Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society [NOOK Book]

Overview

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government in the tradition of Aristotle and Aquinas, of natural law and...
See more details below
Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$22.99
BN.com price
(Save 30%)$32.99 List Price

Overview

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government in the tradition of Aristotle and Aquinas, of natural law and human rights and duties. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms, and how this evil can be morally dealt with. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
Explores the thought of French philosopher Maritain 1882-1973, focusing on his attention and contribution to contemporary public affairs. The topics include the relation between art and politics, the political importance of the philosophic life, the authority of freedom and the freedom of authority, the enigma and intelligibility of evil, and the possibility of a world common good. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
International Philosophical Quarterly
Clear and solid. . . . A very valuable contribution to political philosophy.
— Gerald A. McCool, S.J., Fordham University
The Maritain Notebook: The American Maritain Association Newsletter
Schall's work is the first major exposition of Maritain's political thought in English. Schall's masterful teaching skill and exceptional writing ability enables his monograph to transcend the gaping hole in Maritain studies. A faithful exposition of his teaching. Anyone who has been looking for a book on Maritain's social and political thought should jump for joy at this work. I can think of no other book that so clearly and concisely presents Maritain's essential social and political thought.
— Peter A. Redpath, St. John's University
Fellowship Of Catholic Scholars Quarterly
James V. Schall offers a comprehensive and thought-provoking introduction to the political thought of this influential French thinker in Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society.
— Marc D. Guerra
Homiletic and Pastoral Review
It would be hard to improve upon the choice of Fr. Schall, professor of government at Georgetown University, and a philosopher, theologian, and political scientist of considerable distinction, to escort us through the rich and often challenging political writings of this great Catholic thinker.

Professor Schall does an admirable job in taking the complex thought of Maritain and rendering it not only easy to follow, but, at times, almost inevitable.

We can be greatfull that Fr. Schall has provided us with this readable and instructive introdction to Maritain's political philosophy. It is a philosophy that is sufficiently rich that it provides considerable benefits for its students, quite apart from the issue of whether or not it can be implemented politically.
— Donald DeMarco, St. Jerome's University, Waterloo, Ontario

The Review Of Metaphysics
Commendable work.
The Journal of Religion
The book's significant merits as a careful reading of the Maritain corpus. In responding to the student at the Fides et Ratio conference, Cardinal George observed that the totality of knowledge and wisdom, including fides, must be brought to bear on our political, social, and cultural problems. Schall's book is certainly a significant contribution to that quest.
International Philosophical Quarterly - Gerald A. McCool
Clear and solid. . . . A very valuable contribution to political philosophy.
The Maritain Notebook: The Amer. Maritain Assoc. Newsletter - Peter A. Redpath
Schall's work is the first major exposition of Maritain's political thought in English. Schall's masterful teaching skill and exceptional writing ability enables his monograph to transcend the gaping hole in Maritain studies. A faithful exposition of his teaching. Anyone who has been looking for a book on Maritain's social and political thought should jump for joy at this work. I can think of no other book that so clearly and concisely presents Maritain's essential social and political thought.
The Journal Of Politics, August 1999, Vol. 61 No. 3 - Robert P. Kraynak
Richly rewarding. . . . The value of Schall's study lies not only in presenting Maritain as a better guide than other modern philosophers but also in showing us how to read Maritain—giving us a guide to the guide.
Fellowship Of Catholic Scholars Quarterly - Marc D. Guerra
James V. Schall offers a comprehensive and thought-provoking introduction to the political thought of this influential French thinker in Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society.
Homiletic and Pastoral Review - Donald DeMarco
It would be hard to improve upon the choice of Fr. Schall, professor of government at Georgetown University, and a philosopher, theologian, and political scientist of considerable distinction, to escort us through the rich and often challenging political writings of this great Catholic thinker.

Professor Schall does an admirable job in taking the complex thought of Maritain and rendering it not only easy to follow, but, at times, almost inevitable.

We can be greatfull that Fr. Schall has provided us with this readable and instructive introdction to Maritain's political philosophy. It is a philosophy that is sufficiently rich that it provides considerable benefits for its students, quite apart from the issue of whether or not it can be implemented politically.

Religion & Liberty, Nov. And Dec. 1998, Vol. 8, N0.6 - Glen Ellmers
This book brings the considerable talents of the Reverand James V. Schall, S.J., to bear on the writings of an important and influential figure in Roman Catholic Political Philosophy
The Journal Of Religion
The book's significant merits as a careful reading of the Maritain corpus. In responding to the student at the Fides et Ratio conference, Cardinal George observed that the totality of knowledge and wisdom, including fides, must be brought to bear on our political, social, and cultural problems. Schall's book is certainly a significant contribution to that quest.
Review of Metaphysics
Commendable work.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780585114279
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
  • Publication date: 1/1/2000
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 1
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

James V. Schall is professor of government at Georgetown University. He is the author of numerous books, including At the Limits of Political Philosophy: From 'Brilliant Errors' to Things of Uncommon Importance, Does Catholicism Still Exist?, and Reason, Revelation, and the Foundations of Political Philosophy.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments
Introduction
1 Justice, Brains, and Strength: Machiavelli and Modernity in Political Philosophy 1
2 On the Relation Between Art and Politics 21
3 On the Political Importance of the Philosophic Life 39
4 On Defining Political Things 59
5 The Natural Law - Natural Right Dilemma 79
6 Democracy: Anthropocentric and Christian? 99
7 The Authority of Freedom and the Freedom of Authority 121
8 The Friendship that Leads to Law and Justice 141
9 Maritain on the Enigma and Intelligibility of Evil 161
10 Maritain on "The Mystery of Israel" 181
11 The Possibility of a World Common Good 201
Conclusion 221
Bibliography 227
Index 235
About the Author 243
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)