Incommunicado
  • Alternative view 1 of Incommunicado
  • Alternative view 2 of Incommunicado

Incommunicado

4.6 3
by Keith O'Shaughnessy
     
 


Poetry. "Keith O'Shaughnessy has composed INCOMMUNICADO with extraordinary thoroughness. Sensuous images, swelling syntax, and haunting recurrences are here organized into a set of varied patterns at once intricate, gorgeous, and rigid. INCOMMUNICADO arranges its paradoxical shards—art, appetite, beauty, decay—into a lush and austere design. I know of…  See more details below

Overview


Poetry. "Keith O'Shaughnessy has composed INCOMMUNICADO with extraordinary thoroughness. Sensuous images, swelling syntax, and haunting recurrences are here organized into a set of varied patterns at once intricate, gorgeous, and rigid. INCOMMUNICADO arranges its paradoxical shards—art, appetite, beauty, decay—into a lush and austere design. I know of no book like it."—Rachel Hadas

"INCOMMUNICADO, yes. But not in the way one might first guess. The poems in Keith O'Shaughnessy's collection are ... accessible and memorable, full of vivid images ... These are poems—in the tradition of Augustine, Lao Tzu, Christian mystics, Zen—about the ineffable, that which must be spoken to but cannot be spoken of."—H. L. Hix

"Keith O'Shaughnessy's book of poems INCOMMUNICADO is a marvel of craft and passion ... These poems are bold, they are well made, and they dare the reader to drop everything and join the dance."—Ifeanyi Menkiti

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780983451303
Publisher:
Grolier Book Shop
Publication date:
04/28/2011
Pages:
88
Sales rank:
1,149,422
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.30(d)

What People are saying about this

H.L. Hix
Incommunicado, yes. But not in the way one might first guess. The poems in Keith O'Shaughnessy's collection are...accessible and memorable, full of vivid images...These are poems —in the tradition of Augustine, Lao Tzu, Christian mystics, Zen—about the ineffable, that which must be spoken to but cannot be spoken of.
Ifeanyi Menkiti
Keith O'Shaughnessy's book of poems Incommunicado is a marvel of craft and passion...These poems are bold, they are well made, and they dare the reader to drop everything and join the dance.
Rachel Hadas
Keith O'Shaughnessy has composed Incommunicado with extraordinary thoroughness. Sensuous images, swelling syntax, and haunting recurrences are here organized into a set of varied patterns at once intricate, gorgeous, and rigid. Incommunicado arranges its pardoxical shards—art, appetite, beauty, decay—into a lush and austere design. I know of no book like it.

Meet the Author


Keith O'Shaughnessy teaches English at Camden County College in southern New Jersey. His poems have appeared in Columbia Magazine, Measure, and Able Muse. He is also the author of three chapbooks—Carnaval, The Devil's Party, and Snegurochka—all published by Pudding House Publications. INCOMMUNICADO (Grolier Poetry Press, 2011) is his first full-length collection. He lives in Princeton.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Incommunicado 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Mata_H More than 1 year ago
A transfixing work --- slashing color and steely physicality with bracing measure, yet deftly teasing through the tenuous filaments stretched betwixt the hearts desire, the mind's unease, and the soul's ache...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's not often that you pick up a book of poetry, turn randomly to a page, and find yourself standing in the same spot an hour later, aware of the time only due to the number of bumps and shoves of those winding past you in the aisle.  How these poems, so angular and raw, drew out the parts of me i  secretly deny and attempt to defy  pierced my calm.  
Christa_Bota More than 1 year ago
A rarely found synthesis of essentially spare verse that sates a carnivore's palate.