Istanbul

Istanbul

by Colin Falconer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

'Nick Davis first saw Daniela Simonici in the American Bar of the Athenee Palace Hotel in Bucharest in June of 1940. He couldn't take his eyes off her. The city was full of beautiful women, penniless countesses and fox-furred demi-mondaines looking to be rescued, and until that moment he had spared them only an appreciative glance. But this woman was different . .…  See more details below

Overview

'Nick Davis first saw Daniela Simonici in the American Bar of the Athenee Palace Hotel in Bucharest in June of 1940. He couldn't take his eyes off her. The city was full of beautiful women, penniless countesses and fox-furred demi-mondaines looking to be rescued, and until that moment he had spared them only an appreciative glance. But this woman was different . . .'

1940. Europe is at war and British diplomat Nick Davis is posted to Bucharest. Known as 'little Paris' and graced with beautiful boulevards, even an Arc de Triomphe, Bucharest was once a centre of fashion, art and culture. But the Nazis have recently arrived, and terror has overtaken the city.

But Nick Davis is not a diplomat; he is a spy. When he rescues the beautiful but mysterious Daniela Simonici, mistress to a German businessman, his life is changed forever. They fall for each other, hard, and soon she is spying for Nick. But who is Daniela Simonici? Who does she really love? And who is she really spying for?

In the tradition of Alan Furst and CJ Sansom, ISTANBUL is an unforgettable love story set against a backdrop of breath-taking romance and byzantine intrigue. Nick is a hero you'll fall in love with; Daniela a woman you'll never forget.

Colin Falconer is the best selling author of ANASTASIA and the OPIUM series and fifteen other best selling novels. His books have been translated into eighteen languages.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781621251071
Publisher:
Cool Gus Publishing
Publication date:
11/05/2013
Pages:
334
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

Colin Falconer was born in North London, and spent most of his formative years at school playing football or looking out of the window wishing he was somewhere else.

After failing to make the grade as a professional football player, he spent much of his early years traveling, hitch-hiking around Europe and North Africa and then heading to Asia.

His experiences in Bangkok and India later inspired his thriller VENOM, and his adventures in the jungles of the Golden Triangle of Burma and Laos were also filed away for later, the basis of his OPIUM series about the underworld drug trade.
He later moved to Australia and worked in advertising, before moving to Sydney where he freelanced for most of Australia's leading newspapers and magazines, as well as working in radio and television.

He started publishing in 1984, mostly humor and young adult fiction, but with the publication of VENOM in 1990, he became a full time novelist.
He has published over 40 books in print. HAREM was an enormous bestseller in Germany and THE NAKED HUSBAND was ranked #9 in Australia on its release. AZTEC stayed on the bestseller lists in Mexico for four months.

He lived for many years in the beautiful Margaret River region in WA, and helped raise two beautiful daughters with his late wife, Helen. While writing, he also worked in the volunteer ambulance service for over 13 years His marriage ended in tragic circumstances, a story he has told in 'The Naked Husband,' and its non-fiction sequel, 'The Year We Seized the Day,' written with a writing partner, Elizabeth Best.

He travels regularly to research his novels and his quest for authenticity has led him to run with the bulls in Pamplona, pursue tornadoes across Oklahoma and black witches across Mexico, go cage shark diving in South Africa and get tear gassed in a riot in La Paz. He also completed a nine hundred kilometre walk of the camino in Spain.

He did not write for over five years but returned to publishing in 2010 with the release of SILK ROAD, and then STIGMATA the following year. ISABELLA is due to be published in 2013.

He likens his fiction most closely to Ken Follett - books with romance and high adventure, drawn from many periods of history

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >