Island of Bones (Crowther and Westerman Series #3)

Island of Bones (Crowther and Westerman Series #3)

5.0 5
by Imogen Robertson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past

England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a

…  See more details below

Overview

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past

England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets. When laborers discover an extra body inside the tomb, the lure of the mystery brings Crowther home at last, accompanied by his partner in crime, the forthright Mrs. Harriet Westerman. What Crowther learns will rewrite his family’s past—and spill new blood in a land torn between old magic and modern justice.

The next installment in a series described as “CSI: Georgian England” (The New York Times Book Review), Island of Bones is a riveting tale that will captivate fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Finch.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for Island of Bones:

“Robertson's superior third historical featuring anatomist Gabriel Crowther and widow Harriet Westerman (after 2012's Anatomy of Murder) makes the most of its revelations about Crowther's backstory . . . First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris.”

Library Journal

“An altogether satisfying historical mystery.”

Booklist

“[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.”

The Independent (UK)

"A new Imogen Robertson book is fast becoming something of an event. ...this follow-up does not disappoint.  As ever, the characters are enticing and the plot absorbing. If you've not read the previous books, do not despair—they each stand alone. But if you have time on your hands, now is your chance to catch up."
The Daily Mail (UK)

Praise for Anatomy of Murder:

“Memorable prose, strong and unusual leads, a sophisticated plot with several unexpected turns, and an accurate portrayal of the period all make this a winner.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Robertson's language is spry . . . her scene-setting broad and detailed, her prose gracefully pressed into the service of a serpentine plot."
Financial Times (UK)

“In the overcrowded field of historical fiction, Robertson has the smarts comfortably to outpace most of her rivals.”

The Independent (UK)

Praise for Instruments of Darkness:

“A sensitive melodrama. . . . Robertson’s enjoyment of the period and her characters is infectious.”

The New York Times Book Review(Editor’s Choice)

 “A thoroughly engaging novel, with rich prose and an intricate, suspenseful plot, with melodramatic, Gothic touches in perfect keeping with the historical period. Robertson has already written another Westerman/Crowther mystery. . . . let us hope for many more.”

Associated Press

“Every so often I encounter a book that makes me think with envy: ‘How I wish I could have written this story!’ Instruments of Darkness is just that book—poetic, enchanting, and chillingly memorable. Imogen Robertson is an exquisite writer, and this is an extraordinary novel.”

Tess Gerritsen, author of The Silent Girl

“Mayhem runs amok in this period thriller. [Robertson] pulls out all the stops. . . a roaring soap opera of a novel.”

The Washington Times

“Impressive . . . A ripping homage to Dickens, Austen and Conan Doyle, Instruments of Darkness will keep you up at night, and then, like me, waiting for the sequel.”

Seattle Times

“The book works splendidly as a period thriller, with complicated leads and informative details that illuminate 18th-century England for modern readers.”

Publishers Weekly

“This debut is getting some play and should well serve lovers of historical suspense.” 

Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780755372041
Publisher:
Headline Review
Publication date:
03/28/2012
Series:
Crowther and Westerman Series, #3
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Instruments of Darkness:

“A sensitive melodrama. . . . Robertson’s enjoyment of the period and her characters is infectious.”
—The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)
 
 “A thoroughly engaging novel, with rich prose and an intricate, suspenseful plot, with melodramatic, Gothic touches in perfect keeping with the historical period. Robertson has already written another Westerman/Crowther mystery. . . . let us hope for many more.”
Associated Press
 
“Every so often I encounter a book that makes me think with envy: ‘How I wish I could have written this story!’ Instruments of Darkness is just that book—poetic, enchanting, and chillingly memorable. Imogen Robertson is an exquisite writer, and this is an extraordinary novel.”
Tess Gerritsen, author of The Silent Girl
 
“Mayhem runs amok in this period thriller. [Robertson] pulls out all the stops. . . a roaring soap opera of a novel.”
The Washington Times
 
“Impressive . . . A ripping homage to Dickens, Austen and Conan Doyle, Instruments of Darkness will keep you up at night, and then, like me, waiting for the sequel.”
Seattle Times
 
“The book works splendidly as a period thriller, with complicated leads and informative details that illuminate 18th-century England for modern readers.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“This debut is getting some play and should well serve lovers of historical suspense.” 
Library Journal

Meet the Author

Imogen Robertson worked as a television, film, and radio director before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of four Westerman/Crowther novels: Instruments of Darkness; Anatomy of Murder; Island of Bones, which was short-listed for the 2011 Crime Writers’ Association Ellis Peters Historical Award; and forthcoming from Pamela Dorman Books, Circle of Shadows. In 2012 she was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library. She lives in London.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Island of Bones 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
mrsvaljones More than 1 year ago
Beginning with a vivid account of the public hanging of Crowther’s brother, Robertson again releases an intriguing novel of suspense and mystery, featuring his beloved colorful characters, the spunky widow Mrs. Harriet Westerman and her dear friend, the reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther. Set in England in the eighteenth century, an ancient tomb is opened to reveal an extra body. Renowned for his expertise and experience with death, Crowther and his adventurous companion Mrs. Harriet Westerman are summoned back to Crowther’s family estate. As Harriet and Gabriel struggle to discover the identity of the corpse and his murderer from the past, the present provides new challenges, more murders, and a mysterious missing treasure, the Luck of Gutherscale Hall. Robertson, describes the picturesque town of Keswick and it’s cast of unique characters, from Casper Grace the “cunning-man,” Mr. Askew, the museum’s curator and somewhat historian of Keswick, the Vizegraifin and her son Felix, and Harriet’s own son Stephen, in rich and vibrant in detail that will please fans of historical fiction, but also those who favor mystery and murder. With references to pagan ideology, politics, greed, and relationships, throughout the story, Robertson touches on qualities of human nature and finally reveals the details of Crowther’s haunted past. Composed of multiple storylines and with references to Westerman and Crowther’s past cases running simultaneously together, Robertson, complemented by his entourage of characters is able to weave a complex and fantastic story with immense skill, that readers new to Robertson will not be lost and followers of Westerman and Crowther can embrace their favorite characters again in Island of Bones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My choice for our book club
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding detective team with interesting story line. I have read mystery books for years and this is a series I quickly followed after my first book !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved, loved this book!