Iroquois: The Haudenosaunee

Iroquois: The Haudenosaunee

by Kenneth McIntosh, Martha McCollough

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This nonfiction series "North American Indians Today" is intended for the older reader. Each title in the series covers a different Native American group in detail. The history of the group is introduced in the first two chapters, followed by chapters on current government, spiritual beliefs, social structures, contemporary arts, and contributions of the tribe to the world. A beautiful Haudenosaunee creation story is shared to explain the roots of the culture, then the contemporary lifestyle is presented. The author and his wife (a pastor and a schoolteacher) took leave from their jobs to immerse themselves in the Native American cultures in order to gather material for the series. Their goals were to break down stereotypes by presenting a comprehensive picture of the groups, and to increase understanding of and appreciation for indigenous peoples. The members of the six nations of the Iroquois mostly live in the northeastern United States and southeastern Canada. Their spirituality is centered around thanksgiving. There are a number of ceremonies to celebrate different cycles of thanksgiving. Handsome Lake was an important Iroquois who left behind a destructive lifestyle when he received a vision in 1799. As a result, he preached a message of how to live right which became a guiding code of the people. Another well-known Iroquois presented in the book is Kateri Tekakwitha, a convert to Catholicism who is the patron saint of ecology and the environment. An enormous amount of material is presented, making this seem very much like a textbook. There are few of the usual nonfiction conventions (textboxes, boldface and italics, pronunciation guides, summaries) to help readers absorb theinformation. 2004, Mason Crest Publishers, Ages 8 to 12.
—Carol E. Lynch
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up-It's so refreshing to read books about Native nations in which the history is only one chapter and the rest is devoted to the present day. All three titles contain the same introduction that explains the series, discusses stereotypes, and examines the use of the word Indian. Each volume covers religion, government, and the arts. Featuring interviews with various members of each nation, these books also discuss important issues facing the people. A few minor flaws appear. The discussion of religion in Ojibwa could cause some confusion. Likewise, there is some lack of clarity when the author tries to distinguish individual Iroquois nations from the larger Six Nations Confederacy. Cheyenne has a few blurry photos scattered throughout the otherwise crisp, high-quality, color pictures. Some historical photos are also included. Iroquois includes some pronunciations within the text, but Cheyenne and Ojibwa do not. However, considering the lack of significance that most other books about Native nations place on the present, the flaws in these titles are small indeed. Overall, these quality offerings bring information about Native Americans into the modern age.-S K Joiner, Brazoria County Library System, Angleton, TX Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

Mason Crest Publishers
Publication date:
North American Indians Today Series
Product dimensions:
7.70(w) x 9.50(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >