Intervention (Intervention Series #1)

Intervention (Intervention Series #1)

4.2 93
by Terri Blackstock
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Barbara Covington has one more chance to save her daughter from a devastating addiction: staging an intervention. But when eighteen-year-old Emily disappears on the way to drug treatment—and her interventionist is found dead at the airport—Barbara enters her darkest nightmare of all. Barbara and her son set out to find Emily before Detective Kent

Overview

"Barbara Covington has one more chance to save her daughter from a devastating addiction: staging an intervention. But when eighteen-year-old Emily disappears on the way to drug treatment—and her interventionist is found dead at the airport—Barbara enters her darkest nightmare of all. Barbara and her son set out to find Emily before Detective Kent Harlan arrests her for a crime he is sure she committed. Fearing for Emily’s life, Barbara maintains her daughter’s innocence, but does she really know her anymore? Meanwhile, Kent has questions of his own. His gut tells him that this is a case of an addict killing for drugs. But as he gets to know Barbara, he begins to hope he’s wrong about Emily. Fear rises as the mysteries intensify: Did Emily’s obsession with drugs lead her to commit murder—or is she another victim of a cold-blooded killer? In this gripping stand-alone novel of intrigue and suspense, bestselling fiction author Terri Blackstock delivers the up-all-night drama that readers around the world have come to expect from her."

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Prolific suspense author Blackstock (Double Minds) begins with every parent's nightmare: a drug-addicted teenage daughter is dragged to a rehab facility. When the interventionist is found dead and the teen is missing, mother Barbara Covington tries to find her daughter before police can arrest the girl for murder. Short chapters and terse dialogue propel the fast-paced action. It's competent genre work, though the characterizations could go deeper. The villain is somewhat improbable, and the 14-year-old brother of the missing teen is exceptionally clever and poised. But the mother-daughter relationship strikes true emotional notes; the redemptive arc of evangelical Christian fiction is natural and resonant in a story of addiction. Blackstock's many fans will be pleased, and this story will also speak to families dealing with addicted children. (Oct.)
Library Journal
Barbara Covington is a distraught mother trying to save her daughter from her crippling addiction. When she decides to hold an intervention, the interventionist is found dead at the airport, and Barbara's missing daughter becomes the prime suspect. VERDICT Veteran Christian suspense author Blackstock seamlessly interweaves family drama with riveting crime stories. She is clearly one of the best in this genre, and her newest entry maintains her reputation. An absorbing read that will appeal to fans of Brandilyn Collins or Kristen Heitzmann.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780310313168
Publisher:
Zondervan
Publication date:
10/06/2009
Series:
Intervention Novel , #1
Sold by:
Zondervan Publishing
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
70,752
File size:
631 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Terri Blackstock has sold over seven million books worldwide and is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author. She is the award-winning author of InterventionVicious Cycle, and Downfall, as well as such series as Cape Refuge, Newpointe 911, the SunCoast Chronicles, and the Restoration Series. Visit her website at www.terriblackstock.com Facebook: tblackstock Twitter: @terriblackstock

 

 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Intervention (Intervention Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Edge of your seat suspense yet relying on prayer and The Lord for their Strength in the most difficult of times. A mother who does not give up on her daughter and her son right there with her. This is an amazing story and shows the dedication of certain people who really do love what they do. You will be hooked almost from the beginning as I was with my curst book from her. Spellbinding, heart wrenching, loving. i recommend it to all teen to grandparents. I love Terri Blackstock novels for she keeps three steps ahead of you and you never know what is on the next page turn. I read this book in an evening because I needed to know what was at the end even though I knew there were two more books to follow which knowing the author I had also treated myself and purchased them all together. I was not going to have to wait to see what happens next. Thank The Lord for eReaders. Terri is an amazing author. If you liked this book read the other two that go with this series as well as try her other books. I promise you, you will never be dis appointed. Keep them coming Terri Blackstock
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Terri's work since her Restoration series. Intervention did not let me down! I couldnt put it down, not even from my hospital bed!!! Started it on my Nook and finished it on my cell phone. Now THAT's devotion! Terri has a way of making the reader feel like they are in the middle of the action.
RebaTheWriter More than 1 year ago
Terri Blackstock gets better with each book. Intervention is an amazing story. I highly recomend it to anyone but particularly those who are struggling with the addiction of a loved one. Way to go Terri!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While there are some Christian undertones the book is amazing and suspenseful. Well written and keeps you on the edge of your seat! I can't wait to read the next book in this series...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was soooo good. I honestly couldnt put it down. I highly recommend it! Hands down best book I ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reminded me a lot of our family struggles with my brother. Beginning starts out a bit slow. The book got better towards the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terri is my favorite author. This book was gripping. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire book. I cant wait to read the rest of this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, Intervention. Was exciting! Im saying this because as im reading this book its like, a movie in my head. The mysteries are well explained and alot of people are like this in our world. You jump to conclusions about some of the clues and your in one person side then another! Its awesome. I reccomend this book to everyone who loves mysteries. I LOVED this book and you deffidently will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
Very well written by someone who obviously understands the world in which the story takes place. The affect drugs have on a family and how they might combat the addiction is shown in heartbreaking detail. I have known families who have sent their children to an intervention rehabilitation center and feel for the pain and struggle they face in doing so. The murder mystery adds a good dose of thrilling suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Terri Blackstock since her first book came out, and this one is definitely one of her best. I would recommend it to anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this as a gift for a friend because it was on her wish list. She has not finished it but is happy with what she's read so far. I'm borrowing it when she's done