It's Complicated

It's Complicated

5.0 3
by Laura L. Smith
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

There's a reason Facebook has the Status Update, It's Complicated.

Follow four college roommates, Claire, Palmer, Hannah and Kat as they maneuver crushes, confusion, and the crisis when pushy boys go too far. Complicated as it is, these four friends will pull through, guided by the power of God's love.

"In writing that's raw, relevant, and real, Smith goes where

Overview

There's a reason Facebook has the Status Update, It's Complicated.

Follow four college roommates, Claire, Palmer, Hannah and Kat as they maneuver crushes, confusion, and the crisis when pushy boys go too far. Complicated as it is, these four friends will pull through, guided by the power of God's love.

"In writing that's raw, relevant, and real, Smith goes where few authors dare to go, straight into the heart of today's young woman." ~Amy Parker, bestselling author of Courageous Teens

"Even from the first page, it is so real. It's almost as if Smith were with me that night. I wish every college freshman had to read this book upon entering college." ~Date Rape Victim

"I devoured this whole book in two days, and can't wait to hear more about these girls. It's like a Christian Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants." ~Jessa Bertone, college student

"YA author Laura L. Smith has crafted a story that lets readers learn along with her four female characters--and the lessons aren't hollow. Tough issues that follow girls to college--like beauty, physical relationships, underage drinking, and loneliness--are treated with Smith's usual grace and humor. Fans of Jenny B. Jones and Sarah Dessen will love It's Complicated by Laura L. Smith." ~ Laura Anderson Kurk, author of Glass Girl

"Laura Smith has the rare ability to capture the rawness of her characters' emotions in It's Complicated. Through Claire, Kat, Palmer, and Hannah readers learn that loss comes in all different forms, but with the strength of God's love and power of His plan they can get through it." ~ Date Rape Survivor

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780996180191
Publisher:
Birch House Press
Publication date:
02/27/2015
Pages:
306
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.64(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

I believe in God. I believe in true love. I believe if I bang hard enough on the back of my wardrobe I'll get to Narnia someday. I believe eating chocolate is good for you. I believe part of my soul lives in France, part at the beach and the other part here in Oxford, Ohio, because when I go to those places I feel at home, as if I've always belonged. I believe heaven will feel much the same. I believe God created me to be a wife to my husband, the mother of my four kids, and to write stories He wanted to tell. My novels include; Skinny, It's Over, Hot, It's Addicting and Angry.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

It's Complicated 5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephanie_Morrill More than 1 year ago
It's Complicated follows four very different girls into their first moments of adulthood. I loved the blend of their unique personalities and struggles. The way the girls work together and are for each other despite their differences reminded me of The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. Laura Smith does a wonderful job of balancing fun, girly moments with the serious issues that face young girls today. A great read for older teens and twenty somethings!
JMurgia More than 1 year ago
College is the birth of a new beginning. At least it should be. It's the time to be on your own, meet new people, and get on with the life you've always wanted. But how do you move on when you bring your past with you? How do you incorporate what has meant the most into your new beginning, or rather, try to forget something that doesn't belong at all? College Roomies, Kat, Hannah, Palmer and Claire are standing on the brink of their futures--an aspiring athlete, ballerina, a girl searching for love, and one trying to hold onto it. Author Laura L. Smith has done a remarkable job of allowing each girl to shine in her own light then bringing them together beneath a shadow of doubt--allowing them to see that together they are a million times stronger than alone.