Island of Bones (Crowther and Westerman Series #3) [NOOK Book]

Overview

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past



England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets. When laborers ...
See more details below
Island of Bones (Crowther and Westerman Series #3)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past



England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets. When laborers discover an extra body inside the tomb, the lure of the mystery brings Crowther home at last, accompanied by his partner in crime, the forthright Mrs. Harriet Westerman. What Crowther learns will rewrite his family’s past—and spill new blood in a land torn between old magic and modern justice.



The next installment in a series described as “CSI: Georgian England” (The New York Times Book Review), Island of Bones is a riveting tale that will captivate fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Finch.
Read More Show Less

What People Are Saying

From the Publisher
Praise for ISLAND OF BONES:

“Robertson's superior third historical featuring anatomist Gabriel Crowther and widow Harriet Westerman (after 2012's Anatomy of Murder) makes the most of its revelations about Crowther's backstory . . . First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris.”
Library Journal

"An altogether satisfying historical mystery."
Booklist

“[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.” —Independent

"A new Imogen Robertson book is fast becoming something of an event. . . . As ever, the characters are enticing and the plot absorbing. If you've not read the previous books, do not despair—they each stand alone. But if you have time on your hands, now is your chance to catch up."
The Daily Mail

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101601303
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 10/11/2012
  • Series: Crowther and Westerman Series , #3
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 122,788
  • File size: 975 KB

Meet the Author


Imogen Robertson worked as a television, film, and radio director before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of four Westerman/Crowther novels: Instruments of Darkness; Anatomy of Murder; Island of Bones, which was shortlisted for the 2011 Crime Writers’ Association Ellis Peters Historical Award; and Circle of Shadows. In 2012, she was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library. She lives in London.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A well woven plot featuring complicated and charismatic characters

    Beginning with a vivid account of the public hanging of Crowther’s brother, Robertson again releases an intriguing novel of suspense and mystery, featuring his beloved colorful characters, the spunky widow Mrs. Harriet Westerman and her dear friend, the reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther.
    Set in England in the eighteenth century, an ancient tomb is opened to reveal an extra body. Renowned for his expertise and experience with death, Crowther and his adventurous companion Mrs. Harriet Westerman are summoned back to Crowther’s family estate. As Harriet and Gabriel struggle to discover the identity of the corpse and his murderer from the past, the present provides new challenges, more murders, and a mysterious missing treasure, the Luck of Gutherscale Hall.
    Robertson, describes the picturesque town of Keswick and it’s cast of unique characters, from Casper Grace the “cunning-man,” Mr. Askew, the museum’s curator and somewhat historian of Keswick, the Vizegraifin and her son Felix, and Harriet’s own son Stephen, in rich and vibrant in detail that will please fans of historical fiction, but also those who favor mystery and murder. With references to pagan ideology, politics, greed, and relationships, throughout the story, Robertson touches on qualities of human nature and finally reveals the details of Crowther’s haunted past.
    Composed of multiple storylines and with references to Westerman and Crowther’s past cases running simultaneously together, Robertson, complemented by his entourage of characters is able to weave a complex and fantastic story with immense skill, that readers new to Robertson will not be lost and followers of Westerman and Crowther can embrace their favorite characters again in Island of Bones.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Loved, loved, loved this book!

    Loved, loved, loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)