Into the Shadows, a young adult paranormal novel

Into the Shadows, a young adult paranormal novel

4.0 27
by Karly Kirkpatrick
     
 

***Darkness Rising, Book 2 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, and After Dawn, Book 3 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, are now available! ***

Fans of Heroes and X-Men, as well as The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this dystopian paranormal thriller.

Being different might just get you killed.

Paivi Anderson's perfect life unravels before…  See more details below

Overview

***Darkness Rising, Book 2 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, and After Dawn, Book 3 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, are now available! ***

Fans of Heroes and X-Men, as well as The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this dystopian paranormal thriller.

Being different might just get you killed.

Paivi Anderson's perfect life unravels before her eyes, as forces beyond her control cause the very fabric of her country to crumble. Fear and terror reign, forcing neighbor to turn against neighbor. Being a freshman in high school and trying to hide her powers is hard enough without having to wonder who she can trust.

Into the Shadows is a 65,000 word full novel.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940011912733
Publisher:
DarkSide Publishing
Publication date:
10/19/2010
Series:
Into the Shadows Trilogy , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
278
Sales rank:
629,221
File size:
718 KB

Meet the Author

Karly Kirkpatrick is a teacher by day and a writer by night. Her list of titles include her YA novels, Into the Shadows, Darkness Rising, After Dawn, The Green, Bloody Little Secrets, a romance novella London Calling, and a selection of short stories, including EIGHT and Negatives. You can find out more about Karly on her website: www.karlykirkpatrick.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Into the Shadows, a young adult paranormal novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though I don't have much experience with YA fiction, I really enjoyed Into the Shadows. The characters, even the ones with "special powers" were relatable and real. I was sucked into the book immediately, with a very intriguing and shocking first chapter. The book did not slow down from that point; it kept moving at a quick and exciting pace. Into the Shadows was very entertaining and very dark at the same time. I can't wait to see the next installment of the trilogy - I'm at the edge of my seat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and the sequel! I cant wait to read the 3rd book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read from Karly Kirkpatrick. Her ability to transplant you into this city, into the turmoil that descended upon them is amazing. She has a grip on the paranormal - making it seem very normal for people to have special powers. I appreciated the struggle they were going through with being singled out - especially knowing that they indeed haad done no wrong. Phenominal characters - phenominal storyline! Cannot wait until the next book comes out - hopefully later this year!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
annie_allene More than 1 year ago
The end ruined this book though it was weak to begin with. When i got to the last page i thought there had been a mistake, honestly, that the second half of the book had somehow disapeared. I mean what happened to her parents and friends there was just nothing to the book. The characters were underdeveloped and whats the point of having powers if you dont use them to help yourself? Or really do annnyyythiing with them. The main character didnt really give you an emotions other than im scared and sad and angry face! Lastly the books just needed more content, more blanks to fill in not fill in the blanks.......really diapointed in it:/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EDanzer More than 1 year ago
Karly Kirkpatrick wrote a thrilling, sometimes chilling novel. We start by following seven year old Paivi Anderson as she has a nightmare about her best friend's mom. Paivi can see the future, a gift that later gets her labeled as an Enemy of the State. The correlation between Kirkpatrick's plot and the Nazis can't be missed and I feel that Kirkpatrick did an excellent job of recreating that world in her novel. Even if you're not a huge history buff, the novel puts Paivi in your heart and doesn't let go until the very last word. The world was so believable I found myself watching the news to make sure the ATC wasn't coming into being. A very well written novel that should not be missed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MacJew More than 1 year ago
In her first book, Karly Kirkpatrick creates a character, Paivi Anderson, who has the gift of foresight. Not exactly original. However, the idea that the gift is hereditary is at least a twist. Ms. Kirkpatrick weaves a story that is quick paced and hard to put down. Much like the best Hollywood Action-Adventure films, this book flies by, and you forget about the flaws. After the first fifty pages, then the book folds you in its grasp, never letting go, a non-stop rollercoaster. Although the book is written for the Young Adult audience, this is one that can easily be enjoyed by all age groups. Perhaps the best thing that can be said about this book is that the writing just flows naturally. It's not powdered with unnecessary prose to flower to the story. The book is written to be enjoyed, and that should be good enough for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Donnie Wilson More than 1 year ago
thats because its a trilogy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago