Istanbul

Istanbul

by Colin Falconer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

'Nick Davis first saw Daniela Simonici in the American Bar of the Athenee Palace Hotel in Bucharest in June of 1940. He couldn't take his eyes off her. The city was full of beautiful women, penniless countesses and fox-furred demi-mondaines looking to be rescued, and until that moment he had spared them only an appreciative glance. But this woman was different . . .' …  See more details below

Overview

'Nick Davis first saw Daniela Simonici in the American Bar of the Athenee Palace Hotel in Bucharest in June of 1940. He couldn't take his eyes off her. The city was full of beautiful women, penniless countesses and fox-furred demi-mondaines looking to be rescued, and until that moment he had spared them only an appreciative glance. But this woman was different . . .'

1940. Europe is at war and British diplomat Nick Davis is posted to Bucharest. Known as 'little Paris' and graced with beautiful boulevards, even an Arc de Triomphe, Bucharest was once a centre of fashion, art and culture. But the Nazis have recently arrived, and terror has overtaken the city.

But Nick Davis is not a diplomat; he is a spy. When he rescues the beautiful but mysterious Daniela Simonici, mistress to a German businessman, his life is changed forever. They fall for each other, hard, and soon she is spying for Nick. But who is Daniela Simonici? Who does she really love? And who is she really spying for?

In the tradition of Alan Furst and CJ Sansom, ISTANBUL is an unforgettable love story set against a backdrop of breath-taking romance and byzantine intrigue. Nick is a hero you'll fall in love with; Daniela a woman you'll never forget.

Colin Falconer is the best selling author of ANASTASIA and the OPIUM series and fifteen other best selling novels. His books have been translated into eighteen languages.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940016600536
Publisher:
Cool Gus Publishing
Publication date:
03/28/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Colin is the best selling author of more than twenty novels. Born in north London, he worked for many years in TV and radio and freelanced for many leading newspapers and magazines such as San Francisco Chronicle, Qantas inflight magazine and Playboy magazine. He has been a novelist for the last twenty years, with his work reaching best seller lists from Germany to Mexico, Australia to Romania, Spain to Brazil. He had published in many genres, historical epics such as HAREM and AZTEC and SILK ROAD, as well as historical thrillers such as ANASTASIA and the OPIUM series. Like many of his novels, VENOM is based on true life incidents.

He lived for many years near Margaret River in Western Australia, where he also worked for many years in the volunteer ambulance service. "I'd be at my desk typing, then thirty minutes later I'd be crawling into an overturned car. It was an unusual life"

He travels regularly to research his novels and his quest for authenticity led him to run with the bulls in Pamplona, pursue tornadoes across Oklahoma and black witches across Mexico, go cage shark diving in South Africa and get tear gassed in a riot in La Paz. He also completed a nine hundred kilometre walk of the camino in Spain.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >