×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society
     

Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society

by James V. Schall
 

See All Formats & Editions

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's

Overview

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government in the tradition of Aristotle and Aquinas, of natural law and human rights and duties. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms, and how this evil can be morally dealt with. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.

Editorial Reviews

International Philosophical Quarterly - Gerald A. McCool
Clear and solid. . . . A very valuable contribution to political philosophy.
The Maritain Notebook: The Amer. Maritain Assoc. Newsletter - Peter A. Redpath
Schall's work is the first major exposition of Maritain's political thought in English. Schall's masterful teaching skill and exceptional writing ability enables his monograph to transcend the gaping hole in Maritain studies. A faithful exposition of his teaching. Anyone who has been looking for a book on Maritain's social and political thought should jump for joy at this work. I can think of no other book that so clearly and concisely presents Maritain's essential social and political thought.
The Journal Of Politics, August 1999, Vol. 61 No. 3 - Robert P. Kraynak
Richly rewarding. . . . The value of Schall's study lies not only in presenting Maritain as a better guide than other modern philosophers but also in showing us how to read Maritain—giving us a guide to the guide.
Fellowship of Catholic Scholars Quarterly - Marc D. Guerra
James V. Schall offers a comprehensive and thought-provoking introduction to the political thought of this influential French thinker in Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society.
Homiletic & Pastoral Review - Donald DeMarco
It would be hard to improve upon the choice of Fr. Schall, professor of government at Georgetown University, and a philosopher, theologian, and political scientist of considerable distinction, to escort us through the rich and often challenging political writings of this great Catholic thinker.

Professor Schall does an admirable job in taking the complex thought of Maritain and rendering it not only easy to follow, but, at times, almost inevitable.

We can be greatfull that Fr. Schall has provided us with this readable and instructive introdction to Maritain's political philosophy. It is a philosophy that is sufficiently rich that it provides considerable benefits for its students, quite apart from the issue of whether or not it can be implemented politically.

Religion & Liberty, Nov. And Dec. 1998, Vol. 8, N0.6 - Glen Ellmers
This book brings the considerable talents of the Reverand James V. Schall, S.J., to bear on the writings of an important and influential figure in Roman Catholic Political Philosophy
The Journal Of Religion
The book's significant merits as a careful reading of the Maritain corpus. In responding to the student at the Fides et Ratio conference, Cardinal George observed that the totality of knowledge and wisdom, including fides, must be brought to bear on our political, social, and cultural problems. Schall's book is certainly a significant contribution to that quest.
Review of Metaphysics
Commendable work.
International Philosophical Quarterly
Clear and solid. . . . A very valuable contribution to political philosophy.
— Gerald A. McCool, S.J., Fordham University
The Maritain Notebook: The American Maritain Association Newsletter
Schall's work is the first major exposition of Maritain's political thought in English. Schall's masterful teaching skill and exceptional writing ability enables his monograph to transcend the gaping hole in Maritain studies. A faithful exposition of his teaching. Anyone who has been looking for a book on Maritain's social and political thought should jump for joy at this work. I can think of no other book that so clearly and concisely presents Maritain's essential social and political thought.
— Peter A. Redpath, St. John's University
Fellowship Of Catholic Scholars Quarterly
James V. Schall offers a comprehensive and thought-provoking introduction to the political thought of this influential French thinker in Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society.
— Marc D. Guerra
Homiletic and Pastoral Review
It would be hard to improve upon the choice of Fr. Schall, professor of government at Georgetown University, and a philosopher, theologian, and political scientist of considerable distinction, to escort us through the rich and often challenging political writings of this great Catholic thinker.

Professor Schall does an admirable job in taking the complex thought of Maritain and rendering it not only easy to follow, but, at times, almost inevitable.

We can be greatfull that Fr. Schall has provided us with this readable and instructive introdction to Maritain's political philosophy. It is a philosophy that is sufficiently rich that it provides considerable benefits for its students, quite apart from the issue of whether or not it can be implemented politically.
— Donald DeMarco, St. Jerome's University, Waterloo, Ontario

The Review Of Metaphysics
Commendable work.
The Journal of Religion
The book's significant merits as a careful reading of the Maritain corpus. In responding to the student at the Fides et Ratio conference, Cardinal George observed that the totality of knowledge and wisdom, including fides, must be brought to bear on our political, social, and cultural problems. Schall's book is certainly a significant contribution to that quest.
Booknews
Explores the thought of French philosopher Maritain (1882-1973), focusing on his attention and contribution to contemporary public affairs. The topics include the relation between art and politics, the political importance of the philosophic life, the authority of freedom and the freedom of authority, the enigma and intelligibility of evil, and the possibility of a world common good. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780847686841
Publisher:
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date:
03/12/1998
Series:
20th Century Political Thinkers Series
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
6.08(w) x 9.14(h) x 0.74(d)

Meet the Author

James V. Schall is professor of government at Georgetown University. He is the author of numerous books, including At the Limits of Political Philosophy: From 'Brilliant Errors' to Things of Uncommon Importance, Does Catholicism Still Exist?, and Reason, Revelation, and the Foundations of Political Philosophy.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews