Intermediate Robot Building / Edition 2

Intermediate Robot Building / Edition 2

4.5 2
by David Cook
     
 

ISBN-10: 1430227540

ISBN-13: 9781430227540

Pub. Date: 05/27/2010

Publisher: Apress

For readers of Robot Building for Beginners (Apress, 2002), welcome to the next level.

Intermediate Robot Building offers the kind of real-world knowledge that only an experienced robot builder can offer -- the kind of knowledge beginners usually have to learn through mistakes. In this book, you'll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy

…  See more details below

Overview

For readers of Robot Building for Beginners (Apress, 2002), welcome to the next level.

Intermediate Robot Building offers the kind of real-world knowledge that only an experienced robot builder can offer -- the kind of knowledge beginners usually have to learn through mistakes. In this book, you'll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You'll find out what electronic part you should sand. You'll discover how a well-placed switch can help a robot avoid obstacles better than a pair of feelers. And you'll avoid mistakes that can cause a capacitor to explode. Want a robot that can explore rooms, follow lines, or battle opponents in mini-sumo? This book presents step-by-step instructions and circuit and part descriptions so that you can build the robot featured in this book or apply the modules to your own robot designs. Finally, you'll find the complete schematics for Roundabout, a room explorer that requires no programming and uses only off-the-shelf electronics. With Roundabout, you'll use many of the same techniques used by professional robotics engineers -- and you'll experience many of the same challenges and joys they feel when a robot "comes to life." Experience the next level of challenges with Intermediate Robot Building.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781430227540
Publisher:
Apress
Publication date:
05/27/2010
Edition description:
2nd ed. 2010
Pages:
480
Product dimensions:
7.50(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.10(d)

Table of Contents

About the author
About the technical reviewer
Acknowledgments
Preface
Ch. 1Assembling a modular robot1
Ch. 2Comparing two types of homemade motor couplers and common errors to avoid11
Ch. 3Making a fixture and drilling solid rods for a coupler21
Ch. 4Finishing the solid-rod motor coupler43
Ch. 5Building a motor inside a wheel51
Ch. 6Understanding the standards and setup for electronic experiments73
Ch. 7Creating a linear voltage-regulated power supply95
Ch. 8Making robot power supply improvements121
Ch. 9Driving miss motor143
Ch. 10Driving mister motor173
Ch. 11Creating an infrared modulated obstacle, opponent, and wall detector213
Ch. 12Fine-tuning the reflector detector233
Ch. 13Roundabout robot!247
Ch. 14Test driving roundabout285
Ch. 15If I only had a brain309
Ch. 16Building roundabout's daughterboard341
Ch. 17Adding the floor sensor module369
Ch. 18Cooking up some robot stew393
App: Internet references421
Index423

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >