone is about to find out that he can be one mean mother...

IN SHINING ARMOR is the fourth novel in a series which gives a new twist to the Prince Charming tale.

Pax Arcana
Charming
Daring
Fearless
In Shining Armor
Legend Has It

Short Fiction in the Pax Arcana world:
Charmed I'm Sure
Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls
Pushing Luck
Surreal Estate
Dog-Gone
Bulls Rush In
Talking Dirty

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"With each new chapter in his outstanding Pax Arcana series, James ups his game in both excellent character development and world expansion. If you love wisecracks in the face of ultimate danger, then John Charming is definitely your man!"—RT Book Reviews on In Shining Armor (Top Pick! 4.5 stars)

"The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne -- pick up Elliot James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too."—Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series

"Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining."—Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of Hounded on Charming

"I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in."—New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire on Charming

"James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into."—Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author on Charming

"In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds...This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco."—Booklist on Charming

"This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanan McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy."—Library Journal (Starred review) on Charming

"Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways...James's reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast-paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!"—RT Book Reviews on Charming

Library Journal
04/15/2016
As the last surviving family member of the Grandmaster of the Knights Templar, infant Constance Lamplighter's life is already deemed precious. And with her kidnapping, the fragile alliance between werewolves and knights is threatened. Constance, however, has one ally that her abductors did not count on: her godfather, John Charming, a former knight who comes from a long line of monster hunters. When it is revealed that a deeper plan has taken root, one that affects the entire order, John must decide if his oath to the knights is worth keeping or if his freedom should come no matter the cost. VERDICT This Prince Charming may not be royal, but he lives up to his name with his deeds and not a small bit of wry humor. James's fourth book (after Timeless) continues the exploits of this knight-turned-werewolf. Fans of the works of Jim Butcher and Kevin Herne should find this an appealing addition to their bookshelves.—KC

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316302333
Publisher:
Orbit
Publication date:
04/26/2016
Series:
Pax Arcana Series , #4
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
82,214
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

An army brat and gypsy scholar, ELLIOTT JAMES is currently living in the Blue Ridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

In Shining Armor 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
PollyBennett 23 days ago
What a book! I love the title and how it plays in the plot. This series has it all. Simply wonderful.