Irina Kulikova: Guitar Laureate

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $5.65   
  • New (3) from $5.65   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/26/2011
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313271771
  • Catalog Number: 8572717
  • Sales rank: 117,544


Disc 1
  1. 1 Recuerdos de la Alhambra, for guitar - Francisco Tárrega & Irina Kulikova (4:13)
  2. 2 Sonata for guitar ("Omaggio a Boccherini"), Op. 77 - Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco & Irina Kulikova (16:41)
  3. 3 Fantasie for guitar, No 2, Op. 30 - Fernando Sor & Irina Kulikova (13:16)
  4. 4 Suite for solo cello No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007 - Johann Sebastian Bach & Irina Kulikova (18:52)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Irina Kulikova Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    An Excellent Guitarist

    Irina Kulikova - Guitar Laureate - NAXOS

    The form of the guitar recital, as first championed by Tarrega and later virtually carved in stone by Segovia, consists of a mixed repertoire chosen from the baroque, classical and modern eras and was initially intended to establish the versatility of the instrument. With the "legitimacy" of the guitar as a serious concert instrument now viewed as an accepted fact, the recital form is now used in recordings and live performance more as a way to showcase the talents of emerging guitarists. As such, it can sometimes feel static and a little restrictive.

    However, in the hands of a sensitive and talented musician like Irina Kulikova, the guitar recital becomes much more than a display of mere technical proficiency. Her arrangement of Bach's "Cello Suite No. 1" (transposed from the original key of G to the more guitar-friendly key of D) is masterful and evidence of a deep musical understanding of the original composition, as is her rendering of Sor's "Fantasie, Op. 30", the intimacy and energy of which are highlighted by Ms. Kulikova's dynamic performance.

    The modern era is initially represented by Castelnuovo-Tedesco's "Guitar Sonata in D major, Op. 77", an homage to Boccherini written at the request of Segovia, which Ms. Kulikova manages with both delicacy and a well-deserved confidence; but the highlight of this collection is Gallardo del Rey's "California Suite", beautiful and evocative and, once again, played flawlessly.

    In short, Irina Kulikova's "Guitar Laureate" is a flat-out gorgeous recording and a must-have for anyone interested in the classical guitar.

    Highly Recommended 10 out of 10 Oscar O. Veterano

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews