Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

It Happened in Scotland

It Happened in Scotland

5.0 3
by Patience Griffin

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of The Trouble With Scotland—a charming new romance set in the beautiful Scottish Highlands.
Christmas in the sleepy Scottish fishing village of Gandiegow this year is a time for quilting, patching up broken hearts, and rekindling an old flame...
After pulling herself out of a three


From the author of The Trouble With Scotland—a charming new romance set in the beautiful Scottish Highlands.
Christmas in the sleepy Scottish fishing village of Gandiegow this year is a time for quilting, patching up broken hearts, and rekindling an old flame...
After pulling herself out of a three-year fog of grief over the loss of her husband, Joe, Rachel is bringing their five-year-old daughter to see his hometown of Gandiegow and visit with his grandfather. But Rachel wasn’t planning on running into Joe’s cousin, the man who made her have second thoughts at the altar...
Brodie has come home to help his grandfather’s fishing business, but he’d prefer not to see Rachel. Although she did break his heart six years ago, the grip she has on him hasn’t faltered. If they can stop butting heads long enough and learn to overcome the past, they may find new love in the new year...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for It Happened in Scotland

“Griffin gets loss, love, and laughter like no other writer of contemporary romance.”—Grace Burrowes, New York Times bestselling author
Praise for the Kilts and Quilts Novels
“Griffin’s style is as warm and comfortable as a cherished heirloom quilt.”—Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author
“A wonderful, heartwarming story that will convince you of the power of love.”—Janet Chapman, New York Times bestselling author

Kirkus Reviews
In a quaint Scottish village by the sea, a young American widow gets a second chance at love. Rachel Granger hasn't been back to the village of Gandiegow since she buried her husband three years ago. Now she's returning with her 5-year-old daughter, Hannah, at the request of Hannah's grandfather Abraham Clacher. Rachel wants to get in and out of Gandiegow as quickly as possible, especially when she sees that her late husband Joe's cousin Brodie has returned home to take over Abraham's fishing business. She broke Brodie's heart six years earlier, when, hours before her wedding, she confessed her love to him and made him think she would call things off with Joe and marry him instead. As expected, their reunion is rocky, with Brodie full of bitter mistrust and Rachel unsure of how to tell him what a mistake her marriage to Joe was. In the meantime, Rachel's skills as a quilter are called upon at the Kilts and Quilts retreat being held nearby, and Hannah is enjoying practicing her Scottish brogue and winning her grandfather's heart. The more time Rachel spends in Gandiegow, the harder it is to leave, and even Brodie's steely determination to resist Rachel begins to wither. This is the sixth installment in Griffin's Kilts and Quilts series (The Trouble with Scotland, 2016, etc.), capturing the cozy charm of a snow-covered village overlooking the North Sea. Much of the action takes place over Christmas, which would have made this a perfect book to curl up with over the holidays except for its January release date. Griffin relies heavily on dialogue to tell the story, which can become tiresome. Many villagers enter the storyline, sometimes making it stray too far from the evocative setting and the two main characters. A fun hop to scenic Scotland for the price of a paperback.

Product Details

Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
Kilts and Quilts Series , #6
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Patience Griffin is the author of the Kilts and Quilts novels, including The Trouble with Scotland, The Accidental Scot, and Some Like It Scottish. To Scotland with Love, her first book in the series, was a double RITA® Award finalist. She grew up in a small town along the Mississippi River and spends her days writing stories about hearth and home and dreaming about the fictional small town of Gandiegow, Scotland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

It Happened in Scotland 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous 13 days ago
Ms. Griffin is a master in character development. She takes the time to draw you into this small seaside village in Scotland with characters who have flaws and dreams of second chances. And if the characters have problems they cant seem to solve themselves, no worries, the helpful townsfolk will steer tgem in the right direction! I love the interaction of the community and the continued involvement of all the previous characters in each new addition to this series. The only drawback is i have to wait for the next book to find out how everyone is doing in Gandiegow!!!
Anonymous 12 days ago
Love this series...it's like reuniting with old friends while deepening the storyline. Can't wait for the next!
Griperang72a 4 days ago
Patience has done it again and has given another great book in a feel good series. I fell in love with little Hannah from the first time she stepped onto the page. It was funny to watch how she had the adults wrapped around her little finger. As they say out of the mouth of babes. I felt so bad for Rachel as she deserved so much more than what Joe gave her before he passed. He was a real piece of work. Then you had Brodie who wanted nothing more to be happy but had too much guilt in his heart. All for things he should not have felt guilty for. There were also side stories of some of our favorite residents of Gandiegow. It is so much fun visiting this town and seeing what is happening with everyone. The town of Gandigow that the author has created just makes you want to pack up and move to Scotland asap. There was just a hint of a mystery in this book part of which was solved and part of which was not. I have read this entire series in the last six months or so and will feel lonely without them to keep me company. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.