Intermediate Robot Building / Edition 2

Intermediate Robot Building / Edition 2

4.5 2
by David Cook
     
 

ISBN-10: 1430227540

ISBN-13: 9781430227540

Pub. Date: 05/27/2010

Publisher: Apress

For readers of Robot Building for Beginners (Apress, 2002), welcome to the next level.

Intermediate Robot Building offers the kind of real-world knowledge that only an experienced robot builder can offer -- the kind of knowledge beginners usually have to learn through mistakes. In this book, you'll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy

Overview

For readers of Robot Building for Beginners (Apress, 2002), welcome to the next level.

Intermediate Robot Building offers the kind of real-world knowledge that only an experienced robot builder can offer -- the kind of knowledge beginners usually have to learn through mistakes. In this book, you'll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You'll find out what electronic part you should sand. You'll discover how a well-placed switch can help a robot avoid obstacles better than a pair of feelers. And you'll avoid mistakes that can cause a capacitor to explode. Want a robot that can explore rooms, follow lines, or battle opponents in mini-sumo? This book presents step-by-step instructions and circuit and part descriptions so that you can build the robot featured in this book or apply the modules to your own robot designs. Finally, you'll find the complete schematics for Roundabout, a room explorer that requires no programming and uses only off-the-shelf electronics. With Roundabout, you'll use many of the same techniques used by professional robotics engineers -- and you'll experience many of the same challenges and joys they feel when a robot "comes to life." Experience the next level of challenges with Intermediate Robot Building.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781430227540
Publisher:
Apress
Publication date:
05/27/2010
Edition description:
2nd ed. 2010
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
933,693
Product dimensions:
7.50(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.10(d)

Table of Contents

About the Authorxi
About the Technical Reviewerxiii
Acknowledgmentsxv
Prefacexvii
Intended Audiencexviii
Volatile Partsxxi
Safety Rulesxxi
Preferring the Metric Systemxxii
Getting Updates and Seeing What's Newxxii
Chapter 1Assembling a Modular Robot1
Building Modules1
Getting Comfortable with Machining3
Putting It All Together8
Applying Parts and Techniques to Other Robots9
Chapter 2Comparing Two Types of Homemade Motor Couplers and Common Errors to Avoid11
Comparing Two Homemade Coupler Technologies12
Identifying Desired Results in Coupler Drill Holes, Along with Common Errors and Their Effects14
Getting Ready to Make a Solid-Rod Coupler20
Chapter 3Making a Fixture and Drilling Solid Rods for a Coupler21
Gathering Tools and Parts21
Preparing Lengths of Solid Rod for the Couplers22
Making a Coupler Fixture27
Getting the Money Shot37
Drilling the Motor-Shaft and LEGO Axle Coupler Holes38
Examining the Coupler So Far42
Chapter 4Finishing the Solid-Rod Motor Coupler43
Installing the Coupler Setscrew43
Adding the LEGO Axle48
Summary50
Chapter 5Building a Motor Inside a Wheel51
Encountering Danger: Bent Shafts Ahead52
Making a Hub-Adapter Coupler54
Summary72
Chapter 6Understanding the Standards and Setup for Electronic Experiments73
Reading Schematics73
Using Solderless Breadboards84
Understanding Oscilloscope Traces89
Riding the Bandwagon of Modern Electronics89
Summary93
Chapter 7Creating a Linear Voltage-Regulated Power Supply95
Understanding Voltage Regulators95
Understanding Linear Voltage-Regulated Power Supplies96
Heading into Optimizations119
Chapter 8Making Robot Power Supply Improvements121
Bulking Up the Input and Output Capacitors122
Adding Voodoo Capacitors127
Sprinkling with Bypass/Decoupling Capacitors128
Preventing Damage from Short Circuits or Overcurrent131
Preventing Damage from Overvoltage in a Regulated Circuit136
Putting It All Together for a Robust Robot Power Supply140
Chapter 9Driving Miss Motor143
Why a Motor Driver?143
Demonstrating the Four Modes of a Motor146
Driving Simply with a Single Transistor149
Putting the NPN and PNP Motor Drivers Together156
The Classic Bipolar H-Bridge158
Interfacing with the High Side163
Mastering Motor Control171
Chapter 10Driving Mister Motor173
Driving Motors with MOSFETs173
Driving Motors with Chips194
Evaluating Motor Drivers206
Summary211
Chapter 11Creating an Infrared Modulated Obstacle, Opponent, and Wall Detector213
Detecting Modulated Infrared with a Popular Module, or, Another Reason to Hog the Remote Control214
Expanding the Detection Circuit to Include an LED Indicator218
Completing the Reflector Detector Circuit222
Making It Work231
Chapter 12Fine-Tuning the Reflector Detector233
Tuning In 38 KHz233
Limitations of the Reflector Detector242
Getting Ready for a Practical Robot Application246
Chapter 13Roundabout Robot!247
Examining Roundabout248
Roundabout's Circuitry250
Building Roundabout's Body254
Summarizing Roundabout282
Chapter 14Test Driving Roundabout285
Preparing for the Test Drive285
Preparing the Robot and Correcting Minor Glitches291
Evaluating Roundabout's Performance293
Getting Stuck300
Chapter 15If I Only Had a Brain309
Considering the Motorola KX8 Microcontroller As an Example310
Comparing a Microcontroller to a Logic Chip310
Programming a Microcontroller313
Exploring Common Microcontroller Features320
Choosing a Microcontroller335
Graduating Your Robot340
Chapter 16Building Roundabout's Daughterboard341
Converting to a Two-Story Configuration342
Intercepting Signals: Meeting the New Boss358
Expanding Functionality360
Upgrading a Robot368
Chapter 17Adding the Floor Sensor Module369
Sensing Brightness with Photoresistors370
Sensing Brightness with a Photodiode IC378
Following a Line386
Competing in Robot Sumo389
Expanding Possibilities392
Chapter 18Cooking Up Some Robot Stew393
Making Music393
Scaling Up399
Mounting Motors403
Roaming the Solar Terrain412
Standing in a Robot's Shoes for a While418
Thank You419
AppendixInternet References421
Index423

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >