ISLAND JUSTICE

ISLAND JUSTICE

by Elizabeth Winthrop
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

All her life, Maggie Hammond has been running--from her family, from the men who want to tie her down, from the fear of having to depend on anybody but herself. For Maggie, home means her beloved godmother, Nan. Then word comes that Nan has died and has willed Maggie her seaside Victorian house. When Maggie lands on the island one October day, she is intending to stay…  See more details below

Overview

All her life, Maggie Hammond has been running--from her family, from the men who want to tie her down, from the fear of having to depend on anybody but herself. For Maggie, home means her beloved godmother, Nan. Then word comes that Nan has died and has willed Maggie her seaside Victorian house. When Maggie lands on the island one October day, she is intending to stay a few weeks. But soon after she arrives, she makes a gruesome discovery on the beach that catapults her into the middle of the year-round island community and its strange cast of characters.
A beautifully observed novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Alice Hoffman, Island Justice sets an independent woman's struggle to trust the pulls of her heart against the backdrop of an isolated island community which must come to terms with its collective conscience and the true meaning of justice.

Editorial Reviews

Book Page
"Elizabeth Winthrop understands - and better still, makes us understand - the feeling of a close-knit community that knows everyone else's business, that pulls together when it needs to. Winthrop packs onto her small island adventure, romance, mystery and humor. Besides being a good yarn, the story captures the feel of an island. We hear the bell buoy, the fog horn, the gulls...I was sorry when I finished this wonderful rich book."

-Book Page
Boston Globe
"Sam is a naturalist, deeply engaged in studying the island's natural ecology. But he is also Maggie's guide to the human ecology of the island, a system that surely and silently takes care of its own. With its thorny characters and suspenseful plot, ISLAND JUSTICE creates an appealing setting for a small-town story that is full of incident."

-Boston Globe
New York Times
"Winthrop has taken stock-in-trade cliches and filled them with life and personality. Along with the satisfying plot, readers are also provided with a good deal of information about the flora and fauna of coastal New England and the delicate balance of its human society. ISLAND JUSTICE is the kind of book that used to be called a "good read" -- there's nothing better." -New York Times Book Review
People Magazine
"It's about 12 miles long and three miles wide, but what the unnamed New England island at the heart of Elizabeth Winthrop's evocative new novel lacks in size it more than makes up for with intrigue. Thanks to richly drawn characters and Winthrop's talent for suspenseful storytelling, the reader can't help but succumb to the undertow." -Beach Book of the Week, People Magazine
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review - Publishers Weekly
"...the absorbing second novel from PEN Syndicated Fiction Award winner delivers an illuminating story of a crisis of community. Winthrop describes the raw beauty and isolation of the island in the off-season. Balancing the love story is the more complex tale of the Craven's abusive marriage ... in a series of chillingly realistic scenes Winthrop escalates the tension and keeps the final plot twists unpredictable." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940014545853
Publisher:
Elizabeth Winthrop
Publication date:
04/20/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,030,606
File size:
518 KB

Meet the Author

ELIZABETH WINTHROP is the author of In My Mother’s House. Her short fiction has appeared in BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES and FICTION 100 . Twice a winner of the PEN Syndicated Fiction Award, she is also the author of over fifty books for children, including the highly acclaimed The Castle in the Attic and Counting on Grace. Ms. Winthrop lives in New York City and the Berkshires and is currently at work on a family memoir entitled MY PARENTS’ LOVE AFFAIR, An Unlikely Romance in Wartime England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >